We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iris en Myriam from the Netherlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 189 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
“Iris en Myriam from the Netherlands”
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Hi Govind, Mukta and the whole family,

We Felt at home in India and we follow our inner beat to your family of Durag-Niwas guesthouse.
We came from overwhelming, busy Delhi and we come into your warm family.
Govind, Mukta and family you gave us a lot of attention, love, a laugh/smile and energy. The vibes were good, so good we stay for 4 days and it was a real pity to leave all of you.

greetings (tot ziens ;-)) from Iris and Myriam

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myriamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    38
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
41
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed here one night - it was not good - we had just come from the Pearl Palace in Jaipur and that was fantastic for just a bit more. It was dirty and didn't feel comfortable.

I could imagine lone travellers enjoying this place as the resturant was just one long table - so that might be a plus for some, but it was full of flies.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank beijarflorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Stayed here Jan/ Feb 2006 and also 2008.

Such a peaceful place to stay but so near to everything in Jodhpur.

Lovely rooms, great food and a good family atmosphere. See you next year !

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank jennyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma,Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Staying at Durag Niwas Guesthouse is a not to be missed opportunity to taste a bit of indian family lifestyle! The owner and his family treated us very warmly, also addressing us with off-the-beaten-track hints to enjoy our visit to Jodhpur the more. After the Delhi hustle and bustle, we appreciated very much the friendly and welcoming atmosphere, the peaceful surroundings and genuine relationships. Every night and morning we had delicious fresh food, like a rich and tasty "thali" for example, traditionally cooked in front of us, while we could relax in the charming courtyard decorated with wall-hangings and paintings in true rajasthani style. The room was also clean, quiet and very comfortable, full of unique details such as wooden furniture, black and white photoes, colorful tapestry...

What more, the owner runs a women empowerment project for girls of the untouchable community called "Sambhali Trust" and it's indeed a good chance to give a little help!

  • Liked — warm and relaxed atmosphere, friendly and helpful people, delicious fresh food, decorated ambience
  • Disliked — -----
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deodhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Upon arrival by auto rickshaw, we were greeted by the owner, very friendly. We were shown to our room, the best in the entire guest house, the Maharadja room. The bed was huge, the house rather colorful. This is not a first class hotel, but rather a sort of home away from home; that is a few leaking faucets here and there etc. Nevertheless, it is a quiet place to rest up; it is located at the end of a dead end road and within walking distance to a bit of grocery shopping, an atm, a street barber if you need one. We only stayed here 3 days and it took us that long to realize that there is a kitchen which will serve food. We never had a chance to try it and ate next door on the roof top. I'd suggest to the owner that he place menu's in the room if he wants to promote his/her kltchen. The cost of the best room was extremely reasonable, I'd almost say cheap! Communication by email beforehand was excellent. In short, a very satisfactory place to stay with a nice taste of India.

  • Liked — Friendly reception, attentive to one's needs
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2006

A somewhat centrally located family runned guest house in Jodhpur Rajasthan.
The room I stayed in was the" Maharani Room".I payed 400 INR ($9.00 USD) per night.
To tell you the truth a few extra dollars will go a long ways . I really loved the room decorated with Rajasthani crafts with traditional Indian furniture & bed linen was of Rajasthani design. Book this room .I saw other rooms they were smaller with all being ensuite. The rooms could come air cooled or air conditioned.The lady of the house prepares vegitarian dishes while her brother prepares the "mutton",
Loved the open court in the hotel. The people who run the place are very hospitable.
They offer tour services as well. They will call for rickshaw to town , they'll even
pick up at the train station or may take it off your bill if you hire a rickshaw 20 INR.
(.50 U.S. cents)When in town requesting a rickshaw I personally recommend a driver named "Feoj" his number on his vehicle is 9542 . He was my personal rickshaw driver in Jodhpur.
He's is very patient ,easy going & good natured. He's very flexible on the rates as well.
The hotel staff could call the rickshaw company then request the driver by the vehicle number.Check this place out at least.I stayed here in late March 2006.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2004

I didnt plan much time for Jodhpur, about 3 days. My guidebook recommanded the Durag Niwas guesthouse and I went there. From the first moment I was welcomed like a true friend. Its a natural and very familiar house and thats how guests are treated. You will have your peace if you want, but the family is open and friendly and loves helping and talking to you. But be careful, you might get adopted! ;-) I stayed there 11 days, hard to leave. You get the best service and information that you need, feel like being at home. I made two tours organized by the Durag N., one to the Bishnoi-villages, which was great and very interesting. And the other to the Thar village Setrawa including a camel ride, very relaxing, lonely, quiet and natural. You can have a close contact to this family if thats what you like. They have simple good rooms for a good price and fresh prepaired vegi and non-vegi food and do also organize extraordinary sightseeing. I would think there is nothing, you couldnt ask them for. Best of all: you´ll be a friend not just a guest. I would recommand it most for younger people and globetrotters. Many things in Jodhpur I have seen through them, which I surely would not have found on my own and thats what I also heared from other people saying about the Durag Niwas. They also have a website!

  • Stayed March 2002
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 100 in Jodhpur
1,218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#14 of 100 in Jodhpur
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#9 of 100 in Jodhpur
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
1.3 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 189 in Jodhpur
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Property: Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Address: Ist Old Park Lane/K. N. College Road, 1 Setrawa House | Main Gate Gaushala Sports Complex, Raikabagh, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. A Rajput family run home stay, simple, clean room with many windows for fresh air and natural light. Private bathroom with 24 hour hot shower. Home cooked delicious meals available. Cooking demonstration available on request, complimentary pick up service, drinking water (R.O.) and WiFi complimentary. Very green neighbourhood and centrally located. 24 hours our family is available to assist you; you can use our common refrigerator, washing machine, kitchen, a doctor is available on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing