We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service & not worth value paid”
Review of Raj Niwas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raj Niwas Hotel
Ranked #53 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Thane, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service & not worth value paid”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Its not a hotel,its a guest house with just 3 rooms & one service boy..In case of any service required,you need to dial reception number & service boy will attend you if he is not occupied with other guests.You cannot even expect a water bottle/jar inside room.We had to check out in morning 9 am & we found that geyser was not working properly.Service boy told that he was new & not much aware of system.Other boy attended after several requests.Still problem was not resolved.Almost 1 hour got wasted.Later on I requested him to bring bucket of hot water & had bath with same.
You cannot expect breakfast other that bread omlette.although interiors are good,Quees suite doesnt have lake view.You can get much better hotel in nearby area at less price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
62
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Raj Niwas for 3 days in January and thoroughly enjoyed our experiences. The hotel is small (3 rooms) and beautifully furnished. It us at the end of a cul de sac very close to the lakeshore. The view from the roof top terrace and breakfast area over the lake and the Lake Palace and towards the City Palace is breathtaking. Jassu is a great host and ensures that everything runs smoothly. In our case he went to great lengths to ensure our stay was a memorable one. Many sights and places of interest were within walking distance making Raj Niwas a great place to stay in Udaipur.

Room Tip: All three rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Raj niwas is such a great place to stay. i had a wonderful time with my family. the view is amazing from the maharaja suite and jassu is very helpful. Also the shop keeper krishna just opposite to the hotel is very helpful and he has amazing textiles in his shop. just beware of the street boys and commission agents who tell u stupid stories that they are going to your country in next four days for some art and cultural exchanges. they just want to sell you stuff. avoid talking to them. everything else was great.

Room Tip: the top maharaja suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiegeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a lovely time at Raj Niwas..perfect place to stay in Udaipur! It was an absolute pleasant experience for our family and I would highly recommend this hotel. This is a perfect place for family time: peace of mind, tranquil & relaxation was at its best.
This hotel offers clean rooms with beautiful lake view and lovely ambience. The person I charge Jassu and the property owner Mr. Jhalla, were very helpful and made our stay memorable.

Awesome memories

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SVSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This is such an oasis in the amazing city of Udaipur!
Jassu, the manager is so friendly and super helpful and kind. Nothing was too hard for Jassu he was always available to help. Our room was so gorgeous, we loved the finishings and decor. And the rooftop had the best view! The area is beautiful and there are lors of great rooftop cafes and bars. We'd highly recommend Raj Niwas to anyone! Thanks for a great stay.... Sarah and Gen

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The King Suite has an excellent balcony view of the Pichhola Lake. The Suite is huge and is worth the amount paid for booking the suite. The Interiors are well designed and as mentioned earlier the icing on the cake is the balcony view. The Taj and Palace view from the balcony in evening time is worth the watch. There is only one caretaker for the property and hence don't expect to have a service fit for the king. There is no breakfast spread and you will have to live by what you get. Dinner / Lunch is to be taken outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel (Suite Room) if you want to spend a whole day in hotel being lazy and don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayakNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Abu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Raj Niwas for 3 nights. Beautiful rooms great view from rooftop, good location, the manager Jassu was really friendly and did everything manager cook cleaner advisor. Only the top room had a balcony rm 301 I believe, the others had marginal views but were very good.I'd definitely stay again, only 3 rooms to the hotel, I really enjoyed Udaipur

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Niwas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Niwas Hotel

Property: Raj Niwas Hotel
Address: 16 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raj Niwas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Raj Niwas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing