We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic hotel interior, great spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #48 of 294 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I wish we'd had more time to stay at this hotel. It was really lovely and and I loved the rooftop restaurant. You can watch the monkeys make their way from roof to roof (ours is protected by a big gentle dog). Breakfast was good, too although not included in the room price. The staff were very nice and helped us figure out the rest of our trip to fit our budget. The only complaint I would have is that the room was a bit cold at night. If we'd stayed another night we would have asked for another blanket. Otherwise no problems and an overall great stay in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadkowskyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Pros:-
1. Helpful Staff and good response to any requests
2. Close to the lake.
Cons :-
1. The Rooms had a pungent stink, because of the clogged pipelines.
2. Food is too pricey and not very tasteful.
3. Too much noise in morning from the neighboring mosque.

We chose this place based on Traveler reviews, but i guess it is more suited to foreign travelers than the Domestic bag packer. The food is very bland and preparation time is too long. The Water heater in one of the rooms was not working and was a big trouble on cold December days. There was was problem with the sewer lines i believe (we were told so) and this caused an odd foul smell in the room at all times.
Though the staff attended to all the issues prompty, things were not as per expectations and not working at the right time for us.

Definitely not the best of stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Bharath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We were looking for a place and came across Heritage Hibiscus.We got a homely feel during our stay. The staff was good and the room and other facilities were excellent. The best part was the splendid view of blue lakes.The dining area was beautifully decorated.The hotel manager was a good fellow who guided us a lot during our stay.Overall an excellent hotel in minimum budget, one can get a traditional feel in every corner of it. I would surely advice my friends to stay in this hotel n cherish every minute of their stay. I m really glad and obliged. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank predhak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had booked The Little Prince Heritage Home but were upgraded to The Heritage Hibiscus managed by the same guys. Both the places are quite close to each other, but I guess Little Prince has a good lake view. The hotel is a 10-15 min walk from Jagdish temple, but it's not tiring with all the shops & friendly atmosphere around.

The rooms were big & airy. Bathrooms big & clean. No TV but we didn't really miss it. Free WiFi & good signal in rooms.

There are a bunch of young guys running the place & were very courteous. We were allowed to check-in before time so that was good after our journey.

Breakfast was good, it's the same menu at Little Prince. Service could have been a little prompt but not too much of an issue. Would advise to have the breakfast at the Little Prince restaurant which is right on the lake offering splendid views in the morning.

We had dinner once in the hotel which was nice freshly prepared for us & served at the rooftop dining area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank yogesht349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It was decorated in a traditional way. Quiet and relaxing place.Loved it! The owners are quiet friendly. I would like to be here again and would recommend it to my friends and family. Its also near to the market so less travel. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renu_Khushalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Was staying here with my family. Its a little out-of the way from various places and lanes are too narrow to reach up here but the property is nice and the garden is well maintained and rather beautiful. They also have this huge but damn cute dog. It has mostly non-indian guests. We stayed on the ground floor hence it gets a bit noisy at night. Also the bathroom door latch was broken but since we were only for one night it didn't matter much. The room was clean and basic. The noise from the mosque prayers can get a bit annoying but its manageable again. WiFi is very strong and good connectivity also the staff is nice. Mr. Chandra did help us a great deal with arranging local transport at a good rate. However their restaurant food as well as service needs a lot of improvement quality wise and time wise. Its not much of a family place but for young tourists or buddies on a trip its decent for the value and money. All in all it can improve but otherwise a warm hospitality was provided by them. Thanks! Keep it up!

Room Tip: Choose something on the higher floors to save yourself from the midnight noise around the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

As it has been said in previous post “The Hibiscus hotel” was our very own little “Marigold Hotel". It was for us, an oasis where we could relax comfortably in the beautiful surrounds and reflect at the end of the day, of the vibrant life and beauty of Udaipur.
This hotel ticked all the boxes for 4 women traveling in India; we felt safe and our privacy was respected.
The rooms were well decorated, scrupulously clean and serviced daily by well trained staff. As Udaipur was our first port of call on our travel around India, we were totally satisfied with our recommendation from another woman traveler we had meet at our local Café back home. She had stayed there a considerable amount of time after spending many months traveling around India, and was relieved to find this much needed haven.

The Garden is lush and quaint and the food made by Babu was absolutely delicious.
Chandra, Antonio and Eddie were the main mover and shakers, and nothing was too much trouble, but everyone was accommodating and courteous. We had one twin room and 2 single rooms ($32 Aust each). The twin wasn’t a bad size but I’d pay a bit extra to have a more spacious room with window seat and large bed.

As I discovered further along on my trip, food takes a little while to make its way to the table in India, not like lots of other parts of Asia I’ve traveled in, and the experience here was no exception. So my tip is to order in advance. But remember, as it’s all fresh and prepared in their own kitchen , good things come to those that wait. The sight of the runner with a shopping bag rushing off after we had ordered would give us a laugh. My traveling companions and I love a wine so off he’d dash returning with our wished bottle of plonk, rounding the day off nicely. My tip is if you like white wine, Sula, an Indian wine, and is a reasonable drop for the price, considering how expensive wine is.

I highly recommend this accommodation for anyone on a budget who wants to experience the Indian feel, and also exceptional service.

Not only did our stay at the Hibiscus make our time in Udaipur a pleasant experience, Eddie organised a fantastic trip around Rajasthan with driver, petrol, accommodation and all the trimmings. The trip was tailored especially for what we wanted which excluded, factories, friends shops, guides and touts, etc, roughly around $70 a day.

When I have more time I intend to write a blog about our Indian experience as a guide to help people organise an itinerary covering things like accommodation, drivers and what to pay per day, and especially dealing with things woman should know about traveling in India. In the mean time, feel free to ask any questions about the hotel or if you require more details or our fabulous Tour Agent, Eddie.

Well as you can gather there wasn’t many cons, let me add the Hibiscus is basically tucked away in a maze of alley ways, but is still walking distance to the hub just over the bridge and the tuk tuks are everywhere and are cheap, but you have to barter.
My only suggestions for improvement are: perhaps tea making facilities in the rooms, and cushions set up for lounging around on the roof top every evening. Only if the weather is ok of course. Apart from that it was fantastic stay for seven days, thanks boys we highly recommend the Hibiscus Hotel to one and all.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but pay a bit extra for larger rooms with window seats, there situated on both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#21 of 177 in Udaipur
588 reviews
0 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 177 in Udaipur
272 reviews
0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#34 of 177 in Udaipur
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#76 of 177 in Udaipur
395 reviews
0 mi away
Little Garden Guest House
Little Garden Guest House
#3 of 294 in Udaipur
261 reviews
0 mi away
Lal Ghat Guest House
Lal Ghat Guest House
#58 of 294 in Udaipur
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 190,Naga Nagri,Chandpol,Opposite the Leela Palace | Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Heritage Hibiscus)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 294 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £20 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meditate, Levitate, VegetateThis lakeside HIBISCUS GUEST HOUSE offers the visitors a home away from home, far from the hustle, the bustle and, sometimes, the frustrations of life in India.A place to take breath, relax and enjoy excellent in our rooftop restaurant overlooking Lake Pichola.The roof, walled garden and fountain courtyard provide ample space for guests to find a quiet area in which to unwind.There rooms are newly refurbished and laid with cool, polished, nimbara stone floors. Hand painted furniture and textiles from Rajasthan decorate each room and the spotless ensuite bathrooms are equipped with hot and cold showers. Some rooms have large haveli style jarokhas (window seats) with bolsters and cushions.Hotel Hibiscus Udaipur is exclusively located at the CHANDPOLE in Udaipur. There is something unmistakably calming about HOTEL HIBISCUS. Its welcoming hospitality permeates your soul and Rajasthani passion for life rejuvenates your spirit. You never have to leave. But should you wish to,it is nice to know you are just few minutes from City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jagdish Temple, Lake Palace, Bagore Ki Haveli, Gangaur Ghat, Lal Ghat and easy Reach of all of Udaipur's Hotspots! Your place in the Lake awaits!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Guest House Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing