We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A run down property that is poorly managed”
Review of Kajri Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kajri Hotel
Ranked #115 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We chose the hotel as we were to only spend one night and were looking for a safe stop over for parking our vehicle in the night. The hotel is totally run down and though is pretty economically priced it maintains its typical Govt Run (down) image that invariably gets tagged to such establshments. Whilst it has a fair number of rooms and is very well located, its management or rather lack of management does NOT govern a repeat visit. Please give it a Go By.

Room Tip: maybe a good choice for back packers as is relatively a safer bet than the privately run / similar p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

This is a Govt property, but still the staff is very cooperative. The front office persons were always willing to settle any issues with service, provide travel assistance and guidance. For those waiting for a check in, there is a spacious lounge with toilet. The food served by their restaurant is average, but fresh and cheap as compared to other hotels. The hotel arranges sight seeing and trips through private operators at very competitive rates. We arranged for a taxi through hotel and got it at reasonable price and a new vehicle too. The location is convenient i.e. bang at Shastri Circle. Its easy to get autorickshaws and taxis here. There is a small market to take care of any other requirements. None of the major attractions is more than 3-4 km. away. We stayed in AC room which had a private balcony and large toilet. As it was winter, heater was provided. The rooms and toilets could be more clean, but the bed and linen were very very clean. The hotel seems to be a bit old and this shows on the furniture and fittings. The rooms are not having much decorations or fixtures and could be called bare.
One thing more, the hotel looks to be a unimpressive place by its facade and looks more like a residential house. However, this is a mistake committed by its designer and the hotel is not so unimpressive from the inside. One of the other flip sides is that the lift is not functional. I would recommend it for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivek_jain_gwalior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The hotel is pretty conveniently located. Rooms were good (I'd taken an AC room) but the toilet needs to be more clean, not that it is dirty, but should have a better maintenance. Planning a local sight seeing trip through the hotel should be avoided unless you want a car/bus trip. Local autos cater to sight seeing @ Rs. 500, for an entire day. While talking to the autos, inform them that the parking charges should be inclusive of the total fare. You will have ample time to look around. Also, dining at Hotel Kajri is pretty odd, they have arranged it in such a way that one has to take a thali in the dining room which is priced at Rs. 150 per plate. Try room service instead or go to Chetak Circle (very near to Shastri Circle, location of this hotel). Bawarchi restaurant is quite good. If you have a train to catch in the night, after 10 PM, then either reach the station by 9 PM or hire a private cab through the Hotel. Please note that auto services are not at all available in Udaipur after 10 PM. You will not find a single of them on road after 10 PM. Even I'd finalised one (my train was at 00:30 hrs) to pick me up at 10:45 PM, but it never turned up. The hotel service guys are good & helpful. There is a small handicraft store within the hotel with reasonably priced items.
Food quality is good and the breakfast arrangement is adequate, not sumptuous but good to eat & digest.
Overall a good experience. I'd given an average rating because my choice would have been a 'good' rating but not a 'very good' rating, but Trip Advisor has not given this option.

Room Tip: In any government hotel, always opt for an AC room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sagnik_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Udaipur is perfect when covered by foot. For that purpose, Hotel Kajri is perfectly located at Shastri Circle. I'd leave in the morning & walk my way around the place or get into any of the shared autos or even the pvt. autos. All of them are readily accessible.
The rooms are bare. Even the A/C rooms were spare. The bathrooms are good with hot water facility. If you are traveling solo or on a shoestring budget, this will feel extremely comfortable. The service is not bad. Breakfast is included but nothing tasty or desirable although palatable. I would recommend having breakfast outside.
The rooms on the ground floor near the check-in counter can get noisy as the bell keeps ringing. But otherwise, the place is definitely worth the price.
Clearly not for a honeymoon stay! It is very safe for a family.

Room Tip: If you are with a family choose the A/C room. Pick rooms away from the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnandKrish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Nice location, peaceful, safe and spacious rooms, not fancy but clean enough. service not great, but you can call and what you need will happen. The morning lobby person seemed shady, had no intention of helping, seemed to have an agenda to make commisions on setting up trips. He seemed to be sneaky and never straightforward. Other than this individual rest of the stay was good.

The breakfast was not fantastic but good enough. You have the Shastri sweet stores near by, they had great sweets. The Bawarchi restaurant is a 10 minute walk but the food there is awesome. They have a real great thali for 90 bucks, really value for money.

ATM's are nearby. The Auto stand is right beneath the hotel.

RTDC arranges trips for you, According to one driver we came accross during the trip, he said that you could get better rates if you go directly, couldnt verify this though.

Room Tip: if you are travelling during aug/sep you really dont need the AC rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ettumurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

good and clean property in city centre, room are big but need to upgrade , food is not up to the mark . overall good experience , i travelled with my family by road good thing is that it has its own safe parking ,

Room Tip: room are big enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varunvishwakarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Rooms are spacious and clean but certainly not pleasant. The furniture is very old..but certainly not antic. If you are used to saying in private hotels please go for private hotel instead of RTDC.

Room service ok. The room rent includes breakfast for the next morning. Breakfast tastes good but do not expect fancy items. If you like food when hot you may not get it. Be first to get the breakfast ...if you like hot.

The reality is the staff in the canteen is corrupt. Why I say this because the drinking water they provided me was horrible it smelled pungent. Therefore I bought a 1L bottle of Aqua-Fena (MRP Rs 15) for Rs 24 and believe me I has a bill for this. It says Rate Rs 20 instead of MRP Rs 15 plus 15% tax Rs 3 and serv tax 3.09% Rs 0.62 Total Rs 24 instead of 15. When asked for clarifications they say these are government rates. Unbelievable but true.

Do not pay bills for room service to the serving waiter.. he will insist but don't. He will not have required change for you. Ask him to add to the room number.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Praveen_Gur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Padmini Palace
Hotel Padmini Palace
#46 of 165 in Udaipur
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayal Hotel
Dayal Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#94 of 165 in Udaipur
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
793 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 165 in Udaipur
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashish Palace
Hotel Ashish Palace
#118 of 165 in Udaipur
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kajri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kajri Hotel

Address: Shastri Circle, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing