We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambrai

Ambrai
Ranked #22 of 729 Restaurants in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Paradise by the lake .An open air restaurant on lake level shadded by trees .You feel healthy as close to nature .
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a view. I went for dinner and the atmosphere is absolutely awesome. Tables next to the lake with a beautiful view of the illuminated City Palace, candlelit tables...

The food was pricey by Indian standards... however at least the food was good (not the best ever, but good). Contrary to another restaurant (Sunset Terrace) where you have to pay premium (a ridiculous price actually) for the view but where the food & service is poor, at least at Ambrai, the price is consistent with the overall experience. I have paid just under Rs1600 for a cocktail, a massive cheese naan (yum), malai kebab, dhal makhani (good too) & a brownie (so so)... this could easily have fed two people, good sized portions...and for me, it's well worth it.

If I ever go back to Udaipur, this restaurant will definitely be on my to do list.
Tip: make sure you use mosquito repellent (I didn't have any and didn't get stung, but still, better safe than sorry)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OLaurenceO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    842
    302
    100
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambience, OK food.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were in Ambrai on April 22nd for an evening dinner and the first thing that justifies all the trouble one takes to reach the restaurant is the great view and ambience created --geography has been leveraged fully. Rest of the evening was only about view. Food quality, service quality, was just about average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hsdsrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ambience,average food, just about ok service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I visited the restaurant twice , once during my visit to Udaipur in 2008, and on April 11th this year. Location takes your breath away ,no doubt, it is set in Amet haveli near Chand pol across the bridge on the other side of the lake Pichola. View from the restaurant ( we got a table just near the water) was fantastic. The beautifully lit City palace, Taj lake palace hotel looks really romantic. But as before , food is pretty average. We ordered chicken tikka which didn't taste too fresh. Laal maas ( Rajasthani red hot mutton curry) was not bad with tandoori roti. We didn't have much expectation about food from our past experience. So were not disappointed exactly. The place is very popular with the foreign tourists but for them I would suggest a restaurant called Nivedya in the hotel Amantra comfort hotel near Sahelion ki bari. Though the food is vegetarian but it is really good. Service in Ambrai is also patchy. The place appeared to be severely understaffed. However management was kind enough to feed our driver complementary which was much appreciated. The Amet haveli looked nice and comfortable though we have seen it only in the night. One of the staff members made a strange enquiry. We hadn't ordered any alchoholic drink. He asked us whether we were consuming any liquor brought from outside. Apparently Indian tourists do that kind of thing.We understood their concern but nevertheless we felt offended. Since we were in good mood ( mostly because of the gorgeous view) we let it pass. If you plan to have a romantic dinner this is the place. For food, stick to waiting staff's suggestion and don't expect much. You would be happy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayatimaitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dining Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went here along with my wife on 22 of this month food was good but felt that the waiters are more focused on the foreign clienteles rather then indian might be because they give more revenue to them, any ways the views are spectacular, Dal Makhani was fingerlicious.

Good place to dine and unwind only thing management and waiters has to work on it and avoid discriminating between the guests.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetraveller047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The most beautiful place to have dinner in Udaipur.
The restaurant has a large terrasse overlooking the lake, the palaces, with beautiful lights at night. The food is very very good. Service is ok. Prices are ok. It's one of our best memories.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueshuaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrai also viewed

Udaipur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Ambrai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing