We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in Udaipur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Jewel in Udaipur”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I am highly recommending this hotel to travelers who wish to truly experience the highest level of luxury and customer service. The location - on the banks of Lake Pichola is awesome providing stunning views. The rooms are maintained to the highest level of cleanliness and are of good size. Our room had a balcony offering great views of the Lake. The pool was beautiful. Room Service very efficient. The Spa is awesome and well deserved pampering.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elite_traveler_927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    147
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
571
735
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was the last hotel we stayed at during our tour of Rajasthan, it did not disappoint. You arrive by boat, we arrived at night, it was a stunning view of the lake and surrounding area lit up. The pool was large and well maintained with fantastic changing facilities. Great bedroom overlooking lake. India restaurant overlooking lake fantastic with night show. Highly recommend Leela Palace group of hotels (Delhi Leela Palace fantastic, better breakfast)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrG406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Udaipur in Rajasthan is an Indian jewel. The City emerges in magnificent style from Lake Pichola and then straggles off through winding streets and bazaars into the surrounding Aravalli hills. The utterly gorgeous palaces - the City and Lake Palaces dating back to the 16th century - and other architectural wonders, as well as the many ghats and temples that arise from the lake’s waters are breathtaking, especially at sunset when they turn a milky gold, and after dark when they shimmer, floodlit in the still waters. The modern Leela Palace Hotel is perfectly situated to make the most of all this beauty. Located across from the two ancient palaces, the openness of the hotel design allows guests to take in the views from the gardens, restaurant, terrace bar, and balconies that come with so many of the hotel’s 80 rooms and suites. Our favourite spot was the lakeside restaurant, the Sheesh Mahal, which served up delicious Indian cuisine in the evening. We ate there every night of our stay, marvelling at the views, the food, and the simply beautiful service. In fact, such service was characteristic of what we enjoyed throughout our stay at the Leela Palace: always helpful, respectful and kind, but never overwhelming or underfoot. I highly recommend this hotel and this city. It was the pinnacle of our visit to northern India and we would return in a shot.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite. It was gorgeous. The only drawback was the very messy pigeons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandigarh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My parents had a pleasant stay at leela udaipur on 10th march 14.
Nice stay...they enjoyed.
The stay for them was lovely. The green lawns are lavish for walk...Welcome was good...rooms were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our room and bathroom, were large and beautifully decorated, with crisp white bedlinen and fluffy towels. A large balcony gave us good and unusual views of Lake Pichola - a delight. The public areas of the hotel were ornate but stylish.

At times we were uncomfortable with the excessive attention of the staff. They need to be a bit more discreet.

Breakfasts were very good, but perhaps not as good as they should be for a hotel of this price. We had lunch on arrival, and it was quite disappointing.

An interesting experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoRoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Leela lives up to it's reputation.. luxury splendor comfort beauty style .. service is impeccable.. staying here has to be on your bucket list. Even just a plain jetty ride to the pier n back at night is brilliant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Akshay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I am a native of Udaipur. During our recent visit we visited Pichola Lake and decided to go for coffee and snacks to the Leela Palace. We went by road and therefore had to circumvent the sad approach road to reach to the Hotel. From the small parking we started walking up looking for the coffee shop. We met 2 associates who gave us the directions. We kept moving ahead and asked one more staff member who also guided us the same way. 'Escorting the guest is not in the culture I believe. They keep pointing'. Still there was no signage or anything which could have guided us. Finally we asked one more associate who told us that entire hotel has been rented out for a wedding and therefore they are not serving any other guest!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wow I never knew that leela palace doubles up as a wedding guest house. Even though they decided to dilute their brand value why none of the associates are briefed. Ideally the doorman should have only stopped us. Here we are walking and asking staff for directions for almost fifteen minutes before someone decides to tell us.
Horrible customer service,inefficient management and extremely poor down the line communication. Never consider such an unprofessional hotel for anything. You never know you will be boundced off because they get a wedding block. Proactive communication is as such not seems to be their cup of tea. Disappointed to the core.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RSA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 156 in Udaipur
1,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#16 of 156 in Udaipur
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing