We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good heritage budget hotel !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Megh Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Megh Niwas
Ranked #78 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good heritage budget hotel !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Jodhpur is a heritage city and I was very keen to stay at heritage hotel but as i am on business trip so I was having a limited budget. I was searching for a hotel which is in city center too as I in marketing kind of business.

Megh Niwas is good hotel. It is newly renovated hotel but you the get the feeling of Old havelis. The manage Mr. Vikas is very cooperative and help me to explore the Jodhpur.

Rooms are big enough and bed is also large. As it is heritage hotel so you will find a old model furniture in the rooms even the fans. Hotels ahve both A/C and Non A/C rooms.

Restaurant/ Bar ambiance is better then the service. I like the Old Huukkas Sheeshas. I have tried on though I am not a regular smoker.

Food quality is ok. I liked the Non - Veg preparation.

Two major draw back --non-availability of Wi - Fi and conference room. It is must if you are a business traveller.

To sum up: it is nice hotel to stay with some minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samarindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    6
    3
    13
See reviews for
16
9
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I reached Jodhpur by car from Mumbai and it was night time. We were two families with young children. We took the help of a local auto driver and he directed us to the hotel..(probably the hotel has to rely on auto drivers for directing un-suspecting customers since the reputation of the hotel (as obtained from locals and guides was very poor). We also found out that there are better hotels available in the city which are cheaper and much better in every respect.
The room which was provided was full of mosquitoes and we had to change the room by middle of the night. The other room which was provided was just about average with very poor hygiene standards for the washroom. However, it was attended past midnight.
The attendants in the hotel move around without any directions and have o sense of priority.
We paid for the room as mentioned in the tariff card and the remote for the TV could not be found in the 48 hours I stayed in the hotel. Every attendant and the reception only expressed surprise that there is no remote for the TV in the room and promised to do something and NOTHING actually happened since the problem was never discussed with their counterparts by them and no efforts were put to trace same.
The intercom was not working and for everything, I had to go down to the reception as the attendants are ever missing on the 1st floor. The matter was worse since I could never find anyone at the reception, 9 out of 10 times for conveying my needs and had to take my car out to procure same.
We had to wait for the morning tea for almost 2 hrs and finally had to go to another restaurant to have tea since we would have otherwise wasted our day waiting for tea.
While checking out, just the bill was provided without any supportings and as per that a glass of plain milk was charged a whopping Rs 75/= and the guy at the reception had no knowledge regarding the pricing or anything...but said that everything comes from outside the hotel. Billing took almost 2 hours as the guys at the reception were utterly confused.
My suggestion...pls never use this hotel for your stay in Jodhpur...!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Captanupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmeghniwas, General Manager at Hotel Megh Niwas, responded to this review, 22 November 2010
The price milk in our menu is Rs.28 . You can check ourmenu and can provide you with the invoices.Also if they have found better hotel then they could have checked out the morning but they continued there stay.Also check in time was 0000 hrs and at that time wwhe our kitchen was closed we arranged food from a far away hotel as you dint have the food and our kitchen was closed. Secondly at the same time if you ditt like the hotel you ould have checked out in the morning as mentioned by you you got other options too. We provided the milk in late nite hours and delivered the food on those lat hours, still if you dint like the services you could have filled up the form an let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jodhpur hotels

Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

My experience during the stay in the hotel was fantastic. The staff is supportive and courteous. The rooms are well maintained and clean.

The location, rooms and the staff.

The food is quite tasty and the menu caters to mostly to foreign tourists.
The roof top restaurant is very nice along with the KUBES The lounge bar of hotel with amazing high quality sound , and most importnt the lounge is sound proof.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahil_grewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmeghniwas, General Manager at Hotel Megh Niwas, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Thanks for the your conideration and reviewing our Hotel .Hope to see you soom again and would like serve you again with more comfort and hospitality . Thanks !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

staying in the hotel megh niwas was staying in home ,The place represent excellent location .The quality of food is surprisingly amazing as i have never had such nice food in Rajesthan trip.The rooms are clean , tidy .The staff was very helpful and couteous.Their bar and lounge is really cool and mzing.They let th in house guest dance and dine their .Nice stay in hotel .Highly recommended to the travllers.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megzzz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghNiwa, Owner at Hotel Megh Niwas, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable comments, looking forward to welcome you again & we assure you to give best of our services all the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Stay at hotel megh niwas was like staying in the family only , the staff was well trained , well spoken too. I stayed with my friends in the hotel , The food was amazing specially continental and Rajasthani.The dal bhati churma was amazing. The property is a well converted haveli and the Management is good . They orgnised gallla dinner for us at their rooftop frm where we can see the FORT and the Palace as well.We stayd thr 2 nites and wanted to stay more , Also the charges for the food were Nominal ,They have got a bar with the best of liquor and wine collection.The local crowd was also very sober and gentle .Will surely recommend the hotel to stay while you are at Jodhpur ,IDEAL LOCATION AND an ideal place to stay in !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikasAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghNiwa, Owner at Hotel Megh Niwas, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for your valuable comments, looking forward to welcome you again & we assure you to give best of our services all the time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

I given a clean double room, en-suite. The bed was very comfortable. Colour TV and refreshments available. The room was a little on the big size, but fantastic value for money.
The English Breakfast fully met our expectations. Well cooked food and served hot. The host made us feel very much at home.
Free parking, off road, at the front of the hotel .
Without doubt, we shall stay here again when visiting jodhpur

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NareshDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneve
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

I with my colleagues stayed in Megh Niwas Hotel,,,,,for week due to some business trip,,, it is an excellent place to stay,,,, very cosy ,, homely,,,and very good food,,, the restaurant and bar is on top floor from there you can see imposing mehrangarh fort and world famous umaid palace,, a panaromic view ,,,,,i would recommend to all my friends from switzerland to sta y in this cool hotel,,, which is run by charming man Mr Manvendar singh rathore,,,,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neeraj_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rajputana Palace & ZO Rooms
0.6 mi away
Heritage Kuchaman
Heritage Kuchaman
#35 of 97 in Jodhpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marvel Umed Hotel
Marvel Umed Hotel
#38 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royale Plazo
Hotel Royale Plazo
#84 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leela Villas Guest House Jodhpur
1.1 mi away
Hotel High Pointe
Hotel High Pointe
#73 of 97 in Jodhpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megh Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megh Niwas

Property: Hotel Megh Niwas
Address: 30 Megh Niwas Umaid Club Road | Circuit House Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Megh Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meghniwas Hotel invites you to explore the rich heritage and culture of MARWAR, the seat of Rathore dynasty, the land of brave warriors, where every thing is fascinating beautiful and impressive. Meghniwas, a family resident, owned by a highly decorated experienced Army colonel-veteran of World War II (1939-45) and INDO-PAK wars (1965 and 1971). Col. Megh Singh VRC, M-in-D, PPM (DS).It has been converted and restored into a luxurious Hotel with its magnificent setting and classic ambience in 15 rooms and offers cordial hospitality and comfortable stay and opportunity to feel traditional life style and culture of a Rajput family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Megh Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing