We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for 1 day - Day for 7”
Review of Nukkad Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nukkad Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Come for 1 day - Day for 7”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Everyone in Nukkad has a story. We all came to Udaipur as a quick stopover but stayed for way longer than we expected. The city is romantic and friendly. Nukkad is comfortable and makes seeing the city easy. The things I loved about this guesthouse were mostly related to how easy it was to stay there. They have a donations-only yoga class on the roof, which is actually GREAT. They have things like muesli, fruit, and vegetable items on their menu. Their beds are really comfortable. And they have an amazing view to watch the sunset. Aside from the facilities at Nukkad, you'll love Raju and his family. There are all so accommodating and helpful. They helped us figure out how to do tatkal train tickets when we needed to get out of Udaipur to catch a flight. They arranged a driver so that we could see the fort and jain temples outside of the city. And they were just always so friendly. India can be hectic but staying at a nice place that is comfortable and run by friendly, honest people makes a huge difference. We will be staying at Nukkad next time we're there!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms below the dining floor. They have an amazing sunset view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridaangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    135
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
26
180
111
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent a week in early march staying with Raju, Kala and the family. The whole stay has been magical, large rooms with amazing views , lovely food and a brilliant atmosphere. We did yoga most mornings on the roof, once interrupted by a monkey jumping on the roof, suitable for all levels and paid by donation. This followed by a hot chai with no sugar on request and omelette with plain non buttered toast, a welcome lightness to breakfast after the excess of some indian foods! The whole family speak perfect English, Nikita and Rashmi the daughters are a delight, offering great ideas on where to go, what to do and general good banter! Monty the son is currently working as a chef at the palace and clearly got his skill from his mum Kala, her cooking is some of the best I have had in India. I cannot recommend enough, the first place I came to on my first trip to India and it was a dream!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeTask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here and was looked after by Raju and his family, despite for the first couple of days having a fever and Delhi belly (from Pushkar). Yoga on the rooftop daily at 8am was a real plus for me and not sure why more didnt take it up. Great views and working WiFi. Big thanks to Raju and his family

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesBSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nukkad_Raju, Owner at Nukkad Guest House, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guests,
Thanks for a glowing review. Your kind remarks are truly inspirational. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and felt at home. It's heartening to know that you found the accommodation and food good and the experience a value for money. We would love to welcome you again.
THanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We had a Nice stay. My mother called it the best place in india! The owner will help you with everything. A warm welcome. Nice rooftop cafe/restaurant to relax. And the rooms are really beautifully, with glass in lay.
Only the yoga class in the morning was not so special. But still it nice they offer it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jetjesaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nukkad is a great value guesthouse with different kind of rooms and a beautiful common area and rooftop. Raju and his family are the most friendly hosts. They helped with trips, bustickets and other questions. And they run a very good restaurant. The location is nice and you can meet nice people. What else to say?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcvanderstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here based on the amazing trip advisor reviews but were really surprised when we got here, as the service is terrible! We had booked in advance, and when we got here they asked us to wait as the room was being cleaned - but were forgotten about and were never asked for our passports etc as other guests were. It felt as though we weren't welcome.....maybe it was bad timing when we got here.

The room was lovely, really pretty (as is the rest of the guesthouse) and we had a nice hot shower (although the pressure is poor & the shower head needed de scaling). Wi Fi was also great.

Breakfast and dinner very different affair! We had breakfast on the first day, and they messed up our order....it was also not very good. Dinner on the other hand was very different as the service was excellent (a guy was serving in the evening who was amazing!) and food was really tasty. The next night we brought friends and waited for about 20 mins, finally asking one of the staff if they were serving and were told the kitchen was closed (about 1.5 hrs before normal).

We would still recommend, as it is good value for Udaipur however we wouldn't stay again due to the very bad service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nukkad_Raju, Owner at Nukkad Guest House, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear
guest
Thanks to take a time to write a review for us and good to read that you like our guest house (room hot water good food )except the service
it is true that you booked the room hear when we knew about the guest who are staying and they are leaving tomarow we book that room for other guest who are coming tomarrow and the Check out Time is 10 am (if we would have room available we give room earlier when guest arrive)when people check out then we have to clean and give room for other guest I thing this sistom is in every hotel but I am very sorry that you have to wait for room and we love our guest we are all wayes well come our guest any time



I am very sorry about you mis understaning about your food
about the food I would like to say something at the moment we have marridge season in india from last week till yesterday we are not able to to attained our all guest even in the reastaurent and even in the hotel because my causin got marridge and we have to go to attained lot of seramoney so we are not all the time in guest house even the chef who work in our restaurent he also went to her sister marridge so we have to close restaurant some time early normaely it not hepen mostely
and sorry that you bring your guest and and restaurent was close early
I promise it wiil not heapn again

GOOD TO READ THAT YOU STILL WANT TO RECOMMEND NUKKAD TO OTHER TRAVELLERS


I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

A fantastic guest house in the perfect location. The manager, Raju, is also brilliant. He made us feel so welcome and was incredibly helpful.
The whole guest house has a real personality, and the rooms are clean, large and have been decorated with love.
We had a fantastic time here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#40 of 157 in Udaipur
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nukkad Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nukkad Guest House

Property: Nukkad Guest House
Address: 56 Gadiya Devra | Ganesh Ghati, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nukkad Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing