We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”
Review of Shahi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shahi Guest House
Ranked #12 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Central and yet quiet location. Really friendly staff who helped us to organise trips. Clean and gorgeous room. Loads of character and stunning views of the fort from the rooftop restaurant. Huge bathroom

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jussie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    101
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
140
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a really nice, family run place. The rooftop restaurant has the best views of the fort in town, the rooms are good enough, and the family will go out of their way to help you out with your onward travel arrangements.

Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Downie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It is worth staying here to just to see the lovely old building. As well as that however, it is very clean and comfortable and the family who run it are delightful. I had some trouble, having had my purse stolen in the town, and they were very helpful and let me use their phone to cancel my credit card etc. Facilities are basic, but it is all very authentic and much more fun than staying in a bland international hotel. It was refreshing to be charged local prices for the food we had here - it made us realise what a big mark-up tourists usually pay. All in all I can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aye-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely family who run a charming, clean guest house in the old town. Good, friendly service and we appreciated the time taken to get to know us. Don't miss flying kites with the children and their cousins. Views are great too with our bedroom looking out over the fort (roof top restaurant has best view in Jodphur!). No hot water but we never complained as it was 40+ degrees when we visited and didn't miss it. Only criticism would be the breakfast which was a bit overpriced and not particularly good (no Indian option, only toast).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiParis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a lovely stay in this guesthouse. We arrived very late at night but the owners arranged a pick up from the train station for us and so we got there with no problems. The owners are lovely and the view from the rooftop terrace is amazing, you will not find a better view in Jodhpur except maybe from the top of the fort! The room was clean and comfortable and the location good - a short walk from the main square area and so much to explore along the way. We would not hesitate to recommend Shahi guesthouse and would definitely stay there again if we were to return to Jodhpur.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We booked this hotel for a two nights stay in Jodhpur (June 2013). When you visit a third world country it's all about managing your own expectations. Especially in rural areas you won't find the standards you are used to from Europe, the States or any other place in the western world. This place was comfortable, clean, and is ideally located to explore the old town of Jadhpur. As some other reviewers mentioned, there is some room for improvement in terms of service experience. Although the room included breakfast we had to ask for it ("ahhh... yes, breakfast... hmm...") and were given only some toast an butter. Considering all the pros and cons this place was a little bit pricy; however it was an ok experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrivateJ0ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I am a sucker for anything with a little bit of history. Of course India is just teeming with this, but the Shahi Guest House was just a more intimate way to experience. What is so charming about this haveli that is hundreds of years old is simply the architecture. All the floors were staggered, so that as you looked up from the inner courtyard you would see an ornate balcony, curtained window, winding staircase dotting the walls in seemingly random order.

The rooms were tastefully decorated with giant beds and tons of space. They included a giant bathroom with both shower and luxuriously large bath tub.

Our interaction with the hotel staff was limited, but what they were knowledgeable and kind.

Overall, I found this to be a lovely hotel and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 100 in Jodhpur
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 100 in Jodhpur
974 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#9 of 100 in Jodhpur
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
1.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#8 of 100 in Jodhpur
915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahi Guest House

Property: Shahi Guest House
Address: City Police Gandhi Street | Opp. Narsingh Temple, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 152 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shahi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing