We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiger Moon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tiger Moon Resort
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Sawai Madhopur
Danville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restful accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Tiger Moon after a hectic mission trip in parts of India. We stayed in the upstairs "suite", which was very nice; better than the lower bungalows. The room was clean and the fan was sufficient to keep the temperature comfortable. We were there in February. The few drawbacks were the low water pressure in the shower and the front desk staff, who were not very friendly or accommodating. The restaurant staff and the naturalist, Happy, were outstanding. The food was Indian fare and tasted fine, if one likes Indian food. Coffee was a little late in the morning, but overall the meals were acceptable. The barbeque one night was a lot of fun with entertainment and an outdoor fire.
The clothing shop to the left of the Tiger Moon is outstanding...prices are fair and alterations can be done there.

Room Tip: The suites upstairs are quiet, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evelynlouisesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    60
    23
    14
    17
See reviews for
39
54
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We loved our stay at this property on the edge of Ranthambore National Park. The cottages were comfortable but fairly basic - large rooms with air conditioning. The bathroom appearance was a little dated but suited its purpose. Occasionally hot water was an issue. Meals are included at this property (buffet) and are exceptional. I am usually put off by buffets but the food here was freshly prepared and was a taste sensation. Bar selection was good. Evening entertainment was fun - cultural dance activities. The pool was centrally located. The main asset of this resort was the staff who would do anything possible to ensure your stay was a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarwinWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

The hotel was appropriate in terms of setup, giving you the 'living in the jungle' feel. However, it lacked in terms of service and food. Nobody answered the internal nos such as housekeeping and there were no food options. In case you did not like the buffet. But the cottage setup still takes the cake, if we discount the food factor.

Room Tip: Pick the room near reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harsh_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

The resort is situated at the end of a very dusty dirt road. It means that guests get dirty whenever they leave the resort. The resort consists of separate villas set around the common areas of the resort. The rooms are basic and in need of refurbishment. Hot water is available in the morning after the fire has been lit. The power goes on and off at various times during the day and night. Sometimes when it goes off at night it is at very inconvenient moments! Breakfast was basic with a limited selection of food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sawai Madhopur hotels

Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at Tiger Moon for 2 nights as part of our tour of the area, It is down a winding country lane ,on the outskirts of the village. The accommodation is in small bungalows with a veranda in front in the rustic style with lots of character. After 4 frantic days on the road visiting Delhi and Jaipur it was lovely just to sit on the veranda and be able to watch the birds and the goat herders in the field besides us. There is a small pool area with plenty of seating. We had entertainment and a barbecue. There are a couple of shops at Tiger Moon were you browse the goods in peace and buy from local traders.The meals were simple buffet style. The staff were friendly and pleasant. We had 2 safaris into the Ramthambhore reserve were we saw peacocks and plenty of antelope. The tigers kept out of sight but we did see a couple of leopards- which was very exciting as they too are very shy

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsW8620LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The hotel is in a perfect setting on the edge of Ramthambhore national park, the accomodation is in small bungalows dotted throughout the grounds and its all very pleasant when you arrive, and then...................
The rooms are very basic and not kept too clean, no baths and the showers don't work well (either cold with no hot water, or far too hot with no cold) - and as the shower heads don't work properly either, better to wash at the sink.
An old air conditioner on the wall didn't work and we had to rely on the electric ceiling fan - not very satisfactory.
Electricity is very hit and miss (more miss than hit) and there was a candle and matches in the room - luckily we had a torch (an essential item in this hotel.
We thought that the worse part of the hotel was the food - horrible, cold, and frequently in short supply - this was made worse as the hotel is so far away from civilisation that there is just no alternative. We turned vegetarian for our time there and lived mostly on bread and bananas.
Alcoholic drinks are very expensive and you are heavily pressurised by the staff to buy them - be careful here, there is no price list and they won't tell you in advance unless you insist (nasty shocks later at bill paying time).
However, one good thing is that if you want a bottle of wine (stupidly over-priced), ask the price first and then haggle (we got a 1900 rupee bottle for 1500).
Same with the final bill, if you object and don't budge, surprise, surprise, they will find a discount for you - clearly all prices are loaded for tourists quite shamelessly.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful but you can't help the impression that it's superficial and merely "massaging the tip".
One very good aspect (although the hotel can't claim any credit here) is the small family run fabric and clothes shop at the entrance of the hotel (on the right going in) - the owner will make silk shirts and dresses to measure very quickly (24 hours) and very cheaply - all you do is take him one of your garments as a sample, and he'll do the rest - brilliant.

One final word of warning about the area - if you go from here on a game drive into Ramthambhore park (and most do) and are carrying a video camera, they will charge you 400 rupees just to take it in - and if you go again on the same day they'll charge you again.
India really have got ripping tourists off down to a fine art.

Room Tip: Go for a single storey bungalow, not a flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian_gadsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for two nights as part of our India tour 19/20th October. Excellent location for National Park. Simple accommodation set in nice gardens with a small pool, although they could do with more loungers around the pool. Good food and versy firendly and helpful staff - they can't do enough for you. Could do with a little money spending on the place. Power goes off quite often so take a torch. A visit to Ranthambore fort in the centre of the park is well worth a visit. A couple of nights stay is long enough not alot to do during the evenings. Our visit was made even more special by seeing a Tiger on both of our game drives. Don't get dressed up to go on the game drives they are very dusty, but well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Individual cabins set in and around the gardens - just ask reception I am sure they will change for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
1.4 mi away
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
Abrar Palace Wildlife Resort
#16 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
Ankur Resort Ranthambhore
#17 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#3 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sher Vilas Ranthambhore
Sher Vilas Ranthambhore
#3 of 32 in Sawai Madhopur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Moon Resort

Property: Tiger Moon Resort
Address: Village Sherpur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tiger Moon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Moon Resort is situated adjoining the Ranthambore National Park (Rajasthan, India) sharing a boundary with this Project Tiger National Park. The resort offers luxurious cottages spread over a large area. The cottage and semi natural gardens blend harmoniously with the surroundings and offer an abundance of birds, monkeys in the compound itself. A swimming pool and other modern amenities create a perfect holiday. Jungle safari, bird watching, cultural dances, barbecue dinner are the highlights of the stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Tiger Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiger Moon Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Tiger Moon Resort India/Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing