We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lesbian experience at Shahi guest house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shahi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shahi Guest House
Ranked #12 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lesbian experience at Shahi guest house.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Me and my partner checked in and there wasn't any problem or any inappropriate questions which was good. The room itself is ok but the main attraction is the view of the fort from its terrace, it's spectacular and if you can get there do it.
The menu is basic but does a great frozen pizza and amazing homemade chips/fries and there is wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    101
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
140
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Central and yet quiet location. Really friendly staff who helped us to organise trips. Clean and gorgeous room. Loads of character and stunning views of the fort from the rooftop restaurant. Huge bathroom

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jussie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a really nice, family run place. The rooftop restaurant has the best views of the fort in town, the rooms are good enough, and the family will go out of their way to help you out with your onward travel arrangements.

Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Downie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

It is worth staying here to just to see the lovely old building. As well as that however, it is very clean and comfortable and the family who run it are delightful. I had some trouble, having had my purse stolen in the town, and they were very helpful and let me use their phone to cancel my credit card etc. Facilities are basic, but it is all very authentic and much more fun than staying in a bland international hotel. It was refreshing to be charged local prices for the food we had here - it made us realise what a big mark-up tourists usually pay. All in all I can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aye-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely family who run a charming, clean guest house in the old town. Good, friendly service and we appreciated the time taken to get to know us. Don't miss flying kites with the children and their cousins. Views are great too with our bedroom looking out over the fort (roof top restaurant has best view in Jodphur!). No hot water but we never complained as it was 40+ degrees when we visited and didn't miss it. Only criticism would be the breakfast which was a bit overpriced and not particularly good (no Indian option, only toast).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiParis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a lovely stay in this guesthouse. We arrived very late at night but the owners arranged a pick up from the train station for us and so we got there with no problems. The owners are lovely and the view from the rooftop terrace is amazing, you will not find a better view in Jodhpur except maybe from the top of the fort! The room was clean and comfortable and the location good - a short walk from the main square area and so much to explore along the way. We would not hesitate to recommend Shahi guesthouse and would definitely stay there again if we were to return to Jodhpur.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We booked this hotel for a two nights stay in Jodhpur (June 2013). When you visit a third world country it's all about managing your own expectations. Especially in rural areas you won't find the standards you are used to from Europe, the States or any other place in the western world. This place was comfortable, clean, and is ideally located to explore the old town of Jadhpur. As some other reviewers mentioned, there is some room for improvement in terms of service experience. Although the room included breakfast we had to ask for it ("ahhh... yes, breakfast... hmm...") and were given only some toast an butter. Considering all the pros and cons this place was a little bit pricy; however it was an ok experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrivateJ0ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 97 in Jodhpur
1,211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#7 of 97 in Jodhpur
425 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 97 in Jodhpur
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 97 in Jodhpur
891 reviews
0.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 187 in Jodhpur
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahi Guest House

Property: Shahi Guest House
Address: City Police Gandhi Street | Opp. Narsingh Temple, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shahi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing