We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amet Haveli(Udaipur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sargam Sadan(Udaipur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,134)
Filter reviews
2,134 results
Traveller rating
1,927
163
20
7
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,927
163
20
7
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose petalsfloor butlersheesh mahallibrary barlake picholaboat ridepersonal butlerbutler servicelike royaltyroyal treatmentairport pickindian restaurantluxurious hotelspecial thanksf bamazing hospitalityevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,828 - 1,833 of 2,134 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The hotel is beautiful and has a very good spa.
Food is excellent.
Rooms are large and airy. Go for the heritage facing rooms though- as they have both- a view of the city's heritage buildings and also the lake.
The staff are friendly.
A special mention for the decor of the hotel which is rather unique and has incorporated local elements with grace and class!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anirudhvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This place is amazing. Grounds are beautiful. Service is spectacular. Had a food-related 24 hours of illness but hotel was helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We planned to have a lovely dinner at udaipur for which nearly all options were open.Out of all other five star properties we selected leela as we have stayed there once and were more than satisfied.
In the restaurant i dont have any issues with food and ambience,but when we recied the bill there was a catch!!
We were told to pay a minimum of rs 2000 as cover charge and 500 rs for boat tranportation for a group of three adults and a kid (by anand).
But in bill it was 2000 &500per person for both dinner and boat!!!!!!.
After an discussion they waiveted the cover charge on food but not for boat and ridiculously arguing that we were told previously which is in correct.
Here I must mention Udaivillas of Oberoi apart from being an upscale property the didnt asked either for a covercharge or for boat transportation when i inquired.but we didnt went there as there boat doesnt operate after 9 pm.Here I must mention this time we didnt stayed in leela only dined.we stayed some year back dont remember exact dates.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Building. This is one of those hotels designed by architects to impress, not to make guests feel comfortable. Depending on the section you stay in, you may have long walks inside to your room. The exterior is a feast of polished marble and sandstone on many levels with unlit hazards. There is very little green for such a huge area.

Service. The staff are plentiful, but poorly trained. Their presence is intrusive but ineffective. We found it impossible to walk in the grounds without being followed and being asked repeatedly if there was anything you needed. We only ate breakfast in the hotel. The selection was far inferior to that offered in other hotels we stayed in for a similar price in India and indeed that offered in far less expensive hotels; service largely ineffectual. A half hour wait for a poached egg could be a world record. Meanwhile there were no shortage of people trying to sell the spa - even intruding on your breakfast in their attempt.

Our room was large with everything you could need, but much you could live more comfortably without. The clutter of klitch was oppressive.

This is not real luxury but a pastiche put on by people who appear not to understand, or care, what travellers need.

Room Tip: Get a room in the same block as reception and the restaurant if you want to avoid an interminable walk.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The decor and the little details to the room was lovely. The staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, it was a beautiful experience. In my opinion, the Leela Palace in Udaipur is a gold standard for India's hotel industry.

Room Tip: A room facing the Taj and garden.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian-Ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews