We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

From the moment you enter the hotel, the Leela staff work hard to make sure your stay is unforgettable. We were interested in dining at the Lake Palace, but the Leela gave us enough reason not to. Seated underneath the constellation Orion at the outdoor Indian restaurant, Sheesh Mahal, we had spectacular and romantic views of the city and lake palaces, and Jagmandir island. The food at Sheesh Mahal is simply amazing. The rooms are opulent, but tastefully decorated as is the entire hotel. The only criticism I have of Leela is the exorbitant charge incurred for airport transfers. For a world class hotel, this should be complimentary. Notwithstanding this, I recommend the Leela. I have stayed in other expensive hotels, but the Leela offers service that I have not found elsewhere. I feel that I definitely got my money's worth.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank negramontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    142
    16
    7
    12
See reviews for
525
703
38
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

From the moment we stepped out of the car to board the launch to take us across the lake we felt like royalty. The welcome of petals and music was lovely. The service in the hotel and the delicious dinner with the attentive service of Sapna was absolutely superb and we lovely every minute of our all too short stay. We went across to the Lake Palace hotel for dinner and were most disappointed with the service and the dinner there as the Leela left them standing. A nice touch was the photo of our arrival e mailed to us when we arrived home. Not cheap but a dream hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

i like very much this splendid palace. eveything was great, at the restaurant excellent service with a very good maitre d'hotel.excellent food and refine. great chef. very clean and confortable room. amazing palace. yours services is like palace in europe!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feli1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,056 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,530 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We've stayed 3 nights at the Leela Palace Udaipur in Jan. 2011.

The hotel complex itself is very nice 5+ stars - with very nice rooms, great view etc. It's all you want when you're looking for a luxury hotel in Udaipur, near the historical part with fantastic view towards the City Palace and Lake Palace. In my opinion it's the best location of all the 5* hotels, nearer to the historical city than Taj, having better views than the Lake Palace Hotel. The Leela Palace is new and therefore state-of-the art, real palace-style.

But on the other side the Hotel still has a long way to go to offer 5* service. Here are some points which aren't acceptable:
1.) They forgot the wake-up call, a total no-go!
2.) One day you're getting breakfast buffet, the other day (with less occupancy) you're not getting a buffet-style breakfast
3.) The buffet-breakfast is only vegetarian. You can order non-veg food but it takes 15 minutes. If you're in a hurry (because they forgot to wake you up) that's a problem
4.) hotel transportation is very, very expensive. They do charge 3 times as much as AVIS with a chauffeur driven limousine.

And then again, sweets and chocolates in the room replaced daily, fantastic service at the pool including a free 10-minute feet massage...

The management promissed to work on the minors and therefore I would recommend the Leela Palace over all the other Hotels in town due to location, view and palace-style.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamir_Kobrin, General Manager at The Leela Palace Udaipur, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Mr. Mueller,

Thank you for the feedback and comments.
As I have communicated with you, post your departure, your comments are absolutely valid and have been reviewed by the team for improvement. In our quest to ensure excellence we take the comments constructively and will work on ensuring excellence in areas we have failed to exceed expectations.
On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back and having you experience our hospitality and improvements in service and delivery.

Warmest regards. Tamir Kobrin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I don't think I have ever reviewed a 5 star hotel as value for money. This place really is and the fact it is competing with two of the best known destination hotels in Asia makes their whole setup the more remarkable.The connecting rooms were easily the best I have ever stayed in. The welcome was wonderful, the location superb, the ambience lovely and the New Years celebration ut of this world.

The Leela has to over-compensate for what my son calls its fatal flaw - the fact it is not the Lake Palace hotel. So it does. The NYE extravaganza included dressing my whole family in Raj era clothing; my son and I as Maharanas and lovely saris for the girls. We can't wait for our next inviation for a fancy dress night because we got to keep these tailor made clothes! The other compensation is the view. When you are in the Lake Palace you can't see it. But from our window we have a great view of the Lake Palace with the City Palace in the background!

Udaipur is a wonderful place and we will treasure our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Well as you can imagine from the title, this was simply the best hotel experience of my life. And to put this in to perspective, i have stayed at many five star hotels around the world..in hotel chains like Taj, Hyatt, Oberoi, starwood, accord and so on.
The location of the hotel is superb! of course..thats if you go on a boat and not surface (its intended to be on a boat so thats fine). The hotel is a BEAUTIFUL property.. very well managed, very clean, neat and crisp. The welcome was great. the room was awesome.. very spacious and much bigger than your regular hotel room. The bathroom / wardrobe / bed everything was super. The food was great... the service was impeccable..we were not denied ANYTHING that we asked for.. even food that was not on the menu.. the butler service was great.. basically everything was perfect.
They didnt falter even once as far as i remember. hats off to the staff at the Leela Palace. You guys made our 10th Anniversary really special. i will HIGHLY recomment this hotel, over the Lake Palace, and also Udai Vilas...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amit210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

I must say I have not stayed in a hotel like this before. It is excellent. The setting, the rooms, the hotel itself, the service ... just everything is perfect. I even talked to the manager of the hotel and told him what great job he was doing. Congratulations !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace Udaipur

Property: The Leela Palace Udaipur
Address: Lake Pichola, PO Box No. 125, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace, Udaipur, with its breathtaking view of the Aravalli Mountains stands majestically in a natural setting on the banks of the Lake Pichola. The Leela Palace offers its discerning guests an opportunity to experience royal living of majestic times.Evoking a grandeur and opulence of a bygone era, all 80 rooms and suites overlook the tranquil waters of the lake. Heritage and Lake view rooms finely appointed with artifacts and furnishings representing the handicrafts of Rajasthan. The suites evoke a sense of architecture which includes the rich and natural detailing of traditional Indian palaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Leela Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing