We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!”
Review of Raj Niwas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raj Niwas Hotel
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This is such an oasis in the amazing city of Udaipur!
Jassu, the manager is so friendly and super helpful and kind. Nothing was too hard for Jassu he was always available to help. Our room was so gorgeous, we loved the finishings and decor. And the rooftop had the best view! The area is beautiful and there are lors of great rooftop cafes and bars. We'd highly recommend Raj Niwas to anyone! Thanks for a great stay.... Sarah and Gen

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    31
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
63
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The King Suite has an excellent balcony view of the Pichhola Lake. The Suite is huge and is worth the amount paid for booking the suite. The Interiors are well designed and as mentioned earlier the icing on the cake is the balcony view. The Taj and Palace view from the balcony in evening time is worth the watch. There is only one caretaker for the property and hence don't expect to have a service fit for the king. There is no breakfast spread and you will have to live by what you get. Dinner / Lunch is to be taken outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel (Suite Room) if you want to spend a whole day in hotel being lazy and don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayakNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Abu
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Raj Niwas for 3 nights. Beautiful rooms great view from rooftop, good location, the manager Jassu was really friendly and did everything manager cook cleaner advisor. Only the top room had a balcony rm 301 I believe, the others had marginal views but were very good.I'd definitely stay again, only 3 rooms to the hotel, I really enjoyed Udaipur

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrogué
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just three rooms, one on top of the other. The uppermost ( Maharaja ) with a
balcony from which one sees a part of the lake. Rooms very big, spotlessly
clean, well appointed. An old style ( haveli ) building.
The whole show is run by just one young man ( not the owner ) : receptionist,
PR, cleaning, cooking breakfast ( on the terrace ), room service, et.al.
There is no dining room, but if you want to eat on the terrace, or in the room,
just tell him what you want to eat, and he´ll bring it from some nearby restaurant.
Want to eat out ?. He will tell you where, and even accompany you part of the
way himself.
Flies in the ointment ?. Just three small ones :
Rooms are not very dark at night. One of the walls has glass inserts that let
in some light from outside, until quite late.
The hotel is situated just some hundred yards from the lake, but amid a maze
of narrow, congested, noisy streets that are overlowing with small shops.
Stairs, stairs, and stairs !.
The shops are small outside, some almost a hole-in-the-wall, but ample and
well organized on the inside. Haggle hard.

Room Tip: Third floor, Maharaja room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boguslaw_krauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajay_hapi
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

a small hotel with beautifully furnished and well maintained rooms. i must say that its USP is the beautiful view of lake. staff is well mannered and well trained as they are easily able to understand the issues and the needs of any particular guest.........sadly i was not able to stay here for long as i was on a business trip but surely will come back with my family to this small but excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay_hapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

+ great hosting from Jassu - he was always happy to help with anything and make recommendations of places to visit
+ great location by the lake
+ quirky, interesting rooms with real character.
+ fantastic balcony view of the lake
- bed was pretty firm which took some getting used to
- quite pricey for off-season .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

A perfect 5/5 for the hotel for value, comfort, food, service. The lake view was awesome. Stayed for more than a week. Breakfast was simply too good and the ambiance made it special.

Only disappointment was the approach to hotel is congested and noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VKB_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 161 in Udaipur
1,361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#48 of 161 in Udaipur
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Devraj Niwas
Hotel Devraj Niwas
#84 of 161 in Udaipur
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Niwas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Niwas Hotel

Property: Raj Niwas Hotel
Address: 16 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raj Niwas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Raj Niwas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing