We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay”
Review of Hotel Udai Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Udai Niwas
Ranked #102 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I visited Udaipur with sister and friends. After short looking we found this hotel.
They showed us many rooms, and we picked 3 for a really reasonable price. The cleanliness way better than anywhere I visited in India. The service perfect, the waiters treated us well, the food was excellent. The best spot is clearly the rooftop. You can see the whole city. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zspetras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    82
    35
    14
    15
See reviews for
38
86
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having turned up late at night the staff were really helpful in giving us rooms and getting us settled in. the view is no doubt the best part of this hotel. food was brilliant and staff were great. Location is unbeatable. i'd recommend this to anyone traveling in udaipur.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B1nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The owner BABA is very nice.
Rooms are pretty but it's a bit noisy.
The view from the rooftop is simply great.
Good location.
Personnel is very friendly.
The WC are the only black spot on the record..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The best reason to stay at the Udai Niwas is for the rooftop restaurant on its roof (Sun & Moon Restaurant). The hotel itself is clean, bright, well looked after. They have some large rooms with small balconies higher. We stayed there, they were pretty good value for the room size. The hotel, as with most places, is negotiable on price, so ask to look at a couple of different rooms then agree a good price. Staff were friendly and helpful and they have free Internet.

Room Tip: Splash out a bit and get one of the higher up larger rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

During my visit, the hotel is kinda on the renovation phase as they are renovating the reception area by the road, still there still an entrance by the side of a narrow road.
the staff are so friendly and so helpful, they really know how to treat a guest and give you your privacy, the room is so nice. even WiFi reached up to my room.
the hotel's roof top restaurant's food is so good, they even have a good view of the lake palace, city palace, and the surrounding areas.
i'm planning to go back to India and Udaipur in the next 2 years. and definitely stay in this hotel. and i wish they are still the same nice people running the hotel when i return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We booked a standard room, and got our room on the second floor. Even though they were under significant renovations, the hotel was spotlessly clean, well lit, and welcoming. Our room was a fantastic bargain for the price - well decorated, again, spotlessly clean - white linens, comfy beds, gushing hot water, plenty of space for the two of us to store our things for 4 days. We asked for extra bed sheets for the cold weather and they happily provided it.

The hotel is centrally located to all the best parts of Udaipur with everything - Lake Palace, City Palace and everything in between within walking distance. We rarely needed a rickshaw to go anywhere. Most of the restaurants recommend in Lonely Planet are within 10 minutes walking or less.

Always amazing, they have Free Wifi - which is a good connection 90% of the time.

The restaurant on the top level is nice and spacious, but not too busy - so you will often have time for a nice quiet cup of chai. The food is quite good - the butter chicken in particular was fantastic - and very good value at only 200 INR. The best part though, is the extended rooftop, which gives the highest viewing platform of any hotel in the old city - with a 360 sweeping view of the magnificent Udaipur - including wonderful sunrise and sunset views - and of course the Lake Palace.

The staff go out of their way to make you happy - they also exchanging money at a great rate, affordable laundry service, booking train/bus tickets.

Some things to keep in mind: Although it didn't affect us, the hotel has a lot of stairs and no elevator - so patrons with knee problems or needing assistance climbing might want to look elsewhere.

While it is no fault of the hotel, the Jagdish temple across the street has absolutely blaring prayertimes - played over loud speaker - and the sound just pierces the rooms. The first prayer is at 5:30AM - and it is very, very loud. Almost like having singers, dancers, a million bells and horns in your room. Ask for a room away from the temple to avoid this disturbance. Despite this - we still recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing away from the temple Standard rooms are a bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AspiringVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

the best hotel ihv ever seen...wht a view..perfect hotel...ill go there again..staff was pleasent.everythng was perfect for me...whta a dinner.i just luv this hotel..i suggest evryonw to go there and see the location....we can see the whole udaipur from the top terrace...

Room Tip: terrace superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suhanisharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 156 in Udaipur
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thamla Haveli
Hotel Thamla Haveli
#68 of 156 in Udaipur
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 156 in Udaipur
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anjani Hotel
Anjani Hotel
#64 of 156 in Udaipur
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Niwas

Property: Hotel Udai Niwas
Address: 84 Gangaur Ghat Marg | Near Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Udai Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 30 Dear Guests,Hotel Udai Niwas welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Hotel Udainiwas is a 30 Room with attached bathrooms family-run small hotel.The hotel is 5 storied and has a Highest Roof-top Restaurant in udaipur on the top floor. It is accessible both by Elevator & stairs.Hotel Udai Niwas is an aesthetically designed heritage property displaying a true traditional ambience. It is an excellent combination of comfort, convenience, entertainment and style. The accommodation is ornamented with soft furnishings and decor and offers a comfortable and pleasing stay. The stylish roof top restaurant in its cool atmosphere serves a palatable range of delicious food and sets the mood for a romantic dinner for couples. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises.Except Standard room category all rooms are equipped with Air-condition, Television and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Gangaur Ghat' very near to world famous Pichola lake. Location Hotel Udai Niwas is conveniently placed at a renowned area of Gangaur Marg. Some of nearest visiting places are Lake Pichola (100 mtrs), Fateh Sagar Lake (2.9 km), Jag Mandir (2 km), Monsoon palace (8 km), Jagdish Temple (100 m), Saheliyon ki bari (2.9 km),City Palace Government Museum (550 m) and Gulab Bagh and Zoo (2 km).Maharana Pratap Airport - 24.7 Km (Approx.) Railway Station - 3 km (Approx.) State Transport Bus Stand - 2.6 km (Approx.) Facilities Hotel Udai Niwas offers productive list of facilities that includes roof top restaurant, elevator, sightseeing tours, taxi services and money exchanging facility. The roof top restaurant is the ideal place to have a perfect dining experience. It serves its guests with an ample assortment of scrumptious delicacies. A well-established travel desk arranges tours to Rajasthan and India for the clients. It provides efficient taxi services to them. Other additional services include folk dance, laundry service, internet with Wi-Fi and doctor on call. Rooms Hotel Udai Niwas houses 30 rooms in Six impressive categories of Standard Room, Standard AC Room, Deluxe Room, Super Deluxe Room , Super Deluxe Room with Balcony and Super Deluxe Family Room. All the rooms are nicely done up and appointed with air conditioner, ceiling fan, color television,chairs and table with attached bathroom. THE HOTEL SERVES THE HIGHEST ROOFTOP RESTAURANT IN THE CITY. Our Attractive Rooftop Terrace Offers The Spectacular Panoramic View Through 360 Degree.Upon The Terrace You Will Discover The Perfect Spot To Relax Away From The Noise Of The City Streets.With The Restaurant Close-At-Hand To Supply You With Drinks, Snacks Or Meals, And Musical Entertainment In The Evening With The Folk Dances And Music Of Mewar, You Need No Other Reason TO Laze Away Your Day Here. The Elegant Rooftop Restaurant With Its Cool Atmosphere, Makes A Perfect Retreat From The Midday Heat. Dine In The Evening In A Romantic Ambience;Muted Lighting, Gentle Music,Twinkling Lights Of The City And Beyond Won't Fail To Enchant You. We Offer A High Standard of Cuisine From A Comprehensive Menu. The elegant" Sun-n-Moon" rooftop restaurant provides a wide range of delicious food and an views of Lake Pichola, the Lake Palace,Jagmandir island, Aravali Mountains & you can enjoy the complete Udaipur city (A City of Lake) 360 degree view.We offers a serene refuge of comfort and hospitality where Indian tradition and modern services are blended. The has now become one of the landmarks of the city with its highly professional and delightful services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Udai Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Niwas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing