We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Six star luxury but service can be slack”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Six star luxury but service can be slack”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world, but the location and appointment of the Leela Palace takes some beating. The luxury is sumptuous; this is a truly beautiful hotel. Our bedroom suite was appointed to the highest standards.....we had a large bedroom, dressing room, bathroom(s) all with the latest mod cons and technology. There was a plunge pool and a garden swing seat outside. The swimming pool is large, cool, and excellent although not ideal for children as it has no shallow end to speak of, although this aspect didn't bother us on this trip. This is a truly romantic setting.
One quibble we raised with the management was that the service is charming and enthusiastic, but isn't very efficient and does not match the high standard of the hotel. There were numerous examples of slow service, misunderstandings and things that just did not happen, but overall this did not interfere with our verdict.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stravaiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    147
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
557
730
41
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Udaipur has three great hotels - the Taj, the Oberoi and the Leela. The Taj, although the most luxurious, requires a transfer too and fro by boat. The Oberoi has the most stunning architecture but is a little far out and not all the rooms face the lake. The Leela is the newest, has road access for those who want to walk into town and has wonderful views directly onto the Maharanas palace. Good value if you get the early booking rate with a 30% discount. Shore side gardens are a great place to sit and read under the guava trees. Transfer from airport drops you at th bot dock and then a private journey across the lake - marvellous.

Pros : Great rooms, wonderful showers, spotlessly clean, warm welcome, friendly efficient staff. ESPA spa, good swimming pool. Easy walk into town for those willing to brave Indian streets. Airport pickup efficient and reasonable.A feeling that this hotel is managed ' hands on' and any problems dealt with straight away. A sense that the staff are interested . All speak beautiful English.

Cons : Design rather like the La Guardia airport Sheraton on steroids. Lots of 'faux' cupolas and domes. Low level lighting at night makes the walk across the courtyard pool garden a challenge for older guests. Indian restaurant on the lake shore v.good but International restaurant rather humdrum.

Conclusion : Modern, comfortable and value for money. Great location. Staff well trained and helpful. Arrange to eat on the lake side restaurant one night, then have dinner in the Oberoi another night and the Taj a third. International restaurant fine for a club sandwich. Book a room with a palace view in the block that houses reception. Third floor odd numbers best . Modern, well managed, luxury. Would be a 5 star if it wasn't for the limited dining options. Staff are exceptional.

Room Tip: Top floor in reception block. Aim for rooms between 311-317. Early booking rate makes this place gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

we stayed at the Leela Palace last june 2012 and its really the most memorable experience i ever had.The best hotel in my almost 2 decades of traveling.The location is in the middle of a lake.The rooms are worthy of royals.The food is sumptous.The staff are courteous and friendly.The pool is huge and everything is lovely.Its perfect and definitely will come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingging_cebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France/ Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed in the Leela Palace 2 weeks ago as we were touring India. I don't want to spoil the surprises they have for you but it was our favourite hotel during that trip, along with the Taj Rambagh in Jaipur and the Serail in Jaisalmer. The rooms are beautiful, the service is outstanding and the location is sublime. It is also close to some nice restaurants nearby so don't be afraid to exit the hotel and discover Udaipur which is really an amazing city. We will definitely go back !

Room Tip: Just ask for a lake view room, even if it is not facing the City Palace side, the view will be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarieTipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

What a stunning place !
The first view of Udaipur waterfront from the boat was truly memorable. The hotel welcome was charming as we're all the staff and everything else about our four day stay. The hotel's ambience is sumptuous but still comfortable and friendly. It's worth having a room with a lake view it's very special, like no where else in the world.
We ate on the terrace every night , the food was excellent.......the pool is magnificent , the grounds are beautiful, the hotel's position is wonderful . In many years of travelling, the Leela Udaipur was as good as it gets, the sun shone and we didn't see one mosquito ! It was perfect.

Room Tip: a lake view room is worth the extra cost. Take an evening boat ride twas joy the setting sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Rooms are really good, food too. Breackfast is excellent and spa is super.
I had a wonderfull view of the lake. After 8 hours travelling from jaypur to udaipur...it was like to be in a paradise to arrive there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My family and I stayed here in Feb of 2012 and we have been raving about it ever since. This was by far one of the best hotel experiences of my life! Each guest is treated like royalty and the hotel rooms/interiors only enhance the experience of true elegance. The staff are incredibly accomodating and it is obvious that customer service is at the heart of the company's philosophy. If you are looking for a hotel that seamlessly fuses modern amenities with the heart and soul of Udaipur, I would highly recommend the Leela.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amerchan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing