We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

we stayed in this hotel with the family - they accomodated us even though we reached there well before the check in time. The staff was most courteous and helpful. Each and every corner of the hotel has been tastefully decorated. The break fast was good. We ate in the hotel all the time hence only thing I would say is that the quantity of each dish was very small for the charge we were paying. As the hotel is in the middle of the lake, it is not practicle for anyone to go out to eat. I think the hotel can do with some more dishes to their menu and provide better value for the food. Nothing else requires any attention as one would feel pampered every min. of their stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monavora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for The Leela Palace Udaipur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

At the end of a very hectic holiday in India we were delighted to arrive at the Leela. It's relaxing atmosphere, pampering by staff and delicious food was just what we needed. I went to the spa which was an amazing experience. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough; it was faultless

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wutheringheight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we have travelled extensively. The greeting on our arrival was amazing and so much fun. The hotel is absolutely stunning, every room and space we saw was just so beautiful, so much thought had gone into the décor. The service was superlative, our every need was catered for throughout our stay. All the meals we ate were delicious. Nothing could be bettered. We will certainly recommend the Leela Palace.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaandRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have been to more than my fair share of hotels in India and can , without a doubt in my mind, claim that this is the best hotel in India I have ever been to. Every single aspect about this property lives and breathes luxury and attention to detail. Let me give some examples

- Airport transfer in BMW Cars
- A serene boat ride across Lake Pichola to reach the hotel on the other side (crossing Jag Mandir and the Taj City Palace)
- A troupe of traditional Rajasthani folk singers, welcoming visitors with musical compositions from the desert
- A variety of exquisite art work in marble and metal, littered across the property
- Amazing food, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian
- Incredible service staff: Invisible when you are not thinking about them and always at hand when you are
- Lovely weather and breeze in the evening

Overall, a brilliant experience

Room Tip: Tip # 1: Get rooms that face the lake front on if you can. Tip # 2: Try and get up early and go to...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRangarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

A memorable experience. Excellent service and facilities. Exotic location near the lake. The evening Rajasthani music is a relaxing experience indeed. The travel by boat to reach and leave the hotel and the courtesy shown by the staff is absolutely overwhelming.Overall, an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoNeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I was on my first trip to Rajasthan with my wife and decided to start off my India sojourn from the City of Lakes – Udaipur. Had read in some of the reviews that The Leela owns a chain of 5 star hotels and resorts across India and hence decided to check out the swanky looking resort - The Leela Palace in Udaipur.

Trip was a tour of Udaipur,Nathdwara,Mount Abu including stay so booking was made from Antilog Vacations – a good travel agent for Rajasthan.Rates were low with good services

We got a nice pick up from the airport and we immediately felt at home during our drive.
The Leela Palace is located bordering the Pichola Lake and hence offers superb lake view rooms. However on entering I could sense that the good looks were a touch superficial and the interiors were not as good as they were projected to be looking from the outside. The heritage room that we got though was exquisite. The view of the lake and the landscaped gardens from our room was truly awe inspiring. The lovely pool area was visible from the room too. The bath was nicely done with princely showers and bathtub. Wifi connection was also available in the rooms, though the speed of the connection left a lot to be desired. The Leela could do with an increase in bandwidth.

The food was a mixture of oriental, continental and Indian fare. The entry to the dining hall was grand with showering of rose petals. Traditional Rajasthani folk music was arranged which I understood was known as Sangeet chowki. The ambience created with the music and the sumptuous food was truly awesome and to add to the feel, the lake glistened in moonlight too. Perfect setting, perfect dinner.

The service of the hotel staff is top notch and we consistently were made to feel at home. Thus barring a few minute glitches, the Leela Palace stands out proudly in the Rajasthan Hotels map and is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Udaipur is like the Venice of the East- it is truly magnificent !!! On arrival at the Leela Palace Jetty you are escorted to the awaiting boat under the shade of an umbrella in true royal style. You pass the very grand and opulent City Palace which adorns the banks of the Pichola Lake.
The Leela has breathtaking views of the Aravali mountains, the City Palace or the lake, which you can enjoy from your room( depending on room you have booked).
The rooms are modern and well equipped with a wonderful bathroom- interesting design.
The service is amazing - I mentioned to the food and beverage manager that I really enjoyed the Ginger tea At the spa .... even though they don't serve this particular tea in the restaurants, he made sure that I received a few bags with his compliments to enjoy!
We enjoyed a romantic dinner at their Lakeside restaurant- really outstanding experience!
The Leela Palace is a majestic hotel and is the quintessence of luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 163 in Udaipur
1,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £278 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing