We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best service in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Vanyavilas
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in October 2010 and we still refer to Oberoi hotels as the epitome of service and the benchmark for other hotels to achieve. We've yet to find another that does however.

All Oberois are sublime (having stayed in 4 in Rajasthan and the one in Mauritius) but my personal favourite was the Vanyavilas on the edge of Ranthambhore Park. It is by no means the most grand of the Oberois, being all-tented (if you can call a mini palace a tent). It is VERY relaxing and the spa is beautiful with rooms overlooking a beautiful lily pond. The suites even have a pillow menu - a treat I can assure you when compared to some 5* hotels in Europe.

What made it stand out was when things when slightly wrong for us, the manager stepped up and treated us with such respect we felt more like part of his family than paying guests. We had been in India for a week by this point and 'Delhi Belly' finally hit us (no fault of the hotel at all) and we were treated to a specially made meal to ease our stomachs, brought to our room and served for us.

Then, when our tour organising company had failed to send train tickets to the hotel as promised, the manager offered a chauffeur to take us in one of their air conditioned luxury cars to our next destination - the Oberoi in Agra, about a 4 hour drive away. We said we'd prefer to take the train so we had toilets on hand, so he arranged the best available tickets for us and one of his staff to accompany us to help us as we were poorly.

We kicked ourselves when we arrived at Agra and found we had left something in our room, but the manager at Agra's Oberoi informed us that it was already on it's way to us there.

Basically the Oberois are regularly voted the best hotels in the world for a good reason. They are.

Room Tip: They are all tented suites, but oh boy what a tent! Marble bathrooms and antique furniture adorn ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind feedback.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us in India and specially at Vanyavilas!

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

We are really sorry that you were unwell and hence not able to enjoy your stay completely.

We hence want you to come back soon again. My team and I personally look forward to welcoming you.

Thank you

Best Regards

Ratna Malhotra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is an extraordinary hotel. I understand completely why it is considered one of the very best in the world. The staff is superb. The grounds are glorious. The "tents" are amazing. The restaurant fantastic.
We did see two tigers -- which made the safaris so worthwhile. But the amazing hotel made the journey to this part of India worth it by itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities provided met your expectations.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

We are happy to note that you had good tiger sightings.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had a beautiful tented room. Simply stunning . The restaurant was fantastic.We were very fortunate and had several sightings of tigers. Our only disappointment was the spa was difficult to attend as so booked up. Suggest you pre book before arrival. Went on great fun picnic on hotels elephants. A magical vacation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MollieArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities provided met your expectations.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration and encourage us to achieve even higher standards. We are glad to note that you enjoyed the elephant ride.
We apologize for not being able to take your Spa appointment as we were completely booked. I shall make sure that next time when your room booking comes in we proactively take your spa booking in advance.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

After driving all day we were tired and did not know what to expect from a jungle resort. But to our much surprise as soon as we arrived we were greeted by the GM, her staff, cold scented wash cloth and a cold drink. The property is small but is awesome. The tents are better than many 5 star hotel rooms. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive. The Rajastani dinner cooked for us by Chef Vidhu was a delight we soon will not forget. Our girls got an experience of a lifetime when they had water splashed on the by the two pet elephants. The rose petals at night were a nice touch. Thank you Ratna.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawood H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities provided met your expectations.

Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

Your special comments about Vidhu, the team and our Mala and Laxmi are highly appreciated .

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Hotel is very good
Food is very good
Plantation is very good

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you met your expectations.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Thank you and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Since 2003, in late May I have made my 3rd trip to Vanyavilas...It was fantastic as usual, but I want to talk about the new things on this trip. We went in 2009 but did not see a tiger so we had to have another trip! Anyway, I see improvement over the years. This latest trip included some nice touches - flowers saying "Welcome" or "Goodnight" spelled out, outside your door..."Come again" written in gold on a large broad leaf, etc. small touches that make the trip nice. They also have new robes with the Oberoi Vanyavilas logo on it with a tiger, which was a must buy! Also, we took the elephant ride on the hotel property which was fun, and we haven't done it before. One staff member suggested we go "wash" the elephants. So, they took us down to the staff quarters (down the street) where the elephants stay, and we got to hose off the elephants, they offered me to get on the elephant and the elephant sprayed water on me. It was truly a one-of-a-kind, unique experience and made the trip. Only two negatives was the SPA was a little hot due to the heat (it was 115), and I arrived at the hotel on my birthday but they failed to take notice. I would say the elephant experience made the trip, even with us seeing a tiger. Good trip over all!

Room Tip: They are all tents - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riversair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities provided met your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you at the SPA.

We are really sorry to have missed your birthday. Please accept our belated best wishes. We hope that you will consider to come back and celebrate many many more birthdays with us.

My team and I eagerly look forward to welcoming you back again at The Oberoi Vanyavilas.

Our Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

First of all service is on a high level in all India. But in Oberoi Vanyavillas it is more than 5stars. You will feel like nowhere, they treat you as a honored royal guest and care about any single thing. Very thoughtful, eager to help and nice staff. Especially thanks a lot to GM Ratna for her attentiveness and help, who also advices a few good places nearby and in Jaipur for great Indian-stuff shopping
Furnishing of room is awesome. Every detail is thought-out. Gorgeous design with local Indian colors and very modern at the same time. Bathtub in the middle of the bathroom area is fantastic! Very romantic for couples. Patterns and pictures of tigers softly ingrained into the interior design will remind that you are in a middle of jungles. Cozy private terrace where peacocks came to visit us sometimes is a nice place to chill out :)
Beautiful gardens of the well-maintained hotel area, flowers, big number of birds and small animals will make you feel like in a fairy-tale.
Swimming pool is beautiful, clean and works day and night
Food is very good, for Indian and western selections both. Even if you want something special out from menu list - it is not a problem and chief may cook it as you wish.
Not nice thing is the internet. But it is typical for all over india hotels:( I think to charge so much in such luxury place is not fair.
Unfortunately we didn't see a tiger on our safari-ride. Which means we must to come back once again :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanyavilasOberoi, General Manager at The Oberoi Vanyavilas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your compliments with us, they are really very special. Your kind words of appreciation motivates us to strive for excellence in all aspects.

We put in a lot of effort to train our team at offering highly personalized, intuitive and unobtrusive service to all our guests and positive feedback on service from patrons like you is our biggest reward!

A stay in a luxury tent at The Oberoi Vanyavilas is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on luxury and comfort. We are glad that you loved the tent experience! I am glad to know that our facilities, activities and services exceeded your expectations and made your stay a memorable one.

Thank you for your valuable feedback with respect to the internet.

We are honored by you considering us as ‘More than 5 stars in India’. Thank you so much once again!

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon again to us and yes to see the tigers!

Thank you

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
1.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
1.8 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
644 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#3 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
282 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#10 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
Raj Palace Resort, Ranthambhore
#14 of 26 in Sawai Madhopur
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Vanyavilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Vanyavilas

Address: Ranthambhore Road, Sawai Madhopur 322 001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Spa Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#1 Family Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#3 Business Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range: £540 - £1,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Vanyavilas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Vanyavilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Vanyavilas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Oberoi Vanyavilas Ranthambore
Oberoi Sawai Madhopur
Sawai Madhopur Oberoi
The Oberoi Vanyavilas India/Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing