We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angel Fire
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall, the staff was good. We did have a couple of minor issues with forgetful staff at Legends and Annie's restaurants. The hotel itself is seriously in need of cleaning and repair, not to mention updating.

Parking behind the Lodge along the road reminded me of areas I would not feel safe leaving anything in my vehicle. I was very relieved not to have a room on that side of the building. Everything was stained and dirty. The floor in our bathroom was sticky. There was dirt everywhere and the chair smelled. The balcony, which was admittedly nice to have, was covered in bird droppings and the gutter screen had not been cleaned in years. The floor track for the sliding glass door was disgustingly dirty. The only heating in the room was a fake fireplace that did not produce flame. There was a baseboard along another wall and a vent in the bathroom but neither was usable. The hallways and elevators would really benefit from a vacuum. Finally, breakfast at Annie's was terrible. My son's scrambled eggs were really runny. They forgot my breakfast burrito (which turned out to be pre-made) and it was terrible. I had high hopes for the "Starbuck's" cafe mocha. The coffee was very weak until I got to the bottom and discovered a pile of chocolate syrup that had never been mixed in. Ugh. Too bad because it has great potential and I'm sure it was good at one time but I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear K M,

I look forward to sharing your feedback with the venues you have mentioned. I hope that you will make another trip to the Angel Fire and stay with us here in the Lodge.

Sincerely,
Joseph Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Angel Fire is close to Taos and Red River but without all the tourist traffic. The Golf package is very nice and the course is moderately difficult. There are some very nice restaurants nearby, one called H2 was particularly good.

Room Tip: Ask for outside balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottybob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Scottybob45,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the on-line community. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. It is great to see that you visited us during the summer season and we hope that you return in the Winter.

Happy and Safe Travels,
Sincerely,
Joseph Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel is showing it's age. The room was clean, but in need of updating. No A/C in the rooms. Box fans are provided but we had to sleep with the windows open. With the curtains closed it didn't help much, thankfully it was not too hot in Angel Fire. The cafe in the lobby is nice, but needs to stay open a bit longer. The cafe is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you're not overlooking the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TLPearce61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear TLPearce61,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the on-line community. With Angel Fire, NM being over 8600 ft. many homes and properties don't have air conditioning, as we are usually cool enough both day and night. However, this year was warmer and we tried to make sure and have plenty of fans on hand for our guests. Property updates are reviewed every few months and I will make sure and discuss air conditioning at our next review.

I do hope that you get another opportunity to visit us in the future.

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the resort hotel in May. The room we stayed in was roomy and nice. Appeared to have been recently updated. We also had a balcony which was enjoyable. Room was clean. Loved the look of the lobby area. Would have been nice if Annie's didn't close so early. (4pm) My only real complaint is that when we arrived and I walked to the check in counter two employees were having a conversation and didn't attend to me until they were finished. They should have immediately ceased their personal conversation and dealt with the customer as this I would assume is their main priority. (Not to mention the hours of driving I have just endured.) Because of this I felt the service was not as professional as it could have been.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwesternplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear midwesternplains,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I have shared your comments with our Front Desk Manager and our Front Desk team. It is through constructive feedback that changes occur.

Again, thank you for reaching out and sharing!

Happy and Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort was wonderful. Our room was clean and spacious, yet very cozy. The staff members we encountered were exceptional - very friendly and helpful. We loved the mountain/rustic décor throughout the resort and enjoyed our stay very much. Upon arrival we were concerned about the fact that there was no air conditioning, but it was fine. The nights are so cool in Angel Fire air conditioning is just not needed, even in July!

Room Tip: We reserved a room with a balcony which was definitely worth the extra charge.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Karen G,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with the on-line community. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. It is great to see that you visited us during the summer season and we hope that you return in the Winter.

Happy and Safe Travels!

Sincerely,
Joseph Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I traveled to Angel Fire, NM for a bicycle rally that I was participating in June 28th and 29th. We stayed at the Lodge which is nice but found out once we were there that it was not air conditioned. Now this is not a big deal in the winter but June, July and August are hot in the afternoons even at 8400 feet. Our room had a beautiful view but temperatures reached in the high 80's in the afternoon and evening which made it very difficult to sleep. We had to leave the outdoor balcony door open for a little fresh air but there was so much pollen in the air that even though my wife and I are not sensitive to allergies, we were both suffering with stopped up sinuses and running noses. Needless to say, this did not help my performance in the rally. Like many small ski resorts, the summer season is an afterthought and so the activities offered somewhat hokey and pricey. If zipling is something you want to do great but plan on about $120 for that. Frisbee golf seems really hokey to me but maybe that is your thing. My wife and I just wanted to be able to hike around in between the rally but it seemed you had to pay just for that privilege. One thing I would recommend if you are a mountain biker is bring your bike because riding down the mountain looked like a lot of fun. Dangerous, but fun. The restaurants in the town range from okay to poor. Frankly, the best meal we had was when we drove into Taos. If I had everything to do over again, I would stay in Taos at one of the motels that have air condition and just drive into Angel Fire the morning of the rally start. Anyway, a tip for staying at any ski resort in the summer is find out whether your room is air conditioned because it does get hot.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room. The view are great but be aware that in June, July and August it gets in the hi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcott360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear westcott360,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the on-line community. With Angel Fire, NM being over 8600 ft., many homes and properties don't have air conditioning, as we are usually cool enough both day and night. However, this year was warmer and we tried to make sure and have plenty of fans on hand for our guests. As you pointed out, the resort does offer many activities that are well received by our summer guests.

I do hope that you get another opportunity to visit us so that you can try Elements.


Happy and Safe travels,
Sincerely
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Disclaimer: This stay was a gift. I did not personnaly pay for, or choose this room. We were here to check out Angel Fire's downhill biking, which was fabulous!

The Resort is a large facility located at the base of the ski area. The lobby is large and clean. Nice kiva fireplace and plenty of sitting areas. Staff very friendly and helpful. Check-in smooth. Annie's Cafe is past the reception desk.

The Eagle Wing is a 3 story building of suites attached to the Lodge at Angel Fire Resort. Adjoining "suites" are entered by a common door into a short hallway with separate entrances to the 2 suites. This is slightly different from the usual hotel door-in-the-wall between two hotel rooms.

Our room was 115 "B" outfitted with King bed, chair/ottoman, desk, chair, Armoire, and chest of drawers. Stone gas fireplace was nice. It is a very large room with lots of floor space for your winter or summer gear. There is a tiny bar area with miniature microwave, bar sink, some plates, cups, flatware. You are required to wash all items used. There is a very small fridge; big enough for a few cans or bottles; not big enough for much else. If you want an ice machine, it involves trekking to the lodge and going to the 3rd floor.

The elephant in this unit is a HUGE jetted soaking tub in the bedroom. This is in addition to the tub/shower combo in the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom... wallpaper is peeling from all walls. (Who wallpapers all the walls in a bathroom?) Shower head has horrible water pressure and is not high enough on the wall. I'm 5'6" and had to bend/crouch to wet my hair. The first shower was cold. Maintenance guy said the breaker tripped to the hot water tank (located in a closet in the common entry).

The north facing balcony has a small table and 2 chairs. Unfortunately, the parking lot is outside the unit, slightly higher so that headlights shine directly over the railing, into the room. Below the balcony are the propane tanks. Not much a view but was nice to cool off after a day of biking on the mountain.

Our neighbors in the adjoining suite had a kitchen in their unit. We could smell everything. Something to consider as it could be unpleasant for you if their cooking isn't what you're accustom to.

Sound travelled easily between the adjoining suites.

Housekeeping: No daily housekeeping service. You must wash all kitchenware. Room was clean with the exception of obvious spots and streaks on the bathroom mirror. No plastic cups in the bathroom. Use the ones from bar, but are required to wash them (?). The curtain was falling off the rod. Carpet needs replacing.

Large flat screen TV with good signal. Desk is does not have outlets for electronics. No problem connecting to wifi in the room.

The small indoor swimming pool and hot tub are just off the lobby. There were lodge rooms with balconies looking to this enclosed area. These rooms may be noisy.

Upshot: If I had to pay for this room, I'd be upset with the condition, sound and smell transfer, and location of balcony. Since no money out of MY pocket, 3/5.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILoveMoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe K, General Manager at The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear ILoveMoab,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with Eagle Wing Timeshare / Angel Fire Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Angel Fire Resort strives to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

I do hope that you get another opportunity to visit us in the future.

Sincerely,
Joe Kendall
Director of Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angel Fire
11.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
23.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#4 of 8 in Red River
237 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,183 reviews
17.4 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
145 reviews
23.5 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort

Address: 10 Miller Lane, Angel Fire, NM 87710
Region: United States > New Mexico > Angel Fire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angel Fire
Price Range: £111 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers your choice of spacious rooms and suites, just steps from the Chile Express chairlift at the hub of Angel Fire, New Mexico. Each room features two queen beds-perfect for your family (or friends). Take a plunge in the indoor pool, enjoy a relaxing soak in our hot tub, sweat it out in the fitness center or just enjoy our free WiFi Internet access after a fun day of skiing and snowboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Fire Hotel Angel Fire
Angel Fire Ski Resort
Angel Fire Resort Hotel
The Lodge At Angel Fire Resort New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing