We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional, friendly service, gorgeous location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We took an impromptu vacation to Udaipur and were lucky to find a room at the Leela.
It turned out to be a great property in a very pretty setting. The view from our room was magical, especially at night.
The service was impeccable. The staff looked after our every need and made us feel special.
Highly recommended property for staying.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smohin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Leela Palace is an excellent hotel, better than most 5 star North American hotels. As such, the rooms are quite expensive and so is the dining experience. We highly enjoyed our stay however we also felt guilty spoiling ourselves while trying to experience the 'real' India... So suit yourself.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kvdg-mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We been there on 14 of feb, to celebrate our anniversary....and now I can say that this is the only place to be for such a romantic occasion....Actually I have no words to describe....everything is so beautiful and perfect.... as n when we reach at hotel the celebration starts by warm welcome by the staff ...it was like a prince and princess enters in there palace ....the showering of rose pattles was the awesome.....this is the one of the best thing I have noticed is that u are not require to wait in the lobby or at reception for check in... U r directly taken to the rooms and the check in formalities has been completed at room itself ....the room was just outstanding .....the room has stunning view of lack and city palace ..... I think this is the best room ....the bathrooms are very well set and the bathroom concept is very unique.....the breakfast is well spread....and tasty too.....they have arrange our valentine and anniversary dinner at sheesh mahal.....omg is was perfect romantic dinner ....the arrangement is awesome... Food is just outstanding.....special thanks to Mr Rajveer (F and B manager) who has done all the arrangements ...the spa is also too good ....In total this was our one of the best anniversary celebration .....I would also like to thanks Mr Punit (front office) who has also look after all the things.....we both enjoyed a lot and a special thanks to Leela Palace Udaipur who made my anniversary memorable .....I highly recommend ....and looking forward to go again there.....

Room Tip: Chose Heritage View with Balcony Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajay_Mundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Staying leela in my visit to udaipur was the best decision of my lifetime.This hotel is like a perfect jewel on a bank of lake. The ultra luxury. Great experience. If one would like to get feel of five star experience, i must recommend Leela palace. Very good location just on the lake pichola. All major visit place are very near. True value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A highlight of our holiday in Rajasthan was for my wife and i to drink a lovely bottle of chilled wine watching the sun set over Lake Pichola in Udaipur, followed by an excellent dinner sat outside under the stars but with a roaring brazier by our side to keep us warm - early February nights are cool!
Normally, you can't eat at the hotel unless you are staying overnight (sadly horrendously expensive), but a local friend of ours arranged it anyway.
The meal was not cheap by Indian or even UK standards - ~ £135 for two including wine - but we thought it worth every penny for the combination of setting, service and food quality. The flavours from the spices were some of the best we had during the whole holiday

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel is like a perfect jewel on a bank of lake! This was our anniversary trip to showcase my country to my husband. By the time we got to this palace my husband was having the time of his life!
The leela palace was the reason we decided to spend our anniversery in udaipur. We had been to udaipur earlier ( on the occasion of our first marriage anniversary in 2009 ) and were in love with its temples , lakes , mountains, palaces and vintage cars. But the place that took my breath away was the leela palace in the bank of lake pichola. I had made a promise to myself that if I ever come back to the city it will be for this palace hotel .
We arrived at the airport in the afternoon. After 30 minutes of car ride and 15 minutes of boat ride we reached the palace. The staff welcomed us royally showing rose petals.Serenity was what we felt at time .
The base room felt a bit constricted as there was very little space to walk around. The selection of tea and coffee in the room was the best that could be provided. The Private dining was a complete value for money as the portions were large enough for 2 people. The thali had the best kulfi I have ever tasted. However some authentic Rajasthani cuisines like laal maas , kerr sangri were prepared to cater to the foreigners and seemed bland for an Indian spice lover . Breakfast was worth a mention . The spread had everything one can ask for and the egg Benedict was sublime.
A couple of incidents were appalling and dampened the mood - our server Vivekanand was very knowledgeable . we just came for our dinner in the dinning room restro ,Vivekanand came to us asked about our experience and took our order and suggest us some delicious delicacy of food from menu with the combination of nice wine. Than after some time he came to us and started conversation with us , than we told him that we have city tour plan next day,than he gave very deep knowledge about places and history as well. The way he started talking about his hometown Udaipur we just wanted to listen more more and more. By the time our food came he got us the print out and guide of all the destination of Udaipur.we travelled almost half of the world but no body touched our heart like this. We appericiate his work and his pleasant personality. Thank you vivekanand.. The smallest of the things places there seemed stunning.. The size of the bathroom was as big as the bed room .. The folk music and the folk dance from the palace hotel are still reeling in my ears as I am writing the review.leela palace has an new world charm with modern amenities. It's bright , extravagant, opulent yet so quaint . The beautiful library bar ,the sheesh mahal.and the champagne bar at sheeshmahal terrace awsome view . we ill not forget. Most importantly the staff - especially at the restaurants made us feel a part of a family for 3 days. Can any other place better that . Guess not.

Room Tip: Blindly stay in this hotel you ill automatically came to that how outstanding it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaira461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A fantastic piece of property with an impressive boat ride to the hotel itself. Really makes you feel like royalty with lots of pomp and circumstance by staff in traditional clothing and a "butler" who takes care of each floor. While there are lots of staff constantly swirling around, our dinner took over an hour to get to our table and to make it worse, the order was wrong. After lots of back-and-forth we finally had to speak to the chef directly to get our order right but by then our dinner had been completely ruined nearly two hours later. The food & beverage managers did try to compensate for their miscommunication by giving us free dessert, but it was too late. We also had to wait for over 15 minutes after calling on the phone for a single staff to come and help us at the Business Center. Also Internet is not included in the room fee and you are forced to purchase a WiFi package if you want to go online. BUT our floor butler was very warm, genuine and helpful. Ask for Bhagwati to be your butler if you get the chance. His kindness will help you to overlook the management's lack of attention to detail and inability to respond to custom requests that shouldn't be a problem for the price you're paying for this hotel. To end on a more upbeat note, the best part is probably the stunning view from the room that overlooks Lake Pichola, as well as the night view from the al fresco dining area to transports you to an alternate reality that only seemed possible in Bollywood films.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheVeggieVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 177 in Udaipur
3,226 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 177 in Udaipur
2,020 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#7 of 177 in Udaipur
2,870 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 177 in Udaipur
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £242 - £662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing