We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Udaipur in Rajasthan is an Indian jewel. The City emerges in magnificent style from Lake Pichola and then straggles off through winding streets and bazaars into the surrounding Aravalli hills. The utterly gorgeous palaces - the City and Lake Palaces dating back to the 16th century - and other architectural wonders, as well as the many ghats and temples that arise from the lake’s waters are breathtaking, especially at sunset when they turn a milky gold, and after dark when they shimmer, floodlit in the still waters. The modern Leela Palace Hotel is perfectly situated to make the most of all this beauty. Located across from the two ancient palaces, the openness of the hotel design allows guests to take in the views from the gardens, restaurant, terrace bar, and balconies that come with so many of the hotel’s 80 rooms and suites. Our favourite spot was the lakeside restaurant, the Sheesh Mahal, which served up delicious Indian cuisine in the evening. We ate there every night of our stay, marvelling at the views, the food, and the simply beautiful service. In fact, such service was characteristic of what we enjoyed throughout our stay at the Leela Palace: always helpful, respectful and kind, but never overwhelming or underfoot. I highly recommend this hotel and this city. It was the pinnacle of our visit to northern India and we would return in a shot.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite. It was gorgeous. The only drawback was the very messy pigeons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,428
    141
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
510
674
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chandigarh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My parents had a pleasant stay at leela udaipur on 10th march 14.
Nice stay...they enjoyed.
The stay for them was lovely. The green lawns are lavish for walk...Welcome was good...rooms were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
172 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our room and bathroom, were large and beautifully decorated, with crisp white bedlinen and fluffy towels. A large balcony gave us good and unusual views of Lake Pichola - a delight. The public areas of the hotel were ornate but stylish.

At times we were uncomfortable with the excessive attention of the staff. They need to be a bit more discreet.

Breakfasts were very good, but perhaps not as good as they should be for a hotel of this price. We had lunch on arrival, and it was quite disappointing.

An interesting experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Leela lives up to it's reputation.. luxury splendor comfort beauty style .. service is impeccable.. staying here has to be on your bucket list. Even just a plain jetty ride to the pier n back at night is brilliant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Akshay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I am a native of Udaipur. During our recent visit we visited Pichola Lake and decided to go for coffee and snacks to the Leela Palace. We went by road and therefore had to circumvent the sad approach road to reach to the Hotel. From the small parking we started walking up looking for the coffee shop. We met 2 associates who gave us the directions. We kept moving ahead and asked one more staff member who also guided us the same way. 'Escorting the guest is not in the culture I believe. They keep pointing'. Still there was no signage or anything which could have guided us. Finally we asked one more associate who told us that entire hotel has been rented out for a wedding and therefore they are not serving any other guest!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wow I never knew that leela palace doubles up as a wedding guest house. Even though they decided to dilute their brand value why none of the associates are briefed. Ideally the doorman should have only stopped us. Here we are walking and asking staff for directions for almost fifteen minutes before someone decides to tell us.
Horrible customer service,inefficient management and extremely poor down the line communication. Never consider such an unprofessional hotel for anything. You never know you will be boundced off because they get a wedding block. Proactive communication is as such not seems to be their cup of tea. Disappointed to the core.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RSA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

we had our eo new delhi retreat at this hotel. about 80 of us were accomodated and taken special care of. we had great fun and everything was overseen with great care. we loved the food the various sit outs and temporary bars created for the group. the kids ran around amok and had fun too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skhemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

this hotel is very nice hotel. i have never seen this type of hotel in udaypur.this hotel is having very great interiors. this hotel is having very great food.this hotel service are also very nice.
its feeling very great to be in this hotel.we feel very comfortable and want to visit again whenever we are in udaypur.

Room Tip: higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vim232224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 149 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 149 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 149 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing