We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most disappointing experience!”
Review of Udai Mahal

Udai Mahal
Ranked #438 of 736 Restaurants in Udaipur
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“the most disappointing experience!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is our second trip to Udaipur and on both trips we have stayed at a fabulous property in the middle of the lake overlooking the Oberoi Udaivillas, this time we thought we'd atleast check out the Oberoi property so perhaps next time we can stay there.. we decided to go there for lunch on my husbands birthday, the experience that followed was absolutely shocking and enough to discourage us from ever staying or even recommending the Oberoi Udaivillas to family/friends!

We went to the Udai mahal restaurant around 2pm, there was just 1 other table occupied by 2 ladies. We were seated and what followed was a complete lack of service in any form! It was an effort to get someone to take our order, took sooo long so to be served, even longer to repeat any drink order and once we were done, the empty dishes/plates etc lay in front of us for 15 mins before they were cleared and then another 10 mins to give a dessert order to the one single staff member who by now was single handedly trying to attend to 3 tables!

When he finally came to our table and I asked him why the lack of staff he said, normally people dont come for lunch so all the staff is on a break now and will return at 4pm! What kind of luxury hotel doesnt not have staff in its restaurant between 2-4pm?? If this was the case and they were not adequately staffed they should have told us the restaurant was shut for the afternoon- considering we had the concierge at our hotel call and make a reservation at the Udaivillas for lunch for us!! The bill was just thrown on our table by another staff member, who came in just when we were done, even though my husband had his hand out for it to take it from him, and when he gave the signed card slip back the waiter took it with his back turned without so much so as an acknowledgement!

So very disappointed with the Oberoi service, this one experinece was enough to convince us not to ever even consider staying there and discourage anyone who might consider it!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulberry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Rajasthani Restaurant in the Best Palace Hotel in Udaipur”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had an excellent dinner at the Udai Mahal at the Udaivillas. We wanted to experience truly authentic Rajasthani vegetarian food and we could have not found a better choice. We had a choice of recommendations from the head waiter and head chef which were authentic and exceptional in taste and very well presented and served.
The Udai Mahal is truly one of finest authentic Indian Restaurant in the World

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanjG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great restaurant that gave us the 2nd best dinner in India of our entire trip! (First was Indian Accent in New Delhi) Good service, good food and great atmosphere, would definitely recommend a visit. Make a booking to secure a table outside on the terrace!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What an experience; the food didnt matter”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was a magical evening we had dining at the Udai Mahal restaurant on the Udaivilas Oberoi property. The highlight was not the food in our view, but the fantastic live music as we sat beneath the stars and looked out onto the lake. The dance was good, but the singers were stupendous: both classical and folk forms merged into each other for more than an hour as we enjoyed the food and drinks.

Watchouts: it can get cold, so sit next to the heaters. Carry warm clothing if you prefer it.

Highly recommended for a romantic evening out in Udaipur.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VikramAndJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“delicious dessert, ok food, escort service directly in and out! not fair.”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

we came to have dinner at the oberoi in udaipur partly to wander around and enjoy the atmosphere. however, when we arrived for our reservation, they quickly took us in to the restaurant, and when we left, they escorted us straight out of the grounds! we just wanted to look at the lake for a bit and a guard with a flashlight walked us out. it was very strange - while we understand not wanting to disturb the hotel guests, we had spent a large amount at their restaurant and simply wanted to look around - we were not backpackers taking photos of the hotel or anything like that! as for the dinner, my ravioli was bland and not up to western standards for this kind of luxury surroundings, but the dal my boyfriend had with his vegetable kabobs was good, and the bread selection was excellent. the virgin pina colada and mojito were lovely, and the desserts (rasmallai and a chocolate souffle cake with ice cream) were divine. the service was friendly and talkative despite being formal, inquiring about where we come from, and the atmosphere was a bit stiff but the sitar playing in the background (live) was lovely. we wish we had seen more of the oberoi, but the desserts were so good and the experience was romantic and luxurious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ltravelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Udai Mahal also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Udai Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing