We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent truely worth staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent hospitality,superb location,vry well furnished rooms,yummy food,jetty service across lake pichola is also very beautifull in all truely worth staying hoping 2 come back again in d month of december

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hiteshme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Located right on a water body, the hotel give you a very surreal feeling...hospitality is great with good facilities. The hotel is very modernish and not close to the heritage of udaipur. The rooms are great and have a great attention to detail.The food is average and the staff can definitely be improved.

the jetty rides are awesome and taking a ride on the lake during sunsets is just like a scene out of the movies.

all in all a good place to stay but they can definitely up their game

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subarnanandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hi,
I had visited Leela Udaipur in Sep 13, for a business conference for two days. Man .... The place is Picture Perfect. Wide Views of the calm waters of Pichola lake, to picturesque morning sunrise and equally beautiful evening sunsets, I fell in love with the property. Though cramped with space, don't expect huge lobbies, corridors and massive reception and welcome area, the effort made to accommodate everything in the limited but perfectly located property deserves appreciation.

Though I had a wide spread resort type layout in mind before landing at the deck via boat after parking my car on the opposite bay, I was not much impressed with the entrance. But through my stay in this hotel, I figured out the limited land availability and why the entry which normally is the first impression point in any luxury hotel or resort is not so convincing.

The USP and the most impressive point during my entire stay was the rooms. Immaculately designed, Uber Royal interiors left me feeling like a Royal star. Attention to detail is immense and the luxury one feels is unlimited once you enter the room.

For sure, once I entered the room, the entire impression of the property changed to a new high. I personally like more royal and enthinic touch to things, so I liked the overall ambience of the hotel very much.

I was on a business trip, thus could not spend more time exploring and enjoying the property, but one thing that needs mention is Food. Food was definaltely NOT up to the mark. From fixed lunch and dinners, to cocktail at night, the food could have been much better. The same experience followed the next day morning at Breakfast. Easily any 3*+ property would have a wider spread than the one which was on offer. Again the breakfast area felt small and crampy too, to relax and enjoy the days first meal.

My view of the hotel is that if falls in between a hotel and a luxury resort category. High attention is given to detailing and it felt very royal and traditional as well. But food could have added another feather, which actually was on the expected lines, but disappointed.

Overall, a sure shot choice to stay Royal !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhruv6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The experience Leela Palace Udaipur offers is one of the best I've had!
The ride from the jetty to the actual premises is also very good, with the gentle lap of Pichola and a up-close look of the Jag Mandir.
The staff was very warm and seemed to genuinely care. The premises and their facilities themselves are perfect for just relaxing - a swimming pool, spa, badminton, croquet.
The food was mind blowing, and the service was quick and handled well.
The rooms are, in all honesty, fit for kings and the view at any time of the day is splendid.
I'd give it a 5 star, but we had a management problem...

Room Tip: No-brainer, but take the ones on the 3rd floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anitej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, General Manager at The Leela Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the amazing review and your valuable ratings.

We are delighted you had a memorable stay at The Leela Palace Udaipur. We value your generous compliments about the luxury, the royal experience, the beauty and having a relaxing holiday makes us feel this is what true hospitality and service is about in creating these Leela moments for all our guests,

Once again we thank you and look forward to your visit again to The Leela Palace Udaipur in the near future.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sahai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Absolutely amazing experience courtsey the hospitality of the Leela team....good to see emotions and connect being given its due importance by the Leela team and not only business....and yes, a gr8 luxury property too....10 on 10 for every aspect other than for kitchen hygiene where things cud still be improved to ensure that its as good as all other aspects....nonetheless, strongly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms r lake facing....if u like to sit out, go for the rooms with balcony options and yes, take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aunibanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, General Manager at The Leela Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Dear Guest,

It only gets better and better on motivation levels for the entire team working at The Leela Palace, Udaipur on reading such positive comments.

Our sincere gratitude and we thank you immensely for raving about the hotel, our hospitality and do value your ratings.

We thank you for sharing your experience and strongly recommending the hotel to the review readers.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back to The Leela Palace, Udaipur or any of The Leela properties in India in the near future.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sahai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The setting of the hotel is stunning on the lakeside and accessed by boat from the hotels own. May is out of season and with temperatures at 40c plus the hotel was quiet. However cool breezes from the lake plus the very dry air made feel reasonably comfortable and. Much less oppressive than Mumbai or goa with temperatures 10c less.
Service was very good, room excellent and food good but more expensive than many restaurants in the area. But the setting for diner in the stunning gardens and pool area was breathtaking with a fairyland of lights and water against a backdrop of ancient illuminated palaces that appeared to float above a shimmering lake of purple and silver.
The town felt safe and far less hassle than many similar places.

Room Tip: Alike view room is a real bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, General Manager at The Leela Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you sparing the time in posting your encouraging feedback and sharing your experience of your stay at The Leela Palace Udaipur.

We are truly delighted that you spent an enjoyable and relaxed holiday during your trip to Udaipur.

Very rightly putting it across the hotel location is beautiful with the backdrop of the lake and heritage buildings when illuminated at night does makes the view stunning.

We appreciate your recommendation of the city.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back to The Leela Palace, Udaipur or any of The Leela properties in India in the near future.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sahai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The property is amazing and the hotel is made really well.It is gorgeous and a very luxurious hotel.The lake makes the hotel stand out better.The staff is nice and the food is also really good!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annundheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, General Manager at The Leela Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the overall experience of your stay at The Leela Palace, Udaipur.

Your generous comments admiring the beauty of the location of the property, complimenting the food and our staff, is truly appreciated.

We look forward to your visit again to the city of lakes in the near future.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sahai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 175 in Udaipur
3,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 175 in Udaipur
2,004 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,844 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £300 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing