We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Expedia.com
£22
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£15
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
194
59
25
12
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
59
25
12
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Gorgeous little guest house in Udaipur, beautiful rooms, charmingly and stylishly decorated with Rajestahni furniture. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely lounging and breakfast area on rooftop, good view of lake, great location, sweet little garden and chai served to your room if you ask!

Room tip: we had a super delux room.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakef77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We liked staying here! Friendly staff, good food and a great speedy laundry service (albeit a little expensive at 30-50rs per price size depending, but it was done very well nonetheless). The view from the roof is lovely, and the food is okay, staff helpful. The rooms are comfortable enough - a solid mattress for the untrained back used to something a little more cosy. The bathrooms are lovely and clean, although hot water a little limited. Sheikh really makes this place great - warm and welcoming and very helpful. I met a gorgeous Great Dane called Oscar too, a pal of one of the staff members which really made it feel like home!
The outside space is lovely with beautiful meandering flowers crawling up the hotel and garden; during the day it is peaceful, a clean and comfortable Guesthouse with good hospitality. We were also greeted at the train station on arrival by a lovely driver who was promptly waiting for us with a name sign - this was all very simple to organise as the staff have excellent communication with their online bookings.
The area is interesting - ideally located to get everywhere on foot. Have seen a few reviews moaning about the location, but we really didn't struggle to get anywhere at all. The mosque near the hotel is quite loud in the evening, although it wasn't a problem and nice to be in such a close knit welcoming community. There was a slightly odd incident while we were on the roof one evening where rather a heated brawl broke out outside the hotel opposite which, as we saw a big sword appear during the brawl was a little unsettling, however not the fault of Hibiscus whatsoever - perhaps just some slightly rowdy neighbouring business owners. The staff were very settling, and quite honestly, for the modest Brit it was all rather exciting.
Overall, we've had a jolly old time and would recommend to visitors to Udaipur for okay value for money. Had it been a little cheaper we would have been much more satisfied as it was a little pricy for being a little run down. I think a little spruce up here and there wouldn't hurt, but the charm is still there if you look through a few fine cracks. We still had a lovely time. We were due to go to Jaisalmer on our last day, however due to being unwell, we chose to book in elsewhere and stayed another night in Udaipur to keep slightly more comfy. Thanks Hibiscus Team and hope to see you again! (Sans swords).

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Louisa2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us warts and all. You are right, we are a little run down and a little spruce up would not hurt so we are happy to report that over the next few months improvements and sprucing, together with the provision of improved facilities are in place. We are excited but we are also aware that 'there is a crack in everything, thats how the light gets in', Leonard Cohen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location - quiet and just a short walk across the footbridge to the City Palace and plenty of restaurants, markets etc. Great location for the price. Food in restaurant is simple but lovely (and well priced!). The restaurant also has a lovely view of the lake. The guest house also has beautiful gardens and we were lucky enough to see a group of monkeys walking across the wall into the nearby tree!

A couple of improvements could be made:
- the hot water only lasted about one minute. Possibly needs a bigger tank in the room?
- Wifi was a big temperamental.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay due to the location and the price.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We now have a new wifi system which should improve things somewhat. A lot of our wifi problems, for some considerable time, have been caused by guests sharing our password with the boys in the local area who then overload our system downloading Bollywood movies, music videos and all sorts of dubious others. We would be so grateful if guests would stop doing this so others do not have to suffer the consequences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

This was a lovely little hotel right by the lake. Slightly hidden in plain sight !
Very clean and comfortable. Wonderful owners and staff.
Awesome rooftop dining and lounging area with great views.
Wonderful !!!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazard11haz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hibiscusguesth0use, Owner at Hibiscus Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

It was a pleasure to have you here in Hibiscus and we hope you that you are able to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We booked beforehand and, having to stay 1 month, we thought that they offered us a good price (1400 INR). We got a room that was worth 500 INR with a broken sponge mattress, sheets that weren't even long enough to cover the horrible thing, broken water heater and no wifi (when we specifically asked for a fast connection - having a business online - and we got NONE). None makes the room or changes sheets or towels. We also asked to use the kitchen which was so filthy I was scared to enter it (and we have traveled a lot, we are not picky people, but when you see that conditions...)
We decided to leave early and they clearly didn't refund us a cent with the excuse that the room we stayed in was worth 4700 INR.
Don't go here! All over beautiful Udaipur you can find awesome deals and much better rooms for much cheaper!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank flaviaderasmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews