We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Surya Kunj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surya Kunj
Ranked #46 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We chose this B&B upon recommendation of an Indian tourism expert and were very happy to do so. We were warmly welcomed like family by Mumal and Sajjan and got all information and support.
The room, breakfast and homemade dinner werde exellent. We wish our hosts all the best for the future and many more happy guests like us!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Ingrid,
Thank you very much for your warm and encouraging words! We are glad that you were comfortable here and look forward to seeing you again! Our regards to you and Regina! Sajjan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Surya Kunj
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our initial disappointment that we were staying so far away from the centre of town was completely dissolved when we mat our host, Sajjan. He is an intensely interesting man who took care of us and his other guests so nicely. The food was very good and his family so nice.

Our room was fine and the bathroom good. The sheets could have been improved and it was quite cold, but we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again in a heartbeat. Once our site-seeing was over, all we wanted to do was sit and chat to our genteel host.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Catiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your candid review! It is much appreciated as now we know where improvements can be done! We look forward to seeing you again! Warm Regards, Sajjan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were so happy to arrive at Surya Kunj, the house is beautiful and welcoming. We felt so relaxed and at ease. The room is perfectly turned out and the so clean! We spent a lot of time at the house planning our trip, helped by the speedy wifi.

Sajjan is the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble. He recommended and booked us into a wonderful restaurant called 'Indique', fantastic food and service and lovely view of the fort. He also helped us loan our day of sight seeing and taught us lots about Indian history.

Thank you so much for everything! We wish we had longer!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Stephanie...Thank you for your warm and encouraging words! It was a pleasure to have you and Jim stay with us and look forward to seeing the rest of your family in our nook of the world! Jim's sister and her family should travel here after her child is borne! All the very best in Australia!
Warm Regards
Sajjan and Mumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The place is maintained by Mr Sajjan Singh and he takes personal care of every guest (he has about 6 rooms that he lets out). Rooms are really nice and cosy, with decor reminiscent of haveli lifestyle...gives a true feel of living in Rajasthan. He give us good advice on the places to see and shop around, and very hospitable. Breakfast included a fantastic Coorg coffee that he has personally picked. And to top it all, his dog Sabre is a constant adorable companion! The only drawback is that is no television in the rooms, but he more than makes up for it with lovely lounge and collection of books.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Tvamsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

THANK YOU for your WARM words and comments! I am glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward to seeing you again!
Regards....Sajjan Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had 6 kids in our group.
As soon as we arrived Mr.Sajjan Singh, welcomed us and made us feel truly at home. Our kids eyes sparkled seeing the story book collection that he had. Very soon the noisy bunch settled down engrossed. This allowed us adults to go shopping, knowing our kids were enjoying themselves. What a relief ! Our kids enjoyed the friendly, gentle Labrador 'Sabre'

Many thanks to Sajjan Singh for letting us use the premises after checking out. This gesture was very kind and accommodative and helped us a lot.

Overall the stay was wonderful and the hospitality awesome !

-Soumya

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank cBengaluru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you so much for your warm words about our home stay! It's great to know that the kids had a good time here and we look forward to seeing you again! Regards to all the families, Sajjan Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for two nights in Jodhpur and absolutely loved it. The place is a bit out of the centre, and it will cost you about rs 60-80 to get to the centre. But all this is made up by being in a relatively quiet area, and enjoy your tea with very pleasurable company. It is nice just to sit with the host, chat and plan your day. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Otherwise Jodhpur is really a great place, very laid back and peaceful, unlike many other destinations in Rajasthan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Kgeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dera Koen,
Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure to be your hosts and look forward to seeing you and Jana again! Regards, Sajjan Singh, Jodhpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

hi i stayed in suryakunj for 2 days and it was excellent very comfortable and very homely .this is a new concept where you get to stay in a bunglow which is as good as a five star but homely. mr saajan who is the owner and runs the place is exetremely helpful and very nice person .Food ofcourse is home made so you get to eat fresh roti s and anything you ask all home made .if i visit jaipur with my family i will only stay in surya kunj very affordable and comfortable .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhiash11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suryakunjmanager, Owner at Surya Kunj, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Abhijeet,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We thank you for your comments and look forward to your next visit! Our regards to your family!
Regards,
Sajjan Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lords Inn, Jodhpur
Lords Inn, Jodhpur
#15 of 95 in Jodhpur
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 95 in Jodhpur
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#11 of 95 in Jodhpur
846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
946 reviews
1.9 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surya Kunj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Kunj

Address: C-22, Panchwati Colony | Ratanada, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: £22 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surya Kunj 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surya Kunj" means " Garden of the Sun". The ambianceis that of a urban home (Haveli) of a Rajput Zamindar (Land Lord). Our seven rooms exclusivly designed to blend yesterday's elegance with today's comforts. Catg. Homestay and Bed and breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surya Kunj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing