We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice haveli in old-town Jodhpur”
Review of Shahi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shahi Guest House
Ranked #12 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice haveli in old-town Jodhpur”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We booked this hotel for a two nights stay in Jodhpur (June 2013). When you visit a third world country it's all about managing your own expectations. Especially in rural areas you won't find the standards you are used to from Europe, the States or any other place in the western world. This place was comfortable, clean, and is ideally located to explore the old town of Jadhpur. As some other reviewers mentioned, there is some room for improvement in terms of service experience. Although the room included breakfast we had to ask for it ("ahhh... yes, breakfast... hmm...") and were given only some toast an butter. Considering all the pros and cons this place was a little bit pricy; however it was an ok experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrivateJ0ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    101
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
140
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I am a sucker for anything with a little bit of history. Of course India is just teeming with this, but the Shahi Guest House was just a more intimate way to experience. What is so charming about this haveli that is hundreds of years old is simply the architecture. All the floors were staggered, so that as you looked up from the inner courtyard you would see an ornate balcony, curtained window, winding staircase dotting the walls in seemingly random order.

The rooms were tastefully decorated with giant beds and tons of space. They included a giant bathroom with both shower and luxuriously large bath tub.

Our interaction with the hotel staff was limited, but what they were knowledgeable and kind.

Overall, I found this to be a lovely hotel and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The room we stay on the top floor is huge. The roof top restaurant has a wonderful view of the fort and blue houses, but on the other hand no many choice in the menu. The staff was nice d helped us to organise a trip around the town

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Shahi Guesthouse is a beautiful old historic building in a quiet part of the old city, but within very easy walking distance to the Clock Tower & Sadar Market as well as the walkway up to Mehrangarh Fort. There is a maze of amazing narrow streets full of colour & life all around, but once you get used to it, it is very easy to find your way around the old city, and back to Shahi. The rooms are like something from Arabian Nights - colourful, comfortable, clean & spacious. Beautiful stained glass windows! Even had rose petals scattered on the bed when I arrived. Watch your head though as the doorways are pretty low. There are stairs up to the rooms & the rooftop restaurant (no lift), but they will help you up with your bags. Check in was quick & easy. The Bathroom was great - clean, spacious & everything worked well. A real highlight is the stunning views of the Fort from the rooftop restaurant, especially at night when it is lit up. The food is great & reasonably priced & the guys looking after you are really friendly & full of laughs. The owners organised a bus to Jaisalmer for me & tuk tuk when needed. Helpful & riendly without being intrusive. One of my favourite stays in India & one of my favourite cities. A fantastic time!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pantherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The building is really beautiful and our room very nice, clean and comfortable. Be prepared to climb many steep stairs though!

However, the staff was rather inattentive as a neighbour had just run away with many people's jewellery. Understandable, but not very professional. There are quite a few signs leading your way to Shahi's - but none on the building itself!?

If you've been to Agra and Jaipur Forts, think twice about going to Jodhpur. We didn't like it that much after all - go to Bundi, it's a lot quieter, it's blue as well and the crumbling Fort has a lot of character! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDolceVita82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ochiltree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Owner very helpful and friendly with arranging transport from the airport and local knowledge . Room very big, unusually decorated with a fantastic view of the fort. We has thunder and lightening plus a power cut. The local community let out a huge cheer as the power went back on. It was too blustery to eat outside that night and the chef brought our food to our room. Very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkkk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My initial reaction to the are of town Shahi Guesthouse was that it was a bit run down area, however upon entering the hotel it was clean and bright and beautifully decorated. The staff were friendly and quick with our check in and carried our bags up the narrow halls for us. We then ate on the rooftop restaurant and the view was to die for of the fort and you could see the whole "blue city" thing. The food was very good and we even got to meet the cook and he was a fantastic guy. The serving was most pleasant and we were treated most well by all staff.
The rooms were pleasant with wonderful beds, we had no use for the air conditioner but there was one present. Great elegant feeling to rooms.
Walking to the fort, the clock tower and the market is definitely do-able. It allows you to take in the city and get a feeling for the people, yet is not too long. The location was a great aspect of this wonderful guesthouse.
Also we had to take a tuk tuk to the hotel at the end of the end of the trip but it kind of added to the whole experience. Wonderful and highly recommended.

Room Tip: First floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
981 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 190 in Jodhpur
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
0.5 mi away
Haveli Inn Pal
Haveli Inn Pal
#10 of 95 in Jodhpur
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suraj Haveli
Suraj Haveli
#13 of 153 in Jodhpur
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahi Guest House

Property: Shahi Guest House
Address: City Police Gandhi Street | Opp. Narsingh Temple, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shahi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing