We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”
Review of Sargam Sadan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sargam Sadan
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of our driver, Mr. Shakti Dubey. We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location of this hotel is breathtaking, and the views of the lake from the hotel rooms are hard to beat. Nice and clean rooms, beautiful rooftop restaurant with amazing views, and good food. Overall I highly recommend Sargam Sadan.
Also, I highly recommend our driver and his company, India by Colours, for anybody looking for driving services and/or tours to any part of India. His recommendations were all brilliant, and he was a very educated, professional, and highly trustworthy driver. Best experience with hiring a car in India I have ever had!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Sargam Sadan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Quiet location on Lake Pichola, ten minute walk from Maharan's Palace and old city action. Sunrises and sunsets from the room and rooftop brought out the best photographic natural light opportunities of Lake Pichola with Jag Madir Palace island as well as the Monsoon Palace high above on it's mountain top and Maharan's City Palace above the quaint old roof tops and at dinner in the restaurant lit up with the great lighting. Rooms very well decorated with local color but a bit small though a good size for the value.

Room Tip: Get a higher quality room with the lakeview on the second floor if you appreciate a view from the ro...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveStCroixR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I booked this hotel online after reading good reviews and great photos in ‘Cleartrip’. I stayed three nights with family at this hotel on my Udaipur tour. The hotel is located in an isolated place quite far away from the city center and surrounded by grave yards. You cannot enjoy great view of lake from hotel room, it has a common open toilet close to the lake and general public use the toilet day and night. Rooms were never properly cleaned, dirty toilets and you won't get cleaned bed sheets. The hotel has a roof top restaurant but you cannot enjoy food due to multiple factors like insects, bad smell from open toilet etc. Please try to avoid booking this hotel online.

I would like to say that the man and women on the front desk were very nice and cooperative.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank SD_Travels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel was described to us as the most peaceful retreat in Udaipur - which is absolutely the case. After speaking with the owner for some time, it was clear that his entire heart and soul have gone into making this hotel the special place it is. Located directly on the lake and a couple blocks from the noise (it’s amazing how little you hear given how close the street is only blocks away), each room has been transformed into a serene resting place. I had to take pictures of our room with the beautiful drapery and bed spread before we unpacked because it was too beautiful. The wifi is strong, the rooms are immaculate, and the shower is hot. The terrace has such breathtaking views, we canceled our plans at night so that we could just enjoy the hotel. The food is fantastic. Absolutely fanstastic. We asked our waiter for recommendations and everything he placed in front of us was superb. The hotel staff overall is very accommodating and ever so friendly. We stayed only 2 nights but we wish we would have stayed longer.

All the success to the Sargam Sadan team!

Room Tip: Ask for the blue room on the first floor. All rooms are spectacular.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were so looking forward to coming here. The reviews were so good and the photos looked great.

Maybe we were just unlucky.

We'd liked to say that the man and women on the front desk were very nice people and the hotel has a lovely layout with great views of the lake and city.

HOWEVER:

The room:

Dirty bedsheets. It really just looked like the bed was re-made after the other guests left, no clean sheets, all very stained.

The toilet:

Filthy dirty smell. It would make you sick. The staff came in to try and fix it and what seemed to be happening was when other rooms flushed their toilets it would get stuck in the pipes under our bathroom. The staff put buckets of water down the drains to keep the flow moving....we also had to do this a few times when the smell would get bad. We asked for another room but were told this could not be done.

The food and service in the restaurant:

This is the worst we have had in India. We arrived for breakfast at 8:10am, only one other couple were in the restaurant but it took till 8:50am for us to get the start of of order...an orange juice. Then the corn flakes arrived.....followed a few minutes later with our milk which was pure sour, it was full of lumps and the smell of it. When the tea came the water was only warm....this hotel seems to have a major issue with providing clean boiling water.....we have had 4 teas during our stay and all have not been finished due to the dirty water.

We stayed two nights and it was 2 night too many. Thankfully the city is lovely and we had a great time outside of the hotel.

If your from Europe and you have standards then this hotel is not for you.

Its such a shame as the views are lovely.

This hotel needs to work on cleaner bedsheets, fresher toilets. Better staff with an understanding of English and food quality control in the kitchen with a faster service of food.....and don't come back and say it takes longer cause its made fresh. 50 minutes wait on toast and tea is not good enough!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sargamsadan, Owner at Sargam Sadan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We agreed with the bathroom problem because we have mention in the bathroom that please use the dust been for the toilet paper but steel the guest throw the toilet paper in the toilet and it's stuck in the pipe line and that day we were unlucky that pipe line stuck in the night time and it's very hard in India to tell plumber and work in the night time, but we have repaired next day
But for rest of the issues we were not agreed because if they do have all this issues than they would checked out next day and changed the hotel but this all that they wanted a room on first floor and unfortunately we didn't have on that day otherwise we don't want that guest is going to be unhappy at our place and put all these issues which they didn't have
we had thousands of European who already stayed at our place but they never complained like this , i think they should book the hotel according to there standard ?
Thanks & Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Spent 3 very pleasant days at hotel which is in a great location at the top of the lake. Just outside the old city gate and in a secluded quiet area, no horns, made the stay a quiet retreat but only a short walk to old city. Staff very helpful, rooms reasonable size and clean, food was good and the view from the rooftop restaurant looking out at the lights on and around the lake was excellent. I had the misfortune to need medical assistance from a previous accident and the owner took me to a hospital and stayed with me for about 1 hour whilst treatment was organized. I really appreciated his help and concern negotiating the system. Highly recommend stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for two nights during our roundtrip through Rajasthan.
The hotel is very clean, as well as our room and the bed. We had a nice niche at the window with pink pillows which was good for some relaxing.
The bed was rather narrow but quite comfortable. The bathroom in our room was very small. But the manager told us our company confirmed the reservation very late so he only got the smallest room left. So I guess you can have a very pleasant stay, when you get one of the bigger rooms (with bigger bathrooms...).
The rooftop restaurant was excellent! There is good view over the lake and to the City Palace, you have small balconies to sit (only cross-legged) and enjoy the view while having dinner. The food was great! We recommand the Navratan Korma!
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Good location too, we needed about fifteen to twenty minutes by walk to the City Palace.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelzkugels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Palm
Hotel Royal Palm
#115 of 163 in Udaipur
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
Hotel Royal Pratap Niwas
#60 of 163 in Udaipur
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#14 of 163 in Udaipur
778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#30 of 163 in Udaipur
791 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#32 of 163 in Udaipur
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sargam Sadan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sargam Sadan

Address: 35 Sargam Sadan Kaine House Nagar Parishad Colony, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £27 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sargam Sadan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sargam Sadan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sargam Sadan Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing