We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We loved our stay at Durag Niwas, it has a great chilled out atmosphere in a quiet part of town but is still close enough to be able to easily to all the main sights. The rooms are simple but clean, the food is delicious and the service is outstanding. Would absolutely stay here again the next time we come to Jodhpur.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    38
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
41
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed in this homestay for three nights, in a ground floor room for RS300 per night. The room was basic but clean and comfortable, with hot water available in 5 minutes at all times. The food was all freshly made in the ground floor kitchen by the ladies of the family, who are happy for you to watch and learn, and some of the best we've had in all of India. The best part of the experience was the very attentive and friendly service of the managers, who could not do too much for you, giving us guidance on the best shops (with whom they have no affiliation), what to pay for an autorickshaw and what entertainment was on in town. All in all the best value hotel in our month of travel around India. There is also very fast wi-fi for a nominal fee.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Cosy, familyrun guesthouse, not too big, (12 rooms). Well furnished and nice decorated rooms. I liked the hospitality and the kindness of the owners. Not just professional hospitality, but really interested. Hot shower, ac/fan, laundry service, doctor on call, safety deposit, motorbike and cycle hire, babysitting, etc.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — communication
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank er_bhawani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

This guesthouse is really lovely, I stayed in several cheap places throughout my trip in Rajasthan and this was very good for the price bracket. The room I had was one of the cheapest, and was small but clean and cosy. The bathroom also was small, but again clean and the water was hot. When I arrived the room had a weird smell, but when I mentioned it the owners told me it was something for the mozzies, and turned my fan on and left just the screen doors shut, thus airing the room and making it both nice and mozzie free! The decorating touches were nice, eg. nicely covered cushions, and my room had old photos of (I guess) their family which was interesting. The central courtyard area was special though, absolutely beautiful and a really nice place to relax. The food was wonderful and everyone was unfailing friendly. They also organised my onward bus ticket and made sure I got to the right place at the right time which was helpful. I also had a peek at the bigger, more expensive room, which looked absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenlaurendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Excellent value for money! The rooms were ok and bathroom was clean. The best bit was the food and the common area. Nice relaxing environment, great escape from the busy city.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sosoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Durag Niwas Guest House is in a quiet surburban location. It's a short rickshaw ride to the fort & other main attractions of Jodhpur and walking distance to the local supermarket. We arrived late at night but the staff picked us up from the train for free & cooked us up a basic meal for dinner despite the late time. This is very much a family run place & has a lovely, relaxing atmosphere - we enjoyed being taught Indian cooking by the owners wife, playing with the resident sausage dog, sitting in on the local school lessons (they run a school for girls in the guesthouse) reading a book in the courtyard & eating all the yummy home cooking. The rooms were basic but clean & comfortable. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtravellers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at Durag Niwas Guest House. Jodhpur is an interesting town and Durag Niwas is not far from the center of town...close enough to walk (or take a richshaw for a few cents). Most important, the host, Mr. Govind Rathore, made me feel very welcome, as did the extended family at Durag Niwas. Their little son Ayush is adorbale. Staying there was a real pleasure and I'd love to do it again for a longer time.

Mr. Rathore is a great resource for other travel, as well. He arranged a car and driver for a three day road trip, at a much better price than I had obtained through other channels, and the driver was excellent: polite, helpful and conscientious. And with the help of Govind's kind associate Virendra, they arranged for a much-reduced room rate at a luxury hotel at my next destination, saving a couple thousand RS from the quote I had received direct from the hotel. And that room was probably the best in the house.

Another plus: because it's not in the center of town, it's easier than in the typical small Indian town to get a good night's sleep -- even during Diwali! And it's a very safe-feeling neighborhood, too. Nobody bothered me on evening walks, as occurs in some Indian towns.

The only negatives encountered are all the 'ups and downs' of an old house, making it non-handicap accessible; and, smoking is fully allowed...which means some guests rudely light up while you're trying to eat your meal, or trying to relax and read in the courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan61562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#18 of 96 in Jodhpur
512 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 96 in Jodhpur
982 reviews
1.0 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#4 of 193 in Jodhpur
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Property: Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Address: Ist Old Park Lane/K. N. College Road, 1 Setrawa House | Main Gate Gaushala Sports Complex, Raikabagh, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. A Rajput family run home stay, simple, clean room with many windows for fresh air and natural light. Private bathroom with 24 hour hot shower. Home cooked delicious meals available. Cooking demonstration available on request, complimentary pick up service, drinking water (R.O.) and WiFi complimentary. Very green neighbourhood and centrally located. 24 hours our family is available to assist you; you can use our common refrigerator, washing machine, kitchen, a doctor is available on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing