We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxurious and awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxurious and awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Leela Udaipur is a fantastic property situated at a great location. The location of the hotel is such that all guests are transferred by a boat to the hotel, which makes the arrival an experience in itself. I loved the fact that the check-in process is undertaken in the room itself, so that one doesn’t have to hang around the lobby to check-in.

As far as the hotel is concerned, the management has infused every part of the hotel in luxury – from the rooms to the corridors to the lobby and even the pool and the gym. The rooms are really spacious, furnished tastefully and at the same time have all the amenities one requires. The hotel gets well lit at night and you are also treated to gorgeous views of the Lake Palace, the City Palace and the Jag Mandir. The restaurants and the pool area are great places to relax and you are pampered constantly by the ever-friendly staff. The staff are simply wonderful and make sure that ever demand of yours is met promptly, especially the staff at both the restaurants in the hotel. Even the chef who came to meet us was really courteous (which isn’t the case with many chefs!). One of the staff even helped us with shopping!

The food at both the restaurants is top-class – especially the Indian selection, which is probably better than most places I’ve eaten at. My only chance to crib is at their breakfast selection, which is fairly limited compared to similar category of hotels. The cold selection can get really monotonous, especially if you stay at the hotel for 3-4 days, so that is one area which definitely requires improvement.

The spa is just outstanding – easily the best I’ve ever been to. It is expensive, but rest assured, worth every penny.

It is a very expensive hotel, no doubt, and I’d wish their room prices would come down by a little at least. But overall, we had a blast at this hotel and it is definitely a place I would want to go back to.

Room Tip: Opt for a higher floor room in the Heritage category - the view from there is priceless
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauthamg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,428
    141
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
510
674
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

A truly magical place as long as you DO NOT EAT AT SHEESH MAJAL. The palace's other restaurants are excellent and much more reasonably priced. The room was amazing in every way. The room service was very good as well. The concierge was not as helpful as they should have been though. Be sure to see the live music/dance performance at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We travel extensively but this is the the most luxurious hotel ever. It is not a large property, but they have managed in infuse luxury and ambience in every crevice. The rooms are beautifully decorated with lots of delicious treats to eat at every turn, which are constantly replenished.
Restaurants are delightful as are the grounds, with together with the staff uniforms, feels like being in a luxury palace rather than hotel.

Pool service lovely too with baskets full of goodies next to your sunbeds.

The only slight criticism is the lacklustre breakfast buffet. We spent last night at new Sofitel in Mumbai (business hotel but new). The buffet there was indesribable as there was so much stunning choice. We would respectfully suggest one of the chefs/managers visits this hotel or one of the many others in India, all of whom offer a much wider choice of goods at the breakfast buffet.

The terrace would beneift from a little more shade so tourists from colder climes like ourselves (sat in UK in rain today) could benefit from sitting outside when its really hot.

This hotel however raises the bar for luxury now and any hotel opening has a very hard act to follow.

We shall unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to all our friends as a 'must' if visiting Udaipur.

Having previously visited the new Oberoi in Delhi which was also magnificent, we shall follow the new Leelas as they open in India rather than other hotel chains.

Room Tip: Front lake view on upper floor best view. Sure the lake front suites are lovely too, though did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel has to be one of the most amazing experiences we have ever encountered. We have been lucky to stay in some exceptional hotels, but this was the best hotel we have stayed in.
The rooms are amazing and the food was of a very high standard and the staff were simply wonderful, with special little touches daily. They seemed to be able to make you feel like you were the most important guests staying at the hotel but everybody felt this way, you really did feel like Royalty. This was our last stop on our trip around India and we could not have finished our wonderful holiday in this amazing country at a better place. If you are thinking of booking this hotel, then just do it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Having come from the award winning Oberoi in Jaipur just a few days before, expectations were high for the Leela Palace in Udaipur. We were not disappointed at any point and I daresay, the Leela Palace is now our favourite hotel experience to date.

From the rose petal shower welcome, we were treated like royalty at every turn. Staff were amazingly kind and accommodating without being overwhelming; they really make the experience what it is! Jitender, who looks after guests at the pool, was especially sweet and we loved just spending time having drinks and listening to the birds sing while he lavished us with complimentary juices and iced fruits.

The setting is beyond compare - surely one of the best views in Udaipur, you can see the City Palace and Lake Palace from the grounds (and from our lake view room) and the site has been built around a 400 year old Hindu temple. Everything is done tastefully and has clearly been thought out aesthetically.

Our room was perfect - again, tasteful, romantic, with very modern features like lighting level adjustments at the touch of a button. The bed faced the lake which was lovely, and the separate bath/shower/walk in wardrobe/water closet were wonderful.

We had massage treatments at the spa and these were absolutely top notch. We also ate at the Sheesh Mahal restaurant and had not just a fantastic meal but a real experience, from the hand washing ceremony to the bracelet tying at the end of the meal.

Though it's hard to leave the hotel, the location is perfect because if you depart from the service entrance you can easily walk around the city and watch the locals (and cows!) walking around, and easily walk to the City Palace. There is also great shopping along every road and Udaipur has a lovely feel.

I could go on forever about this experience - there's a reason why it gets 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor, choose this one if you're going to Udaipur!!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lululie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The Leela Palace is now 3 years old and really does have everything for the 21st century traveller. It is situated on Lake Pichola looking out over no less than three
palaces! The "back" entrance is not suitable for vehicles being via incredibly narrow potholed streets so visitors are brought across the lake by boat and given a wonderful welcome. The place is beautifully furnished and the service has to be experienced to be believed. This is the first time I have come across a sunglasses cleaning service at the pool!! I'd go back tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: I would be very surprised if there was a bad room. Having said that views over the lake are obvious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The Leela Palace is the newest hotel on Lake Pichola and probably has the best views of all the hotels, including the Lake Palace (Taj) and Udai Vilas (Oberoi). Extremely luxurious and excellent service. My wife and I felt that the decor was a bit over the top and the rooms a bit overcrowded with stuff. But overall, can't fault the hotel for much and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Take the lake view rooms, and try and get a higher floor (rooms are on 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdityaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 149 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 149 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 149 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing