We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food - fabulous rooms”
Review of Hotel Udai Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Udai Niwas
Ranked #94 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food - fabulous rooms”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stumbled upon this place when looking for somewhere nice to eat and was thoroughly impressed. I ate some of the best food I ate in my entire month in India. The staff were absolutely amazing - very friendly and very helpful. Although I was already staying in another hotel, I asked to see the rooms and was very impressed. They were very large, spacious, well decorated and extremely cheap. Had I not have already paid for my other hotel, I would have moved here in a second.
I went back a second night to spend the evening there as I so impressed the first night!
The hotel is located right in the heart of where you want to be as a tourist in Udaipur.
This hotel is a little star!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DavieP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    82
    35
    14
    15
See reviews for
38
86
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We arrived early morning to check in - it was no problem. The staff of the hotel was very friendly, remembered everything and were super kind! The rooms are ok and the rooftop is just amazing... it makes you to want to stay here forever!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ClaudiOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was one of my favorite hotels during my weeks-long trip in India. When the taxi driver pulled up, I didn't think much of the narrow little hotel on the side of the temple on a tiny uphill street. But it turned out to be relaxing and the staff were great, especially Mukesh! We got a double room and added an extra bed; the room was more than big enough for another mattress -- we could have added 3 more beds and had enough room left for cartwheels. We were expecting sparse amenities since the price was so low, but our room even had a vanity with a mirror, and bench seats, and a balcony (not to mention a window that looked down onto the rooftop shower of a nearby home). The bed linens were clean and didn't make us feel like we were sleeping on dust mites, although our sleep was interrupted by call to prayers and other temple-related noises since the temple is literally across the street.
The laundry was inexpensive but fast. We had breakfast every morning at the rooftop restaurant with the great view, and the staff there were also super nice and the food was good. When it came time to leave, the front desk was very helpful getting a taxi to the airport for us. Overall, a great value for the money and experience - and I'd surely come back next time I'm in Udaipur if I hadnt sworn that I'd stay at the Lake Palace if I do return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here - the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and we loved the rooftop restaurant for breakfast before we headed out for the day. (We also had dinner here a couple of nights which is handy if you arrive in late like we did, and they also show movies). Our room was reasonably quiet for the middle of the city and was brightly decorated (we particularly enjoyed the mirrored swans). The power shower was great and the first properly hot one we have had in India. It runs on solar power, so is still warm when the power cuts out. We would recommend the almond chocolate tart at Cafe Edelweiss which is just down the road. The hotel is really central so great for getting to all the main sights too. Udaipur is a beautiful city - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alex_isWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Hey everybody i m from Kuwait ( middle-east ),i came to India this year 2011,after searching many hotels i checked into hotel udai niwas,i have traveled to many parts in India and this was my best experience,excellent food ,excellent rooftop view,very very friendly staff very helping nature,the owner ( MUNNA ) was such a great host ,plus it was the best value for money overall,rooms where so neat and clean with vibrant colors and quality was very very good ,bathroom was neat and clean and big bathrooms very spacious with balcony ,i just love this hotel will come back for sure and i will recommend everyone this hotel.
best part is this hotel has such a great positive energy very very good experience with very good WIFI facility ;) . and good tour arrangements and every evening movie on a big screen projector.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gotoarif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We have been traveling in India for two weeks now and this hotel is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. Well presented, sparkling clean rooms that are oozing with character. The views from the rooftop restaraunt are spectacular day and night. The staff are so friendly they would actually bend over backwards if you asked them to. An amazing hotel a stones throw away from the amazing city palace. Thanks for our best time in India so far.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank margaret_mcaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great view from rooftop restaurant, with friendly service. Their best room is called peacook room which has splendid views (sort of penthouse but for the rest it's still a simple room).

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maartendj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#30 of 161 in Udaipur
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 161 in Udaipur
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 161 in Udaipur
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#48 of 161 in Udaipur
186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Padmini Palace
Hotel Padmini Palace
#41 of 161 in Udaipur
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Niwas

Property: Hotel Udai Niwas
Address: 84 Gangaur Ghat Marg | Near Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Udai Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 30 Dear Guests,Hotel Udai Niwas welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Hotel Udainiwas is a 30 Room with attached bathrooms family-run small hotel.The hotel is 5 storied and has a Highest Roof-top Restaurant in udaipur on the top floor. It is accessible both by Elevator & stairs.Hotel Udai Niwas is an aesthetically designed heritage property displaying a true traditional ambience. It is an excellent combination of comfort, convenience, entertainment and style. The accommodation is ornamented with soft furnishings and decor and offers a comfortable and pleasing stay. The stylish roof top restaurant in its cool atmosphere serves a palatable range of delicious food and sets the mood for a romantic dinner for couples. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises.Except Standard room category all rooms are equipped with Air-condition, Television and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Gangaur Ghat' very near to world famous Pichola lake. Location Hotel Udai Niwas is conveniently placed at a renowned area of Gangaur Marg. Some of nearest visiting places are Lake Pichola (100 mtrs), Fateh Sagar Lake (2.9 km), Jag Mandir (2 km), Monsoon palace (8 km), Jagdish Temple (100 m), Saheliyon ki bari (2.9 km),City Palace Government Museum (550 m) and Gulab Bagh and Zoo (2 km).Maharana Pratap Airport - 24.7 Km (Approx.) Railway Station - 3 km (Approx.) State Transport Bus Stand - 2.6 km (Approx.) Facilities Hotel Udai Niwas offers productive list of facilities that includes roof top restaurant, elevator, sightseeing tours, taxi services and money exchanging facility. The roof top restaurant is the ideal place to have a perfect dining experience. It serves its guests with an ample assortment of scrumptious delicacies. A well-established travel desk arranges tours to Rajasthan and India for the clients. It provides efficient taxi services to them. Other additional services include folk dance, laundry service, internet with Wi-Fi and doctor on call. Rooms Hotel Udai Niwas houses 30 rooms in Six impressive categories of Standard Room, Standard AC Room, Deluxe Room, Super Deluxe Room , Super Deluxe Room with Balcony and Super Deluxe Family Room. All the rooms are nicely done up and appointed with air conditioner, ceiling fan, color television,chairs and table with attached bathroom. THE HOTEL SERVES THE HIGHEST ROOFTOP RESTAURANT IN THE CITY. Our Attractive Rooftop Terrace Offers The Spectacular Panoramic View Through 360 Degree.Upon The Terrace You Will Discover The Perfect Spot To Relax Away From The Noise Of The City Streets.With The Restaurant Close-At-Hand To Supply You With Drinks, Snacks Or Meals, And Musical Entertainment In The Evening With The Folk Dances And Music Of Mewar, You Need No Other Reason TO Laze Away Your Day Here. The Elegant Rooftop Restaurant With Its Cool Atmosphere, Makes A Perfect Retreat From The Midday Heat. Dine In The Evening In A Romantic Ambience;Muted Lighting, Gentle Music,Twinkling Lights Of The City And Beyond Won't Fail To Enchant You. We Offer A High Standard of Cuisine From A Comprehensive Menu. The elegant" Sun-n-Moon" rooftop restaurant provides a wide range of delicious food and an views of Lake Pichola, the Lake Palace,Jagmandir island, Aravali Mountains & you can enjoy the complete Udaipur city (A City of Lake) 360 degree view.We offers a serene refuge of comfort and hospitality where Indian tradition and modern services are blended. The has now become one of the landmarks of the city with its highly professional and delightful services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Udai Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing