We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience and worth the $”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great experience and worth the $”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

A "small" but grand hotel, only 80 rooms but a huge experience.

Stay in a room with a balcony, so great to watch dawn and sunset from your own terrace.
Ok, so the place has Mosquitos , as do most , just pack repellent and enjoy drinks on the terrace.
The service and style in the restaurants and bar are to be treasured.
Arrive by water and bask in all the attention.
The public areas are beautifully furnished with silver furniture,mall the staff are smartly turned out good looking.
The design of the rooms are great , a separate room with a door for luggage and the tat one inevitably picks up , a separate room just for the huge bath tub opposite the main separate bathroom and shower etc.
A huge flat screen and a Bose iPhone sound dock all add to the overall package.
Escape the solicitous attention of the ground staff and seek out the back gate early morning to wander down to the temple past the Amet Haveli and watch the locals do Puja and wash in the lake at the ghats near the temple and huge tree on the Akers edge and take that Lonely Planet master photo!
The spa buildings, pools and gardens look stunning
Yes, I'm a fan!

Room Tip: Book a terrace / balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inigojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    147
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
544
720
39
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We needed to make a trip over to Punjab for a charity event in October 2012, and with the children having 2 week half term, we thought it was an ideal time to have a look around Delhi and enough time for one other place. We had booked Jaipur, but good friends insisted we travelled to Udaipur instead. My brother is a frequent traveller and has stayed at many Leela Hotels, and he suggested the hotel. So, we arrived with a group of 10 of us, adults, children 13-8 yrs, and a couple. Met at the airport by the hotel drivers, who discussed with us in detail various things to do in the 72 hours or so we had in this wonderful city. We then arrived at the Jetty, yes, we cant drive to the hotel, so we were taken to a boat, which made a short 10minute excursion across the lake - awesome - absolutely breathtaking - we landed, met by the Assistant then General Manager, but just before that we were greated by a local band as well as rose petals falling from the sky. We have travelled a fair bit of the years, but we have never ever been greated in such grandeur ever - awesome. Our rooms were fabulous, but the level service was second to none that we have ever experienced. The staff, butler just simply couldnt do enough for us - always there, even when you didnt think you need any more, they were there. simply couldnt do enough.
Food choice, quality outstanding.
If you want a get away from it all break, and you are able to make the journey over, The Leela is truly an outstanding experience, that if you can, you should.

Room Tip: spend at least a week here - and switch off your mobile/laptop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

After several hours in a hectic curving road we arrive at a majestic lake where we boarded a boat to tai us to our hotel. As you come upon it you realize you are in for a real treat. The music is playing and chanting is taking place as you descend the boat and arrive at this Palace on the side of the lake. The hotels grounds are a mix of water gardens mosaic and walk ways. Amazing and beautiful hap it al flows and works together to create a magnificent setting. The room was large with a sit in area that allows you to come back and rest up. There are delicious chocolates and cookies placed every night for your enjoyment. Udiapur is fantastic and beautiful. You can not go wrong at this majestic palace. The staff is amazing with can do attitude. there is nothing they wont do for you. And all of this is done with the most incredible demeanor. A must in Udiapur.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Oberoi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgehenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

It is a very well kept property with world class unmatched service. I had a memorable stay. The approach to the hotel via the boat is very enjoyable. The staff looked after us very well. The chekin process was the fastest i have ever experienced at any of the good five star hotels.

Room Tip: look for a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amitoberai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Absolutely the best service in the world. The rooms are amazing and the food and grounds are best in class! My first trip to India and I will be back for sure! The staff does everything possible to make your stay magical and memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This will be my first complaint about overly excellent service, which is to say that the staff is so overly attentive that I thought someone might offer to chew my food for me. After a while the constant attention starts to exhaust you. The staff seem to be competing to be sure they are not the only one not to offer their assistance.

But don't let this dissuade you from coming to this hotel. I was planning on spending my last night at the Taj hotel, but extended my stay at the Leela instead because I was quite comfortable at the Leela and couldn't get motivated to move on.

There are only 3-4 choices for five star hotels in Udaipur, and this one is hard to beat.

Room Tip: You're here because of the lake setting, so make sure you get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G4gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing