We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable view, average food !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jagat Niwas Palace

Jagat Niwas Palace
Ranked #39 of 729 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Jagat Niwas Palace offers two Restaurants- The Chandni & The Jharoka. While the former is a rooftop restaurant, the latter is a partially covered restaurant. For further details please check the hotel's website.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view, average food !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The most attractive feature of this restaurant is its sitting area. It has several cosy cabanas, right over the top of the lake, offering a mesmerizing view. The restaurant also has a roof top sitting area which is an amazing place for a candle light dinner. The down side is the food. The food is nothing extra-ordinary and sometimes very oily. It is edible but not the best in taste.

The service is good, but the manager is stiff and stubborn. The other waiters and staff are efficient and eager to help you out.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tirthbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    171
    60
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent two days in Udaipur - and had dinner at Jagat Niwas twice, as the first evening there had been such a wonderful experience!

The view from the rooftop terrace is just incredible - you feel as if you were floating on the lake, contemplating a scenery reminding you of an Arabian Nights painting (have one of there nice cocktails while doing that!).
Food (veg & non-veg) is excellent (and quite cheap) ! Go for the Dum Aloo Banarsi, Makhmali Kofta and Butter Chicken - and don't forget to taste their divine Gulkand Firni!

Jagat Niwas is definitely the right address for a perfect, romantic dinner!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Okay food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The view is great, but the food is expensive and the service is not that great, the staff could definitely be more helpful and polite. The food is not worth the money, especially not the breakfast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank malvika220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“To-die-for view + awesome ambiance at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was my first choice for stay but sadly did not get a reservation so only visited the rooftop restaurant for dinner. The whole hotel was so beautifully lit at night, I did not want to leave at all.

The view from the roof top restaurant is magical - the best that I came across in all restaurants I visited in Udaipur. The service was really nice too.

We ordered Tomato and French onion soup. Both were good.
For main course we ordered some Rajasthani lamb delicacy (the name evades me now) delicious but some portions felt too chewy and under-cooked. In vegetarian we ordered a baby corn and mushroom subzi which was really nice. And so were the garlic naans.

The dessert menu was ok, the over-all price was moderate as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swati-Ailawadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frightening!!! Keep away from this restaurant.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My girlfriend and myself chose this restaurant because it was recommended in our Lonely Planet 2014 guide as well as in the Routard; we thought we could not be wrong. The Place itself and the view you can enjoy from the restaurant are really beautiful but we were more than disappointed by the service, the drinks, the food and the price:
1. The service
The waiters we not friendly at all and at 10pm they told us that the service was over!

2. The drinks.
We ordered one Mojito and one mango Lassi which were simply the worst drinks we had tasted in India!!!

3. The food.
This was the worst of all; I ordered a lamb meal which was difficult to eat beacause it was very, very, very spicy (I had asked the waiter to avoid too much spices for me!); but worse, the meat was probably not very fresh (we were told that it is a common practice in India to spice the meat heavily so that the customer cannot detect that the meat is not fresh). My girlfriend and myself were sick for two days and it was just horrible; diarrhea, vomitting....:(

4. The price
It was the highest price we experienced in Udaipur (maybe this point is not very strong because we spent only 2 days in Udaipur but yet we had eaten much better for much less and we were not ill).

To summarize, even if the place itself is very beautiful, we were extremely disappointed by this restaurant. Our strong advice is to avoid this place as far as possible because being sick as we were after the food that we ate there is an experiance that we would not like anybody to experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jagat Niwas Palace also viewed

 
Udaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing