We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a dream come true vacation at the leela palace udaipur: my kid wants to stay back forever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Rewari, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a dream come true vacation at the leela palace udaipur: my kid wants to stay back forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

we selected this hotel after a lot of research on this site and elsewhere and we were spot on....right from the transfer from railway station, to the jetty transfer,
and the rose petal showering on arrival amidst melodious music....this modern palace went out of their way to make our stay most comfortable and of course memorable. the heritage view room was perfect, so was the hospitality of the hotel staff......breakfast could have more variety and a better and elaborate layout.....but all in all a dream come true experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybersurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    142
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
526
703
38
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed for two nights. All was excellent, the hospitality, service, clean, professionality is the best we have ever experienced. Really a very good "palace". If you have the posibility don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view is recomendated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rito_Yuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

I have just returned from a long weekend trip with my extended family. In all there were about 14-15 of us. I have been to Udaipur thrice over last three years and this was my first stay at the Leela. I have to say that the rooms are beautiful and spacious. As you begin your stay, one finds that somebody has very thoughfully designed the rooms. You can have a view of the lake from the bed, sofas and even the shower room. The fixtures, decorations, toiletries and amenities are high quality and again very thoughtfully kept. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and ensured that my mother who had trouble walking had wheel chair provided the moment she entered the hotel. My brother has a small baby and the hotel staff was great in that they would provide us with a mobile baby cot even in the main restaurant. The breakfast was fresh and tasty. The bar called the library is really aesthetically done up. With a large family group such as ours, there are always more than average requirements and hotel staff was always welcoming in accommodating our requests.

All of hotels amenities had "atithi devo bhav" typed meaning that "guest is god" and each and every staff person embodied it.

I would love going back to Udaipur simply to be at the Leela.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shikha_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Having been fortunate enough to travel and stay in many 5 star hotels worldwide, this has to be one of the best places we've ever stayed in. The room was stunning and the view of the lake beautiful. However, the real strength of the hotel is it's wonderful staff. Nothing is to much for them, they instantly knew our name and the attention to detail was awesome. A real Palace among Hotels which made our Wedding Anniversary touring holiday in India something very special. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickjill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

A stay at this hotel is an experience like no other.
The arrival by the hotel's private boat was most charming and unusual to say the least. It was very good to see that the lake was absolutely full. I greeted warmly at the hotel jetty , escorted to the tastefully decorated boat and made to wear a life jacket. The crossing took about ten minutes where a chatty boatman told me all about the history of Udaipur!. He was very proud of his heritage.

At the hotel I was greeted tin grand traditional style, rose petals were showered on me from above and local folk singers rendered a song composed specially with my name.

The hotel is marvellous - decorated beautifully all over with priceless artifacts, solid silver objects and furniture, rich furnishings, high ceilings, large portraits of erstwhile kings, chandliers and mirrors. You definately feel you are in a modern day palace.
The gardens, walkways and waterbodies are beautifully landscaped, serene and very relaxing. Do take the time to take a walk at sunset.

The rooms are designed such that all rooms offer fantastic views of the lake and the heritage buildings of the Jag Mandir and The City Palace beyond. All are all lit up at night and the view s are quite breathtaking..
The Sheesh Mahal restaurant has to be the most romantic in the world. Sitting by the lake dining by candlelight, sipping red wine, being served the most delicious local fare by incredibly polite and attentive staff, and gazing at the heritage buildings all lit up, was a truly magical experience.
The SPA is another must do at this hotel, treatment rooms by the lake and well trained masseurs are well worth it. The swimming pool is wonderful, it is lit at night by torches and has silver peacocks at the edge.
Interestingly, this hotel has special Palace-style plush Tuk-tuks, which you can drive or be driven to quaint 16th century alleyways and narrow streets behind the hotel, full of shops selling local fare.
The staff are humble, attentive and go out of their way to pamper you and make you feel extra special. Memories linger long after one leaves and I intend to go back very soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We have made this trip last August. As we wanted to give this place good time for writing its review, months passed by with some other travels around and several other hotel stays, but then it would be unjust to miss writing about the experience we had at the Leela in Udaipur.

We were promised airport pick-up (the airport is some good distance from the city). Our Kingfisher flight from Delhi was delayed for almost 3 always expandable hours! We finally could make it to Udaipur Airport, all exhausted. Getting out of the airport, start the dream! We found 2 smiling, very neatly dressed chauffeur personnel welcoming us. They did not leave with all that unpredictable delay. They said: if they left, it would be again too long time for us to wait them to come again from the city! There were 2 Limos waiting for our family of 2 parents and 2 boys! My wife and a boy in one, and me and a boy in the other, too much for our small family. Each chauffeur was taking very good care of his (VIP) guests before driving, offering wet towels, drinks etc. Incredibly beautiful Rajasthani Music, especially composed for the Leela (Leela Music) (never miss your CD copy of that if you stay there). On arrival to the hotel, we were again very well received, our picture taken (I wish they can email us this photo of us on arrival), immediately escorted to our rooms. First the 2 bedded Kids room with a host waiting inside to offer them chocolate, and introduce room amenities, then we were led to our room, open the door and again another hostess in beautiful attire standing waiting us inside. That was truly an incredible unforgettable reception. Our reservation was lake view rooms, but we were upgraded to 2 adjacent heritage view rooms. Views from one of the rooms were nothing short of breathtaking along the clock. From that same window, I had hundreds of different impression pictures for the changing day and night lights of the City Palace, Lake palace, and the lake itself.
I shall not write much about the ultra-tech rooms with traditional decor and their luxury and comfort. Many pictures are already on Trip Advisor for that.
Throughout the 3-nights stay, service was excellent, we tried the room service once, which was an extra ordinary service. During our stay, there was only one semi-functioning restaurant, but we were recommended by the staff to try the excellent Jagmandir in the middle of the lake with excellent setting and food. Maybe the butler service was a bit too much, but at least that was an extra-service not an under-service. With their over-protection, we used their chauffeur service twice, once with rickshaw for a relaxed city tour, and once again with one of these great cars to the beautiful Mountainside of Monsoon Palace. These people have the best chauffeur service I have seen. All extremely polite, caring, punctual.. hotel has also a ferry service at your disposal to reach to their Jetty close to City Palace. In your in and out of the hotel, do not miss walking through the beautiful garden by the lake. To all the people there, we thank you for a wonderful vacation we had in your hotel

Room Tip: heritage view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyecairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Went for a weekend break to Leela and loved every single minute of our stay at the hotel. We were upgraded to superior rooms that had private pool and awesome views. Leela's hospitality was remarkable and the hotel was perfect for a getaway, relaxation and romance.

We were provided pick up service at the hotel and the adn the memorable experience started with a warm welcome by the staff who made sure of our comfort throughut the stay.
The staff was very accomodating. We had special dietary requirement and our private butler made sure we got the best food even with all restrictions.

The rooms offered the stunning views of the lake and city palace, completely breathtaking especially in the morning. Just fell in love with the place. Hotel ambience n decor spells of luxury.

The food at the hotel was the best in town, from all that I tried. Completely love and wud certainly stay here next time I visit Udaipur

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing