We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Nukkad Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nukkad Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The rooms are very pleasant and are located within a beautiful haveli in a very good location. The family who run the place are generally pretty friendly. The rooms were spotless. Although it was promised that there was hot water in my room, it didn't work - when I mentioned it he just assured me it was and left it at that. Also, the wifi, while free, cuts out often - the times that it wasn't working for myself and others they similarly assured us it is working. If this happens, what you need to do is wait until the staff aren't watching and switch the router on and off. The food ranges from inedible to not bad - stick with toast and cereal for breakfast and have your meals at one of the many other restaurants in the tourist area. In the end, I stayed a couple of days and then moved to another place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nukkad_Raju, Owner at Nukkad Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
hello
thanks to write review for us and it will be helpful for us
every person is having hot shower in our hotel except the writer and the hot shower problem may be due to weather also and u have to waste a littlecold water becoz we have solar power so it take time to come in the shower . and hot shower come in every room in left walve and in every room we have put sign about the problems u have let us know and give us some suggetions to solve the problem not like this that the problem the guest having they r telling us on reviews .. this hurts a lot to us some one wrote us a poor review....
IT WAS JUST MISUNDERSTANDING ABOUT HOT WATER HOW IT WORKS
for the wifi we r not responsible for the power some time power cut in whole area and wifi network cut down.. every one use the same no one complains some time some of the phones and laptops dose not connect proper to the network so this is not the problem of wifi... from our side wifi is 24hrs on..
HE LIKES OUR PLACE , LOCATON, ROOMS ,FAMILY BUT ONLY
for this 2 reason guest wrote poor review is not good for us .. we r always here to help and further guidense ...
guest can see loot of other riviews how people are enjoying in our place we try to keep every body happy all guest are like my family member
any way we will be more careful about this problem and take care that no such reviews should be posted by the guest in future

thank u
Raju
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    136
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
26
182
112
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Well not only is the view from the top great but so is the walk up the stairs through the beautifully decorated stairwell! Central location, good rate, clean and big room and yummy upstairs restaurant (muesli was very good) Nukkard is a great host and did so much to help and accommodate us. We wish we had more time here to do more things!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kyky1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in while travelling india.
The hotel Is spotlessly clean, rooms differ in price and size for all budgets.
The food from the hotel restaurant is fantastic, and you can get cooking lessons in the spotless kitchen.
Raju is an excellent host and prides himself on customer satisfaction.I wish there was a nukkad guesthouse in every town in India. The hotel is also very central and easy to find.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trapdoorberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We got here around 7:30am and we weren't even welcomed. Raju just showed us the room, but no hello nor anything. He wasn't even nice at all, except when we paid...

The house is absolutely gorgeous, it also has a great view.

The room was overpriced, the toilet was broken and it flooded the bathroom and some of the room. No toilet paper was provided, only one blanket and no housekeeping was made. No good price for value, at all.

Overall, it was an average stay, but the house and location were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here 4/5 nights. This is a welcoming family run guesthouse that has nice sized rooms and is very clean. There is wifi in the communal area/restaurant at the top and there are lots of friendly people staying. There is a daily 'yoga' class on the rooftop and it is a lovely way to see in the day. Breakfasts are varied and tasty, too. The only 'con' is that the shower is a bit weak and hot water can be a bit hit and miss. The toilet/bathroom area can be a bit poky in the cheaper rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. We were staying in a lovely room with beautiful stained glass windows, clean & very spacious -it was on the top floor beside the kitchen & dining room so was a bit noisy, but was a small price to pay for such a nice room. When we spoke to the very nice & helpful owner Raju, he showed us another room we could move to, but as we were preferred our room decided not to move.

We went to the yoga on the rooftop the 4 mornings we were there - what a great start to the day! The instructor is nice & relaxed & you pay by donation. Also did the cookery class with Kala, Raju's wife. You get to learn the basics on how to make various curries & breads & eat all the food afterwards - Yummy!! The guest house is a great location, however is near a street so you do hear some noise, but I think its a small price to pay to stay in such a nice relaxed guest house. My only criticism is that smoking is permitted in the dining room which is enclosed. We mentioned this to Raju when we were leaving (suggested that smokers go upstairs to the covered but open rooftop) & he said that he was going to address this. If I was ever back in Udaipur, would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopyLouRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was the best guesthouse that we stayed at during our time in India. Raju, Kala and family were so friendly and so helpful. We booked tours and tickets here. Be sure to take advantage of the rooftop yoga by donation and the cooking class with Kala.The room was spacious and clean and a good value overall. The food at the rooftop is delicious and reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcchefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 161 in Udaipur
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 161 in Udaipur
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 161 in Udaipur
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nukkad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nukkad Guest House

Property: Nukkad Guest House
Address: 56 Gadiya Devra | Ganesh Ghati, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nukkad Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing