We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed like Royalty stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We stayed like Royalty stays”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed 10 nights in suites at the Leela Palace at Udaipur. The place is a modern day palace, the owners have spend a fortune building it. When we checked in, they took our photographs and from them on, no Good morning sir by the staff but Good Morning Mr Mukhi. My wife is a veg and i am a non-veg. We eat very little and hotels do not know the concept of small servings, I turn vegetarian on holidays as the food servings for one dish are too much for both of us to finish. We would order a Thali which was 6 different small portions of both veg and non veg and we chose what dishes we wanted. My wife and I both got variety and dishes of our choice. The icing on the cake was the quality of service by the staff. One small incident comes to mind. The hotel insisted that one of their managers drop us to the airport. As our upgrade to business class did not happen, this manager actually called someone who knew someone at the airport who gave us row 1 in economy. He did not have to did this, he did and we keep coming back to the Leela. Hospitality is going beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    147
    17
    7
    12
See reviews for
594
744
42
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vadodara
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

wow,
it was like a dream hotel with all facilities u expect .room service + in room facilities + room decore + passage decore + staff response + evening programme + food + gym + cleanliness n each n every thing was excellent .
i was impressed by warm welcome : the way by small boat they are bringing us by lake to the hotel n under red umbrella and shower of rose petels..... wooooooow ..... as if i m the queen .n no regular formalities of registration but directly to my room :it was my best experience of life ,that is an indian hospitality !!! i had travelled a lot around the world but no where i found such warm welcome.
lake from my room looks owesome during rain .rooms were specious n so much choice of pillows???? u can't believe !!bath tub with rose petels on foam with candle , like a dream
every thing were up to mark but i just suggest ,they should keep some shallow area in pool for the one who are not much heighted n for babies

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Leela Palace Kempinski Udaipur sets some pretty high standards in terms of service, surroundings and ambition to do everything possible to make the guest feel comfortable. It is a truly stunning hotel, beautifully designed and in a great location on the lake (which did have lots of water this summer). The room even had picture-perfect views across the lake and Taj Palace Hotel towards Udaipur.

Airport pick-up in the air-conditioned "Leela" town car was very well organised and a short, relaxing drive, followed by a lovely boat trip across the lake gets you to the hotel in style.

Arriving there just a few weeks before the monsoon season, the hotel was fairly quiet - and staff were perhaps even more attentive and helpful then they might be at busier times. Wherever we went within the hotel and grounds, there was almost always someone there to hold a door open, ask if we needed help or simply greet us with a smile. Rooms and common areas are elegantly furnished and very clean, the garden, terraces and pool area in pristine condition.

We were happy to walk from the hotel into town most days (security at the gate is tight, which is a good sign) and explore Udaipur on foot, but the hotel also has drivers, cars and even a special Leela Palace tuk-tuk available if needed. Quite possibly, this is the only tuk-tuk in the State of Rajastan that actually affords curtains, cushions and a driver who has read the highway code at least once).

Breakfast was very good, we also had several meals at the main restaurant, all of which were very tasty, I particularly loved the Indian choices (they do a great biryani), but there is also a good selection of international dishes. And some very potent cocktails at the bar. Again, service was impeccable - restaurant staff seemed to be trained to high standards, which is great to see.

Often, it's the small but thoughtful touches that a guest will remember (and will make him/her return) - and Leela Palace Udaipur gets these just right. Like the complementary fresh juices and ice lollies at the pool (served from a little trolley, just at the time when you thought you could do with a refreshment), or the afternoon knock on the door with some food tasters, or the bottled water and fresh towels that are available just about everywhere.

Also had a couple of treatments at the Spa - very relaxing, and once again great service. The Swiss lady at the Spa reception was particularly helpful. The hotel offers complementary yoga sessions as well, early am and pm - a nice touch.

PS. No, I haven't been paid by the hotel chain - I simply really enjoyed staying there. :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Outstanding all around - service, design, food, location, management. Amazing.
Definitely one of the top 10 hotels in teh world.

Room Tip: Most or all room face the lake - romantic - very .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haib18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This has to be the best property in which I have stayed so far. From warm reception at the Airport till we left the property it was one of the most exhilarating experience for me and my family. We loved every bit of it be it the decor of the rooms or the lobby area or the outside view from the brink of the hotel. I can only sum it up by saying see it to beleive it provided you do not mind a hole in your pocket.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank atishayjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed in January 2011 for our Honeymoon.
It was a memory and just like a dream!
The typically welcome with flower petals and a ‘padharo mare des’ got me all teared up and it was just amazing!
We were upgraded to the Surya Mahal-what Luxury!
Working in the hospitality sector – we can admit we are picky and fuzzy but the whole team didn’t give us a chance to find anything!
Most romantic and enjoyable were the evenings in the Courtyard with artists singing and dancing- we actually felt like being ‘’royal’’!
Only sad part is that we lost the Music CD given on check out to us-it’s one of the best instrumentals collections I had ever heard!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriSandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Everything about Udaipur is unforgettable, and staying at the Leela simply elevates the experience to pure heaven. The drive to the city (from Jaipur) is magical, the city itself is transformative, the ride to the hotel by boat is once-in-a-lifetime.... The property is immaculately maintained and the only issue is how terribly hard it is to leave. The staff are gentle and friendly. The swimming pool makes you feel like a Hollywood star! The spa takes you to Cloud 9.... a simply perfect experience from beginning to end...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 157 in Udaipur
1,815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing