We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still thinking about it (in a good way) months later”
Review of Sunrise

Sunrise
Ranked #341 of 733 Restaurants in Udaipur
Restaurant details
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Still thinking about it (in a good way) months later”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is one of those places where all signs point to it being not so hot. View is nice but walk up is steep and cleanliness seems sketchy. So you're kind of on edge most of the time, especially when you're wondering why no one else happens to be there. But when the food arrived everything turns around. We had Rajasthani biryani and it was absolutely fantastic. Raisins and nuts and other things made it stand out from all biryanis before and since. Loved it and won't forget it anytime soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GunnersMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A mouse on the potatoes in the kitchen!!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We went there with our lonely planet, not knowing where to go cause there are so many choices in this part of Udaipur. It was 3pm, we climbed the stairs and saw the kitchen that was empty. I always look at the kitchens of restaurants when i can, it gives you a good idea of the sense of hygiene of the place.
And there, surprise!!! i saw a mouse on the salad bowl full of cooked potatoes!
Did not have time to try their food or see the view, we just went down immediatly.
I know we are in India and this is just a little mouse, but the kitchen was really dirty anyway, and this shows how little they care about what they will prepare.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, cool staff”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We liked this place so we came back again. It was not very busy, only one or two other tables were occupied. The food came out quickly. Fun to watch the intersection below, saw someone get head butted by a cow. We mostly came back for the 'special' lassis though. Also cheap.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stumbled on this restaurant by mistake but we were happy we did. Set at the top of a steep flight of stairs, it looks over a busy intersection in Udaipur. The food (all veg) was absolutely amazing, really well priced, the thali comes with rice and chapatti rather than being charged separately. The owner is also very friendly and very easy to talk with.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slaursen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“okay food, cool view”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The food was alright; better chai on the streets for sure, but the view is interesting. It's a good place to lurk on the street below.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank eltsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunrise also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing