We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in udaipur!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #52 of 267 Udaipur B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A must stay in udaipur!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were recommended hibiscus from friends we met while traveling in Vietnam and were not disappointed. It is tastefully decorated with an attention to detail, carol has created a haven away from bustling Indian streetlife. The rooms were very good value compared to other places we have stayed and was certainly our favourite in india. There is a lovely English country garden to relax in and a comfortable roof top terrace with cosy cushions to chill out on, they even lit little fires to keep us warm on the chilly evenings which was a nice touch, as I say a good attention to detail. Staff were friendly and helpful and we often stayed for dinner not being able to move ourselves away from the stylish roof terrace, the food was fresh and tasty. A big thanks to carol and babu for making it a highlight of our rajastian trip!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    52
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
47
113
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great location and hosts, clean spacious rooms with a fantastic roof top and kitchen. And sorry Babu - to the travelers out there, this is your chance to meet with Oscar....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katatjuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here last April for two nights. I don't know if it was low season for tourists, but the place was empty! I think we were the only guests that time. We were greeted by Oscar the Great Dane. He didn't even bark, just wagged his tail. Very friendly dog.

Our room was at the second floor and was surprisingly spacious. I loved how the traditional wall tapestries stood out against plain white walls. Our beds had thin mattresses, but still comfortable. I think they used rope for support instead of wood. The room had a pretty Tibetan cabinet, which we didn't use. We had a window that overlooked the street, but that didn't pose any problem as it was a quiet street.

Guesthouse itself had a common dining area, and a beautiful yard where you can hang out (beware of mosquitoes at night though.) Power shortage for a few hours when we were there.

Location, quite hidden but very quiet. Lake is very near. You can see it from the rooftop. Place is safe for women travelers, I'd like to think. Just don't go out walking alone because the area is quite dark. On our first night, one of the staff members offered to lead us to a nearby restaurant. Pricey restaurant but it had a breathtaking view of the lake.

Overall, very nice stay.

Room Tip: Occasional motorcycle can be a source of annoyance. Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myka_Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Hibiscus was by far the best guest house we stayed during our 3 week trip in India. Carol and Babu are fabulous hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We had planned to book an expensive restaurant for New Year to watch the fireworks, but decided that the rooftop at Hibiscus would be just as good, if not better, where a big BBQ dinner was planned. We ended up having a wonderful evening and meeting lots of other guests who had also decided to celebrate on the roof terrace where we had a great view of the fireworks, drank champagne, and let off Chinese lanterns. Thank you Carol and Babu for such a wonderful new year.
The guest house itself is lovely and the rooms are spacious. It's in a quiet area, yet still close to the shops and the centre. There's free wifi in the lobby area. Also a lovely garden to sit and relax.
If you are visiting Udaipur, you must stay at Hibiscus!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are bigger than others, although they all seem to be quite large, but we noticed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelannajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

In early January 2012 I stayed at Hibiscus in Udaipur for 10 days.

I was more than satisfied with my choice. The room was very spacious with windows on two sides (in fact the largest room I had during my stay in India) and furnished with lovely Rajasthani fabrics and furniture. The wide window seat was a great place to sit and watch the monkeys come and go from the tree they live in just outside the guest house. The double glazed windows are also very nice.

There is an excellent roof restaurant with a wide variety of food, very helpful staff and a lovely enclosed garden. Very peaceful and relaxing after a hectic day of sight seeing!

Owners, Babu and Carol, were most helpful and patient in answering all my questions and recommending restaurants and places to visit.

The location is also excellent. About 5 minutes walk to the old city, without the noise and traffic. Excellent value for money. Could not recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nicely furnished and very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnKToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The best place we stayed in our India travels. Elegant, spacious rooms. Incredibly helpful staff. Lots of common areas, including a lovely garden (great for kids!) And the location is ideal - you don't feel like you're in the chaotic, ultra-touristy part of Udaipur but you're still an easy 5 to 10 minute walk to the City Palace.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Hibiscus for 4 nights. It was incredible. Carol and Babu are gracious hosts who are committed to ensuring you have a great stay. The guesthouse is in a great location, close to wonderful restaurants and the centre of town whilst still remaining quiet. Returning to the guesthouse after a day battling the streets of Udaipur was heaven. The decor is chic and the rooms very comfortable. You have to stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#94 of 161 in Udaipur
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#58 of 161 in Udaipur
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#13 of 267 in Udaipur
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Little Prince Heritage Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Property: Hibiscus Guest House
Address: 190,Naga Nagri,Chandpol,Opposite the Leela Palace | Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Heritage Hibiscus)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meditate, Levitate, VegetateThis lakeside HIBISCUS GUEST HOUSE offers the visitors a home away from home, far from the hustle, the bustle and, sometimes, the frustrations of life in India.A place to take breath, relax and enjoy excellent in our rooftop restaurant overlooking Lake Pichola.The roof, walled garden and fountain courtyard provide ample space for guests to find a quiet area in which to unwind.There rooms are newly refurbished and laid with cool, polished, nimbara stone floors. Hand painted furniture and textiles from Rajasthan decorate each room and the spotless ensuite bathrooms are equipped with hot and cold showers. Some rooms have large haveli style jarokhas (window seats) with bolsters and cushions.Hotel Hibiscus Udaipur is exclusively located at the CHANDPOLE in Udaipur. There is something unmistakably calming about HOTEL HIBISCUS. Its welcoming hospitality permeates your soul and Rajasthani passion for life rejuvenates your spirit. You never have to leave. But should you wish to,it is nice to know you are just few minutes from City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jagdish Temple, Lake Palace, Bagore Ki Haveli, Gangaur Ghat, Lal Ghat and easy Reach of all of Udaipur's Hotspots! Your place in the Lake awaits!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Guest House Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing