We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”

Ranthambore National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.00*
and up
Private Wildlife Safari Tour in Ranthambore from Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wildlife sanctuary is famous for its population of tigers, a 1000-year-old fort and a rich diversity of flora and fauna.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Getting to the jungle in open safari is an excellent and unique experience. Just the awareness that we could see a live tiger from an open space is an experience by itself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank anupamtiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,752
    943
    385
    182
    99
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definite worth re-visiting!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Apart from wildlife, the national park also provides an opportunity to view numerous bird species and flora. But the real deal is with tigers & i would certainly ask everyone willing to listen to go for route 3/4/5 where you should get a visit of the Magestic....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sabyasachir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
283 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“You're in for a bumpy ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We did three trips into the reserve to look for the Tigers. Compared to other safari trips we have gone on ( Africa) there are fewer varieties of animals and you are lucky if you get to see a Tiger. We saw some amazing birds , and a few other animals. There is the option of taking a big bus like vehicle or a 4 passenger jeep into the reserve. Take the jeep! The roads are boulders and rocks so the trip is very bouncy and and rough. There are enough roads that the park rangers take separate ways so you don't pass to many other tourists. They say they limit the amount of visitors to 20 vehicles a day into 8 sections of the reserve, but I wonder about that number. When we passed park ranger group who had seen a tiger at one end of the section; all stops were pulled and we went into high speed over the bumps to see the Tiger. Once we got to the spot there must have been 10 groups ( 100 people in buses and jeeps) looking at a sleepy Tiger who was half hidden behind a tree. We were "lucky to see the tiger, but the way of seeing him was crowded and probably aggravating for the Tiger. Be sure to tip the park guides, they used to be poachers and now help preserve the area... It was defiantly an experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tigers but not much else!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I have been on safari four times in Africa and this was the first time in India. The Ranthambore National Park is big about 30 square miles in size with only 55 Tigers living here. I must admit the experience was hugely disappointing - apart from the Tigers. If you are lucky enough to see one that is great (we saw a young male on our second drive but we were extremely lucky, as I have heard many people who have visited many times and have not seen one), otherwise there is not much else to see. There are some deer and gazelles, a few crocodiles and lots of birds and monkeys but that is about it! This park is quite beautiful in itself with lakes and streams and old ruins and it was the private hunting ground of the Maharaja and there is an old fort perched high on a mountain if you wish to visit.

The Park is run by the Forestry Department and having being on safari in Africa, the activities that they run in this park are very amateur; the jeeps are old and not in a good conditon, some of the trackers do not speak English, so you need to take with you a guide, a tracker and a driver and tip them all at the end of the drive, even though you may not have any sightings at all!! This is what happened to us on the first game drive and then I complained to my travel agent and on the second drive we had an english speaking tracker!! No water in the jeeps or blankets for the early morning drives as is the case on most African safaris.

I am aware that there are more national parks in the south of the country that are much better than this one, but we were only travelling around Rajasthan and this is the only one in this area. Bascially you viist this Park for the elusive Tigers and if you are not lucky enough to spot one, then it is a bit of a waste of time!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cancer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It was excellent because we saw the fabulous Noor!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The park has loads of wildlife that virtually ignore the vehicles crammed with people. Zvirb's review confirms what we saw.
We went out in the morning early, two parties, but chose different zones and we were the unlucky ones in the morning. I reluctantly agreed to go a second time in the p.m. and tried a different zone and just as our hopes were fading there was a track on our right and Noor (the guide recognised her from her markings) was strolling down towards us. The driver furiously backed and backed as she turned into our path and continued towards us before turning into the forest but still within easy view parallel to us. She re-emerged crossing our path before wandering into the forest and disappearing.
We were all utterly enthralled and privileged to see such a magnificent, regal animal in its natural habitat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ranthambore National Park also viewed

Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
Sawai Madhopur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Ranthambore National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing