We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once-in-a-lifetime experience”
Review of Khem Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sawai Madhopur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khem Villas
Ranked #1 of 42 Sawai Madhopur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A once-in-a-lifetime experience”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed in the luxury tents, which were in fact luxurious. The rain shower was magnificent, and especially appreciated after a full day safari. Khem Villas is all-inclusive, and they wake you each morning with tea and cookies to your tent. The Indian dinner was delicious, and they even prepared dinner for our hungry group which arrived late, at 2:30 AM. The grounds are beautiful, and they have a small spa and yoga room. Warning: bring warm clothes (thick jackets, gloves, etc.). We went in January, and the 70*F and sunny forecast was frighteningly opposite.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZuzziTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    104
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
142
417
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This was our "treat stay" in India and it turned out to be exactly what we needed after a dreadful train journey from Delhi. We had a delay of 5 hours and then a slow train journey of 8 hours, when we finally arrived to Khem Villas at 11pm at night. We were collected, made tea, arrived at a nice warm tent and then had an amazing sleep before our tiger safari at 7am. The food here is really good, with lots of fruit and salads, which is something I miss when traveling in India. Even though it is a wee bit expensive (the tents especially, the rooms inside seem to be better value), we ended up staying another night because we loved it so much. Oh....and we were lucky enough to see a tiger!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runnergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I've traveled to 23 countries now, and I think Khem Villas might be my favourite of all of the places I've ever stayed. I could go on for a long time about how great this place was, but I'll try to just get some of the main points out.

Usha and her crew are fantastic hosts, and we quickly became friends with her and some of her staff. They also have a lady who visits from Tiger Watch, who can talk to you about their efforts to save the tigers. If you hook up with those people, they can show you some interesting things. I am not a sentimental person, but I felt really sad to be leaving Khem.

They are safari specialists, and the entire operation, for example the meal times, is set-up around safaris. This was not the case at one other place we stayed at. Also, they provide blankets and hot water bottles for the cold morning safaris. Another place we stayed at did not. This might not sound special, but how about this? They even took care of people who were not staying with them. When a truck loaded with people came to Khem to pick up the last passengers, the staff noticed that some of the other hotels' guests did not have blankets. They immediately brought some for them, and collected them back at the end of the drive. Khem really seems to care.

They have an excellent location, too. Khem guests are often the last to be picked up and the first to be dropped off from safaris. That means more sleep, less time driving around in the cold morning to pick up other guests, and more time off between morning and afternoon safaris.

The rooms are excellent, especially the cottages. The private outdoor bathtubs are very luxurious and romantic.

I rarely visit a country twice, but Khem is the kind of place that makes me want to return to a place. My highest recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Khem Villas was the highlight of my stay in India. The accommodations, staff, scenery and food were outstanding. While I wasn't lucky enough to spot a tiger, the other wildlife and beautiful fort still made for a wonderful experience. This is an exceptional spot at an affordable price and well worth visiting!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Khem Villas is a wonderful and unique place to stay, while travelling in India.
We were picked up from the railway station and were presented with hot towels and fresh juice on our arrival. We were then shown around by Usha.

We stayed in the luxury tents (tent 1) which was just beautiful, hard wood floors, beautiful furniture and fabrics internally. The bathroom is beautiful and the shower is just fantastic.

We had lunch in the restaurant, organic, locally produce food is served fusion for lunch and indian food for dinner. I can honestly say that our lunch was one of the most delicious meals I have had for a long time.

The grounds of Khen Villas are beautifully landscaped with a lovely sitting area around a small lake, an ideal spot to bird watch. The tents and cottages are situated within lots of trees and planting ensuring privay for all the guests. There are short walks through the grounds and also longer walks with guides.

The staff are wonderful and attentive, giving us blankets and a hotwater bottle for the morning safaris. Usha and the others are incredible knowledgeable about the National Park and all the birds and animals.

In the evening they lit bonfires beside the lake and all the guests come together and discuss their safaris and tell stories about their tiger spotting successes (or not). It's a wonderful experience sitting around the fire with a Gin & Tonic enjoying tiger tales and the delicous canapes which are served before dinner.

We had a truely wonderful time at Khem Villas, we would certainly go back (though his time we would stay longer) and yes we were incredibly lucky and saw a tiger.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HighlandgirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend in early December and we agreed it was the highlight of our 3 week journey around India. We stayed in tent 8 looking out over the park itself and it was one of the more unique rooms/ accomodations we have ever come accross. The tents are like old safari tents with the mahogany floors and beautiful bathrooms, and our front porch was a spectacular place for morning/ afternoon tea looking out into the mountains of the park. The spa was beautiful and unique and the food (which is included with the price of the hotel) was some of the best we had anywhere in india. Breakfast is served continental style, and they are happy to make you additional hot dishes upon request- we frequently ate eggs with breakfast. Lunch is sit down and was a mix of european and indian style cuisine, and dinner was indian cuisine with a diverse group of spicy and non-spicy vegetarian food served buffet style. There are evening cocktails every night, which are served starting around 5pm around a camp fire which continues all night. The nature walks around the large property are fantastic (and included in the price), and the guides which they will supply you with to go to the fort or downtown are great. Service and personal attention to your needs are spectucular, with the two women who largely run the property keeping meticulous track of anything you request and generally attending the eveing campfire to make for great company. We stayed for three days and wished we had more time at the hotel. I can't say enough about what a wonderful experience this place was- all of the accolades the hotel has received are more than justified and even the best pictures of the property don't capture the natural beauty of the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knickerbocker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This hotel is simply amazing. They have three different accomodation options. Cottages, tents and inhouse rooms. We had an inhouse room. The room was sumptuous and due to a wonderful alcove very bright. Sitting in the alcove you can enjoy the jungle sounds while having a good cup of indian chai. The food is excellent (vegetarian) but with a good variaty. The hotel also has a wonderful Spa in which you can heavenly relax while getting an Ayurveda massage. Khem Villas is amazing, the staff are perfectly attentive and they also manage to add all the little things that make such a big difference. If I ever go back to Ranthambore, then I'll never want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKartheuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sawai Madhopur hotels
0.0 mi away
Sher Bagh
Sher Bagh
#2 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
280 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
Nahargarh Ranthambhore
#4 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
634 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Sawai Madhopur Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Anuraga Palace - A Treehouse Palace Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sultan Bagh Resort
Sultan Bagh Resort
#6 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Juna Mahal
Hotel Juna Mahal
#10 of 25 in Sawai Madhopur
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khem Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Villas

Property: Khem Villas
Address: VPO Sherpur Khiljipur, Sawai Madhopur 322001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Sawai Madhopur District > Sawai Madhopur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sawai Madhopur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khem Villas is a small wilderness camp located on the edge of Ranthambhore National Park created on 25 Acres of reclaimed barren land that offers small lakes, open grassland and thick forest areas. All of which combines to offer an unparalleled wilderness experience that is tranquil with nature trails and sit outs from where visitors can view a wide variety of birds and animals. The camp is run by Dr. Goverdhan and Usha Rathore. Goverdhan is the son of Fateh who is India's leading Tiger experts and he himself is an internationally acclaimed environmental activist providing health care, education, alternate energy projects to the local community. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khem Villas Hotel Sawai Madhopur
Khem Villas India/Sawai Madhopur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing