We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots Of Smell Inside Rooms - Poor Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #48 of 294 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was a very bad experience of mine in Udaipur with these Hotel.
Hotel is situated near a stinking place - The time you open your window will let you know that you are staying near to fish market.

These people don't have room service also.
We were not able to sleep for whole night due to bad stinking smell. Also its near to Masjid which also cause lot of disturbance.
I don't like this place to stay in Udaipur City.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

The rooms are nice with window sitting area, and pretty clean. But i booked this hotel for the rooftop which i read was amazing and thought i could just hang out there in the evening. The views are great, but there was NO food! :-( They neglected to tell me that during Holi the chef was gone to his village so no food. and the hotel is far far from the main area for eating, so each night instead of enjoying the rooftop, i had to go find dinner god-knows-where. they knew they had no chef, but didn't tell me when i booked, no warning, nothing! shame!

and the location, yea its near the lake, but the worse part, there's a local residential area, with sewer garbage that's dumped at the lake right here, nothing romantic on this side, its a very very long walk across the bridge to get to the area where everyone hangs out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We reached Udaipur in the early evening and reached the hotel within 15 minutes from the central city of Udaipur. The Hotel in all most on the bank of Lake Picholla. Very tidy and peaceful. The Manager and the staffs gave us the room of our choice with a view to the Lake Palace hotel. and the grand the Udaipur Palace. the roof top restaurant is closed but they allow to bring from outside and serve it to the best of the customer's satisfaction. Really co-operative and this is the only Hotel where RO water was genuinely available.
The Rooms are classically heritage with sophisticated old ornamented furniture as also wi-fi was active. Real thanks to Trip Advisor and the Heritage Hibiscus people..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Nandan Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Incredible views of Pichola lake from the room and from the rooftop terrace.thatis an excellent place to stay and enjoy.
The Room was confortable, big and clean. Staff very friendly, helpful, eager to please.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mariarc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The young lads that run this guest house are so kind and work very hard to make the whole stay memorable. They are very helpful with advice and booked tickets for us without commission. It is furnished In simple Indian style which is lovely and is very clean, there is always hot water and Wifi. There is a delightful roof top terrace with views of local life and the lake, lovely to eat breakfast there. Tut tuts are readily available but it is a short and pleasant walk into the main areas. A very good standard for guest house category, highly recommended.
Rachel and Adrian. Sussex, UK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachellouise64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I travel udaipur with my wife after the marriage this my first trip and This hotel was the best . The bathroom was modern, spotless and well maintained. We had a corner room with a view over(partial) Lake Pichola, and the view was breathtaking! The three young guys who run the hotel have been more helpful, with tips on what to see depending on time available. Addy organised a taxi via kumbgalgarh for us to Jodhpur with a very trustworthy and good driver at a very reasonable price.
Will be recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Udaipur.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manu_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

n of this hotel is very bad - it seems to be close to Kabari market with lot of bad smell.

We are a family and having one daughter of 9 months with us. At the time we reached to hotel i particulary asked about room service because it required a lot with a child. There was no phone available at the room.
Also the restaurant was not working at that time. Hotel people were saying that cook is not available for next few days.

Also some 2-3 guys were running this Hotel with lack of Hospitality manners and they were very unprofessional and having very bad language.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pulkit_Gogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#20 of 177 in Udaipur
589 reviews
0 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 177 in Udaipur
273 reviews
0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#30 of 177 in Udaipur
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#74 of 177 in Udaipur
396 reviews
0 mi away
Little Garden Guest House
Little Garden Guest House
#3 of 294 in Udaipur
262 reviews
0 mi away
Lal Ghat Guest House
Lal Ghat Guest House
#60 of 294 in Udaipur
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 190,Naga Nagri,Chandpol,Opposite the Leela Palace | Chandpol, Udaipur 313001, India (Formerly Heritage Hibiscus)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 294 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £20 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meditate, Levitate, VegetateThis lakeside HIBISCUS GUEST HOUSE offers the visitors a home away from home, far from the hustle, the bustle and, sometimes, the frustrations of life in India.A place to take breath, relax and enjoy excellent in our rooftop restaurant overlooking Lake Pichola.The roof, walled garden and fountain courtyard provide ample space for guests to find a quiet area in which to unwind.There rooms are newly refurbished and laid with cool, polished, nimbara stone floors. Hand painted furniture and textiles from Rajasthan decorate each room and the spotless ensuite bathrooms are equipped with hot and cold showers. Some rooms have large haveli style jarokhas (window seats) with bolsters and cushions.Hotel Hibiscus Udaipur is exclusively located at the CHANDPOLE in Udaipur. There is something unmistakably calming about HOTEL HIBISCUS. Its welcoming hospitality permeates your soul and Rajasthani passion for life rejuvenates your spirit. You never have to leave. But should you wish to,it is nice to know you are just few minutes from City Palace, Lake Pichola, Jagdish Temple, Lake Palace, Bagore Ki Haveli, Gangaur Ghat, Lal Ghat and easy Reach of all of Udaipur's Hotspots! Your place in the Lake awaits!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Guest House Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing