We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Pratap Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pratap Bhawan
Ranked #28 of 257 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Udaipur, a city of lakes and if you really want to enjoy Udaipur stay very near to lake. We choose to stay with Pratap Bhawan which is located on Lal Ghat walking distance from main attractions like Lake Pichola, City Palace, Jagdish Temple, Bagore ki Haveli and shopping.
When you stay here you don’t find need to go anywhere else. When you are on holiday you require few basics i.e. Clean rooms, peaceful environment and greeting & helpful staff. Pratap bhavan has accomplished all my needs. Shaktiji’s hospitality is different from other hotel owners. He ensures that you must visit Udaipur (by helping you for tickets, if you don’t have one), giving you choice of rooms and comfortable stay throughout your visit. My son became good friend with him as he ensured that he feels comfortable.
Their staff is basic however knows how to please guests with their humble smile. Krishna, Praveen, Dharam and their cook are amazing people looking after all your needs. Their rooftap breakfast area has wonderful lake pichola view. I suggested them to have full-fledged dinner restaurant there so as you don’t need to go anywhere but enjoy within property. In Lal Ghat you have to climb lot of stairs to reach your room or restaurant. But the great hospitality of the staff makes you go with ease on your holiday.
I truly recommend Indians or foreigners this hotel for their cleanliness, hospitality and location.

Room Tip: Their all rooms are good. Taken middle floor room to help going down or up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniasingh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    53
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
65
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Pratap Bhawan is a nice comfortable budget hotel located near all major attractions in Udaipur. The staff is very friendly and eager to tender to all your needs, they arranged a heater and a cab for me for my trip to kumbhalgarh/ranakpur. The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable , although the rooms are smaller than what they look like in the pictures.I had booked the lake view room but there wasn't much of a view , that was the only disappointing part. They serve you breakfast on the terrace which has got great views of the lake and the palace , the breakfast options were good and the bill wasn't much. I stayed at this place for 2 days and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Udaipur.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibn-e-battuta1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel in November 2013 in room nr. 109 I think, the views were really beautiful, especially from the rooftop restaurant and it is really close to the lake and place where the boats leave and also close to the City Palace.
The staff was really nice and helpful.
We left there our postcards, the manager would post them..but 4 weeks later we are still waiting for them to arrive ..:s

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guest23022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

The location of this comfortable and characterful guest house could not be better. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a great view of the lake and palace from the rooftop terrace. We stayed for two nights and recommend it!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFox53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I visited Udaipur from Toronto with my dad for two days, I stayed in Udaigarh Resort and Pratap Bhawan which are close by and run by the same owner., Each hotel had an absolute amazing customer service with great food. I got sick in Udaipur but they helped me arranged for a doctor and took care of me, I booked this hotel for only one day but needed to stay for another day, There was no availability but they still manged to get us a room. I would highly recommend this hotel as its right in the middle of all major attractions and is very reasonable. You can ask them for anything and they made it available and guided us. I had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Nothing was too much for the staff, to the extent that they kept an eye on a sick member of our party and kept him supplied with whatever he needed. there is plenty of hot water as long as you remember to turn it on. The friendliness of the staff goes right to the top. All in all I would stay here again and be assured of a warm welcome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel in February 2012 for a few days. When I telephoned this September to book four nights with my husband I gave my name and the owner, Shakti, immediately said 'room 6 second floor' What a memory. As far as I can see all the rooms are good. Since I stayed there last year they have put nearly all new furniture in the rooms - it was fine before. I also mentioned that they had painted and they said they do it every year. Breakfast is served on the roof with beautiful views of the lake etc. The breakfast is really good. They no longer serve dinner on the roof but there are loads of restaurants in the area. The owner/manager and staff are helpful and arranged a trip for us and also got a tuc tuc for us very early in the morning as we had to catch a train at 6am. I would certainly recommend this hotel. It's a short walk from the City Palace and just behind the Jagdish Temple which is worth a visit. It's good. The owner has now bought another hotel too called Udai Garh which is nearby and was the location for part of the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel film. See other review.

I'd go again.

Room Tip: I've seen lots of the rooms and they all seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#102 of 156 in Udaipur
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Krishna Niwas
Hotel Krishna Niwas
#63 of 156 in Udaipur
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jheel Guest House
Jheel Guest House
#44 of 257 in Udaipur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pratap Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratap Bhawan

Property: Pratap Bhawan
Address: 12 Lal Ghat | Near Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pratap Bhawan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pratap Bhawan was designed by the architecture of Havelis, structures typical of Rajasthan. In the lobby, The marble staircase leading to The 13delux rooms with air-condition and Television.We have roof top Restaurant, giving the occupants a beautiful and enchanting 360 degrees view on the lake and the old town nearby. This hotel with family atmosphere is located in "Lal Ghat" (center of the old city of Udaipur), 5 minutes walk from Lake Pichola, the jagdeesh Temple, City Palace as well as many shops that line the maze of streets connecting the various points of interest and lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pratap Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pratap Bhawan Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing