We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience at Hotel Udaigarh.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience at Hotel Udaigarh.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I Stayed in this hotel for two days and booked two rooms. The hotel is centrally located in Old Udaipur at a Walking distance from City Palace and Jagdish Temple.The rooms and the Bathrooms were impeccably clean and the staff was very courteous.The Wi-Fi signal was a bit weak at the second Floor.But the view from the rooftop restaurant was breathtaking and one would love to enjoy the amazing food with a stunning view of Lake Pichola.To sum up it was an awesome experience at Udaigarh and I recommend it to everyone who's looking forward for a great Holiday in Udaipur.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank Faizul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt_Chandravir, Owner at Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Dear Guests, Thanks for a lovely feedback. It's heartening to know that you enjoyed our hospitality and found our hotel to be good value. Will look into the WIFI connectivity. Your kind comments are very inspiring and rewarding. We would love to be of service to you again. Warm Regards from all of us at Udaigarh Udaipur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    131
    38
    28
    20
See reviews for
91
117
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Rooms were excellent, well maintained and clean.
Excellent location. Roof top view & pool was very serene & enjoyable. Had view of Ganghor festival from roof top. Kids had lovely time in pool.
Food is good & service excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Youvraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandravir R, Owner at Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Udaigarh , Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.
I shared your review with our hotel team and all of them are thanking you for ur kind words about our services, restaurant and roof top pool.
We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay and all services were upto your expectation. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.
We hope to welcome you again and give our best.
Warm regards,
Capt. Chandravir Singh Ranawat
udaigarhudaipur@yahoo.com
Chandravir Singh Ranawat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The location is pretty central as everything you need is within walking distance. The restaurant is on the roof and has an amazing view of the lake and spectacular sunsets. The hotel has no lift so the restaurant is 5 flights up. The rooms are average, nothing to shout about but rather small. The lights don't seem to work well. The bathroom seem to get clogged after every shower. And here's the worse bit, I had a mouse trapped in my room. i only found this out on the last day and could not chase it out so the mouse spent the night under my bed (I am assuming). Didn't make a fuss as I only saw it on the last night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandravir R, Owner at Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Udaigarh
Thank you for taking time out to review us. We are pleased to know that you found our hotel with amazing view and you happened to witness sunset by the roof top pool .
Our property is almost 150 years old and to maintain the original architecture we have not fitted elevator and same is mentioned in our website.
We came to know about clogged bathroom and after you checked out but if u have mentioned the same during your stay we could have given you another room and sort out the matter.
The room was chkd. thoroughly and I feel the mouse left as you left. For us Serving you has been a pleasure, we would love to host you again. We assure you of better attention and care.
Warm Regards from all of us at Udaigarh Udaipur ,
Kind Regards,
Capt. Chandravir Singh Ranawat
udaigarhudaipur@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zesite
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel our first time here 3 years ago but we were really disappointed this time. What has changed? The noise, mainly due to the number of guests. The first time the hotel was almost empty everyday.
But this time there were much more guests, and mainly this new indian upper class who think his money makes them superior to others. This new wealthy class that has no humility and feels the need to show off loudly. Do they lack education up to the point to be unaware that an hotel is a place to relax and sleep and not a playground?

The hotel management is also little responsible for this. The rooms and doors are not enough soundproof, but also the staff talks loudly and climbs up and down the stairs, runs in the corridors from the lobby to the roof top restaurant... The rooftop restaurant is part of the problem: there is no direct access and people have to go near the rooms to get there. And as you have here one of the best views on the lake, there are a lot of people coming!

We were also very disapointed by the restaurant which used to be one the best in Udaipur. It is no longer the case. And for breakfast you can't even get fresh fruit juice, but only some can juice.
Just another small detail to end this revieew: they put sheets too short which does not completely cover the mattress and did not correct the problem after I told them.

I think all this could be fixed by the management... come on!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandravir R, Owner at Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking time out to review us and admiring our small property location and view wise.
I discussed your review with my full team member and we apologize for the inconvenience caused by other guests during your stay.
With all respect I would like to say that 3 yrs ago the hotel was newly launched and had very little exposure and no hotel owner likes empty hotel everyday . Sometimes we come across guests who are loud enough to disturb the peace and we do tell all our guest to maintain silence in the premises. At times management has taken strong action but the result was bad review on Trip advisor by them just bcos we corrected them. We try our best to give maximum comfort to all our guest and the results are good recommendations.
After your review we are more concerned and we are strongly telling all our in house guest and restaurant guest at the time of check in that kindly maintain silence in the premises.
The heritage doors are well sound proof and the root cause was guest movement in a uncontrolled manner which we have taken care off. Now with latest review you can feel that things are not repeating.
We have been offering canned juice in CPAI plan but if a guest expects a fresh juice all you had to do is ask from the menu.
The short sheets have been replaced and thank you for highlighting.
We expect our guest to communicate with us regarding breakfast preferences. It would be a pleasure to know of your choices during booking procedure.
We are deeply sorry for the inconvinience caused which was not very much intentional and all we can say that there was a misunderstanding.
We try to provide the best possible services and assistance to our guest and all TA reviews are based on customers satisfaction. Our apologies for not meeting some of your expectations.We are grateful to you for writing a feedback . Pls. revisit us anytime you are in Udaipur and pls. see the improvement we have made after your review.
Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at, Udaigarh Udaipur
Sincerely,
Capt. Chandravir Singh Ranawat
udaigarhudaipur@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel has all you want. Excellent location, caring staff, good food, nice terrace view, roof top swimming pool... must stay here. Staying here during Holi festival is a lifetime experience. Must enjoy dinner at rooftop to witness city attractions at night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ketan_barevadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandravir R, Owner at Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest , Greetings from Udaigarh, Udaipur. We are delighted to know you had a great time with us. Thank you for your kind words about the location, rooms, comfort, services and staff. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences on Trip advisor.
I am glad that my teams hard work was recognized by you. I shared your review with all my staff and could see the joy on their faces. All of them joins me to thank you for kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Kind Regards
Capt. Chandravir S. Ranawat
udaigarhudaipur@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights....it was a good experience....the staff is very courteous and great service...food is excellent and one enjoys it even more with the amazing view from the rooftop....just be careful about the room you are choosing...some of the rooms are not good at all...we had to change the room after seeing what we booked online....but after that it was all great!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShikhaDatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandravir R, Owner at Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for inspiring us with a glowing and detailed review.
We are overjoyed to know of your pleasant stay and happy memories of our hotel. It's very satisfying to know that you found the services as per your expectations and you enjoyed roof top view along with freshly cooked food..
I am glad that room problem was solved immediately by our efficient staff and all went well.
We enjoyed serving you and would love to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Capt. Chandravir Singh Ranawat
udaigarhudaipur@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

It was a shock the photos n reality didn't match no service concept. It was beyond our imagination of a hotel. It is just made for people who do not have any idea of what they need. There was no water provided basic necessities not available no conveyance available either. It was a shock of lifetime. Never expected this from cleartrip. They should have better check on tall claims.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Paromita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandravir R, Owner at Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking time out to review us.
I discussed your review with my full team member and from our side we tried to provide you all alternative soulution but it was all in vain. You were not the only guest who was with us , there were many and we happened to get excellent review from other guest.
We are in course of changing our interiors and its not easy to change the pictures overnight but soon we will be uploading the latest pictures.
We charge for 'Mineral' water bottles as we pay for them ourselves. It's definitely not the last time you would pay for it in India, almost all hotels charge for it.
We are located in a location where conveyance is available 24 hrs. All you had to do was ask our staff to arrange for it.
We expect our guest to communicate with us regarding reservations and preferences. It would be a pleasure to know of your choices during booking procedure.
We are deeply sorry for the inconvinience caused which was not very much intentional and all we can say that there was a misunderstanding.
We are by no means a luxurious haveli/hotel.We never promised or claim to be a business hotel with 5 star amenities. We try to provide the best possible services and assistance to our guest and all TA reviews are based on customers satisfaction. Our apologies for not meeting some of your expectations.We are grateful to you for writing a feedback . Pls. revisit us anytime you are in Udaipur and pls. see the improvement we have made after your review.
Wish you a great Year ahead!
Warm Regards from all of us at, Udaigarh Udaipur
Sincerely,
Capt. Chandravir Singh Ranawat
udaigarhudaipur@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur

Property: Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Address: 21, Lal Ghat, Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Udaigarh with ROOFTOP SWIMMING POOL is a product of the enterprising efforts of restoring a 150 year old Haveli situated in the heart of the most romantic city nestled in the fertile valley on the eastern banks of the famous Lake Pichola. It has been restored keeping in mind the luxury of a traditional haveli with state-of-the-art amenities and a modern ethos of eco-friendly travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing