We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxurious Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We were serenaded with music and had rose petals showered on us as we entered the hotel. After a very quick and efficient check-in we were escorted to our room (219) by a someone (whose name I regrettably forget) very passionate and proud of the hotel. He also took the trouble to tell us about the 'non-obvious' features of the large lovely room that overlooked the pool. There are separate areas for the bathtub, shower and toilet and with a twin-sink arrangement it can make for a very efficient time getting ready in the morning if that is what one wants to do on a holiday!

The one restaurant that we used was classy and the cold cucumber and mint soup still stands out in one's memory.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    147
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
544
720
39
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Junagadh, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

it was excellent vissting leela palace .
it was the best of all the hotels i have ever visited.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yashbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bambino96
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Another gem of a hotel, that has been hand crafted with love and care. I just didnt feel like leaving the suite that was given. everything worked so perfectly and with such wonderful views of Lake Pichola and the environs, I was so happy to stay indoors. However, one must explore Udaipur as its wonderful place to experience the rich heritage of Rajasthan.
The Spa at Leela is another must. It was so relaxing, its difficult to describe. The food and the service is truly world class and the staff are always there when you need them Its a must stay for those travelling to Udaipur.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambino96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

We moved here from Devigarh which was absolutely amazing! We were spoiled to bits and while moving to Leela thought they'd really have to outdo themselves to impress us and boy did they outdo themselves. They picked us up in chauffer driven car accompanied by a hostess. We took the lovely boat ride to the hotel and from the minute we arrived were treated nothing short of royalty! the service is in one word outstanding! the food at the restaurants is amazing. the rooms are quite large and furnished with great care. They went out of their way to book us a dinner table at the Taj Lake Palace (The Taj refused saying they were fully booked, and the F&B manager at the Leela made it happen). Dinner at the Lake Palace food-wise was excellent, however not so impressed with the service, and the restaurantS were 30% occupied at most!
The location is slightly tricky. Perhaps the only downside, you can't really walk out of the hotel. We had a car at all times and barring the little inconvenience of the narrow lanes out, no other issues.
Bottom line. I have been to udaipur multiple times and this hotel is a very very well deserved no.1 on tripadvisor!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balisfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Blissful, Fantabulous, Incredible are the words which came to our mind after having experienced this amazing property, located in the serene lake city of Udaipur.

Benchmark of World Class Service setup by the Leela Palace Kempinski, truly reflects the Essence of India.

In the Grandeur & Opulent Land of the Mewars, adorning the banks of Lake Pichola, my better half Rani & myself both feel that it is surely, ”A Jewel by the Lake”, offering spectacular view many ways better than Venice.

Raj & Rani Bajaj
Delhi

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajandRaniBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Yes...we were seriously pampered at the Leela....apart from the exquisite and royal designs of the palace hotel....the service was exemplary.....a beautiful resort (though our timing was not right, the lake was more than half dry).....still it was a fabulous experience......the marble, the statues, the paintings, the chandeliers, the aura of being in a palace remained with us throughout our three nights stay....just one thing....this place is not for kids (i had two wid me)....nothing really for them to do...except for run around the beautiful manicured garden.....but overall an awesome experience !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrakashGupta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

I didn't know exactly when I sat in front of my computer, which words I was going to use to describe that place... That place where we had this strange but very pleasant feeling of being treated like real stars or kings. That place where we tasted the most delicious food we've ever ate: thanks to the french chef who not only cooked delicate meals but who also came often to our table to see if everything was alright with the food. He also proposed us every night if we wanted something which was not on the menu.

We hopefully arrived in Udaïpur when the lake Pichola was nearly full. When the sun goes down and that the city begins to light up, there is a magic ambience in the hotel. You would also appreciate to enjoy some cocktails at the breath-taking pool or maybe to go to the fitness. Or, if it's bad weather, (which was sometimes our case because we visited India in July so it can easily rain) you can order a DvD by asking the concierge: he
will bring it nicely to your room with free homemade popcorn and a coke. I almost forgot : everything you eat in this hotel is HOMEMADE. You shall surely enjoy french croissants, pralines and THE best ice cream we've ever, ever ate in our lives (trust me : the food is incredible !)

How about visiting ? Sure : Udaïpur is a very nice place to visit and there are plenty of things to do like :boat trips on the lake, having a walkabout in the city (the hotel is very close to the city : 5 min by feet and don't worry : you don't hear any noises when you're in the hotel) or visiting some lovely temples. you can also visit some beautiful monuments on the lake.

Anyway, The Leela Palace was one of the most amazing hotel we've ever been to. We stayed there 5 nights and the only thing we knew when we were leaving was that we would definitly come back to this marvellous place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyril02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing