We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Palace with excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #1 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala LUmpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Palace with excellent staff.”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

The other travelers have already given a rave review of this hotel. I have only these points to add:
I was at Leela Palace for a wedding and on the second day was feeling a little under the weather with a cold coming on. The personal butler assigned to my room (Room 227 on Nov 28) offered to prepare me a hot tea with ginger and honey to help fend off the congestion. He left extra ginger in the mini-fridge and honey so I can fix another dose after the celebrations.
I wanted to wear a sari to the Sangeet. Kavita is a miracle worker. You can find her in the Salon. Two of my friends only bought their sari the afternoon of the wedding and Kavita managed to transfor 6 mtrs of cloth into a grand outfit.
I realised I had misplaced my iPhone 4 after check out. After retracing my steps I called the coffee house to enquire if i had left it there after breakfast. To my great relief the staff said the phone was in their posession and I can collect it any time. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,575
    147
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
557
730
41
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
patna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

I stayed for 2 nights & 3 days in this hotel and really enjoyed the hotel. Hotel rooms was so clean and well decorated. Restaurant was excellent and food quality was nice. As the hotel was located in the heart of city, locating ATM was not a big task for me. All I can say that this hotel is perfect for staying with family or solo.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit1987_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The Leela Palace is combining the arts and traditions of a Rajasthani Royal palace with the comfort and state-of-the-art amenities of a modern hotel. However, the most outstanding feature is the staff. Right from our arrival at the jetty (very unique) up to the various stages of our 4 day stay we felt the warmth, the professional approach and a total commitment to excellent service. The Lake Palace and the Udaivilas of Oberoi have get now a very serious competitor.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldindianhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We stayed at the Leela,Udaipur for three nights in September and what a stay it was.The most memorable stay so far in our "hoteling" journeys.The grandeur hits you the moment you see the place.

Dont be fooled by the absence of a big grand gate,as the hotel does not have one.Reason being some problem with acquiring space for a gate,instead the hotel has a novel way of getting their guest in their own private boats from the Dudh Talai jetty.The welcome is an unforgettable one with the traditional Kesariya Balam song being played out for the guests and flowers being showered on you from the top.

Check in is a breeze and is done inside the room in the most informal of atmospheres over a nice cool drink.You dont even realise that you are actually doing the check in procedures.

The room is one grand one,its as big as a full fledged apartment with all the rooms overlooking the Pichola and the Oberoi Udaivilas.Everything that one could possibly think of is present inside the room.The bed faces the lake so you go to sleep looking at the lake and wake up looking the lake.Couldnt get more romantic.

At the Leela you actually get more than what you pay,so many small tid bits keep coming,so do the drinks,before you even ask for it the employees sense your need and are ready with it.

We had a medical emergency at the hotel and the hotel staff was quick to make arrangement for a doctor to come and visit us and even got us our medicines.Lovely gestures

The hotel has a concept of a floor butler and ours was Hemanth,who was omnipresent and yet at the same time never visible but always around when you wanted something.

Food was excellent but expensive as is to be expected with a hotel of this standards.There is a temple inside the hotel and the entire hotel complex glitters when it is lighted up in the evenings.Quite a spectacle.

The GM is always around and looking into the nitty griittys of things which gives out the impression that everyone is working to make the hotel quite a unique experience.

Move aside the Tajs & Oberous,the Leela is here to stay for good and what a stay it is going to be.Its a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lifeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Was extremely Enjoyable. Food could have been better. Lovely Spa. Lovely Pool. Lovely weekend getaway. Very helpful staff. Spacious Rooms. Gives you a taste of Udaipur in pure luxury and style. Was an enjoyable weekend break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank REBO75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

After visiting Agra ,jaipur we headed towards Udaipur on 9th Nov.We had reservations at Leela and all of us took the heritage rooms.from the airport we moved towards the hotel and from the coach we were transferred to the boat in order to reach the hotel since the road way was not broad enough to take our van.
It was completely a different experience..As we reach there in the evening all of us were like frozen after seeing the lights of Jag mandir ..we cannot believe our eyes for a moment..Then we reached the Leela..the the staff were ready for our warm welcome.with good traditional live music and a shower of roses..
The rooms were excellent and the view of lake from the rooms as amazing..It was completely a new experience for us..We have no words to experess our stay at leela..All of my friends were very happy ..The room service,dining ,health clubs etc were excellent ..

I wish i could go again for a holiday at leela..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badshah0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The best hotel of udaipur in the heart of city and makes this hotel outstanding in terms of location,service great value , has a good hospitality.People will have a great time staying here.Has the best swimmimng pool i have ever seen.also it has the best nightlife in udaipur.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunilevileye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing