We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located & clean haveli”
Review of Poonam Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poonam Haveli
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good located & clean haveli”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We travelled to Udaipur in November 2013, booked the room on Booking.com (1800 Rps/night).

The hotel is located in Lal Ghat (touristic center of Udaipur). Close to many other hotels/guest house & restaurants.

Standard "suite" room:
Good:
- clean
- big bed

Bad:
-noisy, poor sound insulation
-very cold, poorly thermo insulated
- no hot shower all day long

Staff is OK. Provide taxi for the airport (800 Rps) & laundry service.

Breakfast is not included in the price of the room but I recommend it. very good with fresh fruit juice and an incredible view on Lake Pichola.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Nrycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    100
    47
    6
    8
See reviews for
70
84
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went here after reading the reviews on Trip advisor, but we very disappointed. Initially we were charged a lot for a room, but as we hadn't booked we accepted the price for one night and hoping for a cheaper room the next day. The room was very clean and spacious, however the bathroom was a disappointment, we had to get maintenance out 3 times before we could get any hot water. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything going on inside and outside of the hotel, so ear plugs are essential. When we asked for a cheaper room there were none available so we just asked to settle the bill. We needed to change some money and the exchange rate they offered was laughable, less than half the rate we could get outside.
We also ate here and was again disappointed, the breakfast was very limited and the dinner was very salty and quite bland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We didn't stay here but had to give it a shout out for the gorgeous rooftop terrace/bar/restaurant. It was a an oasis of brightly coloured chairs and lovely staff. The food we had was delish too. The perfect place for a rooftop Kingfisher and pakoras and a pink sunset to boot!
We stayed across the lake but would definitely stay here on our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGalQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights. Our room was very spacious, beds were comfortable and the communal areas were very clean.
The terrace has a stunning view over the lake and is a great place to relax. Very central location.

Our toilet was a bit leaky, but otherwise bathroom was fine.

You need to ask them if you would like your room cleaned, otherwise they do not clean it during your stay.
TV only has 3 channels in English, but most people don't go to Udaipur for the TV!

All in all, good experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank citrustravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very central, 2 min walk to a peer for a boat ride on the lake and 5-10 min to the city palace. Our room was nice although the insulation is not good, we could hear a lot of noise coming from the street at night.
I was very impressed by the kindness of the staff who proved very helpful (they went to collect our luggage as our driver couldn't get the hotel, we could make several local phone calls for free, they could find a solution for a non functioning plug).
I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Udaipur.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend Poonam Haveli. Our room was beautiful and spacious with sweet little alcoves for relaxing. It is in a great location with a rooftop restaurant that looks out over the city and lake, and of course, delicious food. The internet is fast and reliable and the staff is helpful, courteous and csring. Five Stars!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel October 2013 for six days with a friend.
this is our third trip to Udaipur.
we knew the place from the past, as we visited the restaurant a few times before- very friendly, great view and great food.
the place is very friendly, central location yet very quite, staff is helpful.
great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poonam Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poonam Haveli

Property: Poonam Haveli
Address: 39 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poonam Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poonam Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing