We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to See and Experience Udaipur”
Review of Raj Niwas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raj Niwas Hotel
Ranked #55 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place to See and Experience Udaipur”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This small hotel had beautifully furnished and maintained rooms, with an extraordinary view of the lake and its sunsets. We spent five nights in the Maharajah Suite, which gave us a large balcony, which we enjoyed immeasurably. The caretaker, Jassu, provided the best service we ever have received at a hotel, including those costing six times a much. He understood our needs, in terms of food, arrangements, and local travel, and he met every need with warmth, exceptional competence, and pride in the hotel for which he worked. The locale is ideal; the rooms are magnificent; the service is perfect. The best!

Room Tip: The Maharajah Suite is something quite special (3rd floor), and the photos on the hotel's websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
62
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shillong, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked the Maharaja Suite after doing lot of research on TripAdvisor, and we surely are happy with the results.

The suite is three floors above ground level, and there is no elevator. Thus one needs to climb up the steps to the suite. But once inside, one would surely forget any inconvenience caused due to the lack of the elevator. The room is exquisitely designed and furnished with a big king size bed, two easy chairs, a center table, a small refrigerator, a small tv, and a sitting arrangement against the Jharoka. But the icing on this cake is the private balcony overlooking the Pichola lake. One can sit there and spend hours lazing around, with a nice view of the lake palace. I felt that it is one of the best place to stay at Lal Ghat at that cost.

While Maharaja suite allows you lake view even from the bed and the sofas apart from the private balcony, the other two rooms does not have lake view, but the are still very good rooms with nice decorations. Overall, this place is very clean.

The Lal Ghat boating counter is just next to this place, so one does not need to go far for boating. Take the sunset boating trip, which starts around 5:15 in the evening - at the same cost one can have a longer duration for this trip.

City Palace, another prime attraction, is also within walking distance, so is the Bagore Ki Haveli. Both these places have evening shows, and thus good to stay near these.

The all in one person, Jaswant aka Jassu, does everything to take care of the guests. He would take care of moving the luggage, do the cleaning, help you out with directions, serve the breakfast, and manage the bills. The breakfast we had was simple - bread, butter, jam, eggs, fruits, fruit juices, tea and coffee. We were happy with the same, though Jassu had told us that he can also arrange for parathas, and other things with a serving time of about 30 minutes. He is a wonderful helpful guy.

Apart from breakfast, this place does not serve you anything, but there are restaurants nearby - Rainbow restaurant is just adjacent. Thus, one should not have any problem with the food.

I had also visited Hanuman Ghat on the other side of Lake Pichola, but I found the Lal Ghat near Raj Niwas much cleaner. Thus, while there are hotels in Hanuman Ghat too with lake views, but I believe that I made a good decision in staying where I did.

Room Tip: Take the Maharaja Suite, book early for the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basav_Roychoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here in the last week of Decemeber and it was just perfect. The place was right on lal ghat and had beautiful views of lake pichola. The rooms were spacious and bathrooms were exceptionally good. We stayed in the Maharani suite but wd definitely recommend the maharaja suite as it has a terrace with stunning views. The maharani suite does not have the view of the lake. The place is very well kept and clean. The care taker Jassu- cook, porter, cleaner all rolled into one was very helpful and also arranged for our dinner reservations. All in all a lovely stay and wd definitely come back again!

Room Tip: Go for the Maharaja Suite for stunning views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Vitusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in dec-12. The moment we entered the room we were amazed to see the impeccable condition of the room. Very classy yet so very traditional & amazingly maintained thanks largely to its care taker Jassu, a one man army. It is located in one of the best localities in Udapiur, Lalghat. Dont expect food to be delivered to your room but then what you can definately expect is a one of a kind memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paragks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This beautiful, atmospheric hotel on the banks of Lake Pichola in the old City of Udaipur has only 3 rooms, one per floor. We stayed here for 2 nighst in December 2012 as part of a trip through Rajastan. The airport pick-up was waiting when we arrived, took us directly to the hotel and we were able to check in even though it was around 9am...The young resident manager, Jazzu was helpful and accomodating. We booked the Maharanja Suite on the 3rd floor (4th floor by American standards). If stairs are an issue, this hotel has no elevator but Jazzu will gladly help carry your bags upstairs. Our room was large, with a king sized bed, sitting area and large balcony that looked out directly on Lake Pichola and the Lake Palace Hotel. The City Palace and Jain Temple are both within easy walking distance, as are numerous restaurants. The view from our balcony (and the rooftop breakfast area) was beautiful during the day and absolutely magical at night! A highlight of our trip was a tuk-tuk ride suggested by Jazzu...the best decision we made! Our driver was "Zakir" (cell # 98 29 78 61 03, email: zakir_jeack@yahoo.com) who took us all around Udaipur, showing us numerous sites that are not in the guide books...his restaurant and shopping guide was spot on! Never pushy, always friendly and accomodating, Zakir helped make our trip more enjoyable! We thououghly enjoyed our stay at the Raj Niwas Hotel in Udaipur and our "guide", Zakir!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

First thing is first... It is not a hotel ... it is a guest house. It is a three room property with the Maharaja Suite, Maharani Suite and a Luxury Suite. The property is managed by only one guy Jassu/Jaswant. The guy has a habit of stepping on your feet with his rules and regulations. So while we stayed in the Maharaji Suite with a balcony and view of the lake, Jassu's rules did not permit even tea/coffee on the balcony. There is no room service. Even the breakfast in the morning (included in the package) is a sordid affair of choices of eggs or plain cornflakes. It was only after we insisted that we are vegetarians that Jassu did us a 'favor' and arranged paranthas from a nearby hotel.

He has a self confessed preference for foreigners only, which he mentioned the first moment we stepped into the room. He also informed us that the rooms were last painted 7 years ago and that guests should ensure that everything remains clean and tidy.

We paid Rs.4600/night (taxes included) for this place which a GRAND rip off that Agoda.com has played on us. Agoda people it seems have never visited this GUESTHOUSE and continue to list it as a hotel. There are some reviews I have read that mention that the hotel has a good view of lake pichola... well my dear friends there are hundreds of hotels in Udaipur that have a great view of Pichola, so it is nothing unique. If you really want a good view of pichola, try Ras Leela which is bang on the Pichola lake or try Jagat Niwas or Lake Pichola hotel itself.These are actual hotels and not a guest house like Raj Niwas.

Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Only the Maharaja Suite, which is on the 3rd floor and without a lift, has a large balcony with a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KK_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is truely an amazing hotel. Everything was almost perfect about it. It was located right on lake pichola with a great view and within walking distance to all main tourist attractions. We had the 3rd floor room which had our own personal balcony. The hotel was impeccably clean and the manager, a young boy from a local village was the most pleasant and friendly person you could meet. He was a real genuine person in a city were tourists are seen as pound notes. The best part was the rooms were reasonably priced.

The hotel also had plugs fitted which mean no need for a travel adapter. If your staying in the top floor a little hint would be to go to the hotel opposite (can't recall it's name) and get the wifi code. The wifi only extends to the first floor room.

My wife and I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Devraj Niwas
Hotel Devraj Niwas
#86 of 156 in Udaipur
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Niwas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Niwas Hotel

Property: Raj Niwas Hotel
Address: 16 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raj Niwas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Raj Niwas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing