We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved staying at shahi -jodhpur!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shahi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shahi Guest House
Ranked #12 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“loved staying at shahi -jodhpur!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

stayed at Shahi guest house, Anu and her husband were very sweet and welcoming.
We had a lovely clean room, in fact absolutely spotless and well maintained.The bathroom was super clean and lovely.
The entire haveli is decorated beautifully, very tastefully done and it shows.
we stayed for two days and were really happy with our stay .
Even the boys were very helpful.
When we stayed , there was no TV in the room, but we were told by the owners that they were going to put in TV's in the rooms very soon.
The only thing i think one needs to know is ,the rooms are up a few floors (steep steps) and so is the restaurant, so if one has bad knees ,or is slightly older, this could be a problem.
All in all,we loved it, will definitely go back there if we go to Jodhpur again
was a pleasure!!!

Room Tip: try and get a room not very high up if u have bad knees .. lotssa steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ondmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    101
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
140
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We loved the location of this guest house; you had to walk/get a rickshaw down the lovely bustling main bazaar to get there, about a 10 minute walk from the main clocktower market square. There was a bit of confusion about being collected - they had said they were happy to collect us from the station when we arrived but there didn't appear to be anyone there. After several failed phonecalls, a rickshaw driver called them himself to confirm he could take us (a bit of a risky manoeuvre on our part?!) but we got there. We were right in the top room, up steep stone stairs that ran through the house with absolutely unbelievable views of the fort. The bathroom was basic but fine, and the room quiet and well equipped. The family were very hospitable, suggesting places for us to see and eat at and it was overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaB399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, the hosts were very helpful and had great attention to detail. The bed was covered in rose petals when we arrived which was a lovely surprise. The food was excellent, we ate out on the terrace looking over the fort in the middle of the old city in front of a fire. I cannot recommend Shahi highly enough we had a great time. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSydney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Shahi guest house is not easy to find, but it is definitely the best place to stay in old town. Located in an old beautiful house, it has only a few rooms and each of them is unique. I was staying in a large room on the 3rd floor, with a king size bed, a ottoman corner with pillows, a big bathtub and two balconies overlooking the street. Despite cold weather, a few blankets did a trick, though a heater provided by the hotel wasn't efficient enough to warm up the room.
Haveli has a very good restaurant on the rooftop with magnificent views of the fort and delicious food. Water was, like in most places in India, only "from-to" specific hours but because I was leaving very early in the morning, the attendant was flexible enough to turn the boiler on an hour before their normal schedule.
I didn't have much interaction with Shahi, the owner of the Haveli, but the attendants were always there and always tried to do their best in helping me with routes, Internet connection and so on. I would definitely stay in this Haveli again.
P.S. A word of warning, my windows and balconies were facing a Hindu temple across the narrow street. I stayed for two days and both nights there were some singing/dancing/celebrating going on in the temple. It was so loud that I wasn't able to sleep both nights. I am not sure whether it is a normal situation or they were celebrating something in particular on the dates i stayed there, but keep it in mind while choosing a room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
557 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

At the recommendation of two world traveler friends, we booked a 6-night stay here during our 2-month tour of India and are so glad we did! It was absolutely charming - authentic doesn't begin to describe it. To start with, it is a centuries old building so be prepared - the stairs are steep and the arrangement of rooms is quirky. But once you get to your room, voila!! Ours was at the very top and we had a breathtaking view of the fort. And we were just a half-story down from the roof top restaurant, most convenient. The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated; the bed was big and comfy, the bathroom had a real bathtub!!! Now for the owners - they were so very helpful and gracious. My husband was not feeling well, and they were so solicitous and concerned. They took me to a local chemist where I described his symptoms, the chemist prescribed a medicine and when that didn't work, I went back and got another one that did (grand total for all that - about $2USD)!! The restaurant offerings are good, but somewhat limited and all vegan (no eggs); we talked to the owners and they have probably changed that by now. Shahi is very tricky to find - it's in the heart of the Brahmin/old city area - the streets are so narrow even the tuk tuk couldn't make it; we had to walk the last couple hundred yards! But that's just one of the things that makes this so very charming and authentic. We loved our stay there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoSilverqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We only had one night here,due to a bookings error.The building is a beautiful old house...and used to be women's quarters.The haveli still has many of it's original features.There are only about 8 bedrooms and each one is individually designed and very beautiful.If you have a stair phobia,it is not the place for you.There are lots of very steep,narrow stairs up...the roof top restaurant is about 4 or 5 floors up!We had a leaky toilet,which was a bit annoying,but as it was only a night,we told the owner and he said one of the cleaners must've done it.
The Rooftop Restaurant was a big disappointment,run by 2 young boys of around 16,who had no idea how to organise anything...had to go out to get bread for breakfast,for example.The food was average.A bit of a let down for such a lovely place (the menu was expensive,too)
Overall,the haveli was beautiful and the food let it down. The rooms were pricey.
It is situated down a warren of lanes in the Bazaar,so not easy to find initially...

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me and my sister stayed in this guest house after recovering from being extremely sick and having a hard time. This was the best place we stayed at in our two months of travelling both Nepal and India. It was a beautiful, beautiful room with an amazing view, situated just beneath the rooftop restaurant (which also had great food!). The family who owned the hotel made us feel so welcome and were so generous to us. They were genuinely lovely people. We were invited to a wedding of the manager's niece, which was a unique experience I will remember forever.

I absolutely recommend coming here (it was also one of the best showers I had in India, plenty of hot water!).

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was wonderful - just under the restaurant on the balcony. Though all of them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liza994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
4.1 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#7 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahi Guest House

Property: Shahi Guest House
Address: City Police Gandhi Street | Opp. Narsingh Temple, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shahi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shahi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing