We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodish but has so much more potential....”
Review of Pichola Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pichola Haveli
Ranked #136 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We were in room 301 which is large and has fabulous views to the lake and city palace, with lovely little chill out areas to boot. We fell in love with it at first sight. However, we fell more in love with the potential of the place than how it was right now. So, we got to redecorating (we were staying for a week) - putting up saris we'd purchased for curtaining and covering the cushions etc. And we gave the place a good thorough clean (it wasn't clean when we checked in). Within an hour or so we realised OUR vision. Anyway, we kind of felt like this about the whole place. Basically, its all goodish and does have good views but it is really in need of some tender loving care and attention. Furnishings are tatty and outdated, colour schemes off the mark for the property and the cleaning staff obviously don't go looking for dirt. If the management could put some thought, vision, energy, a little work and probably not so much money into improving this place, it could really be transformed into something exceptional and probably a whole lot more lucrative.

Room Tip: Room 301 does have a great view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Pichola Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed here with my family and we enjoyed thoroughly. Their rooms are cheap and the location is right off the bank of the lake Pichola. The property might not be grand but it is extremely comfortable and the people here are very co-operative and polite. You can see the entire lake and some very famous hotels from their terrace/roof-top restaurant. If you are a back-packer or an on-budget traveller, this is perfect as you can walk a bit from the hotel through the heart of Udaipur and see some beautiful colours/temples/people. Even for couples, this place is perfect as the rooms have a very ethnic-haveli type look!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baracus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The staff was really nice and provided us with all the services we needed. The room was big, nice, we felt like maharajas, they have this nice place to sit by the window, watch the view and rest. TV LCD with cable, wi-fi in the bedroom, free, really fast. Nice breakfast (toast, omelete, fruit, coffee / tea) served on the rooftop with view to the Pichola Lake and the Lake Palace. Restaurant with reasonable prices but we did not use it because there are so many options in town. Walking distance to all the important things in town, near the Gangaur Ghat (one of the prettiest ones).. Clean and confortable.

Room Tip: We saw some three or four rooms and they looked all the same. Some rooms have problems with hot wate...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Great location right on the lake and within easy walking distance to all of Udaipur lake sights.
Rooftop restaurant is perfect place to enjoy sunset, a few cool kingfisher beers and a good tasty indian meal.
Reception staff are very helpful.
Rooms are very large, king size bed, comfortable chairs and writting desk etc.
Bathroom is large and ok cleanliness but the hotwater was very intermittent.
Because of it's very central location it can get a bit noisy especially in the early morning. Sound proofing in the hotel seems to be minimial. Recommend choosing higher floor rooms away from the street noise.
Despite the noise (use ear plugs) we loved the location and room size and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Recommend choosing higher floor rooms away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biffdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the centre. It can be a bit complicated to find but well worth it. You have everything at your door step including the Ghat. Rooms are clean and spacious with very nice decor. Staff are very helpful and will go the extra mile to make stay more pleasant. The only thing I would say is that main door gets locked at 11pm which was a bit of a pain. Breakfast is served on the top floor which ha great views of the lake.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay here, fantastic rooms, good service and great breakfast.

Only downside was the promised internet didn't work and they lock the doors at 11pm which can be a pain if you want to stay put late.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IT-Emperor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The hotel is in a good location, short walking distance to all attractions. Has a good view of the lake and palaces from the roof. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the resturant wasn't amazing. I stayed 2 nights. Had a rat running around the room on the first night. The staff didn't seem surprised and tried to find it but couldn't. Stupid thing eventually drowned itself in the toilet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amber House (Palace side)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#30 of 163 in Udaipur
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#51 of 163 in Udaipur
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Haveli
Lake View Haveli
#138 of 163 in Udaipur
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pichola Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pichola Haveli

Address: 64 Gangaur Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £23 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pichola Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pichola Haveli is located on the banks of Lake Pichola with spectacular views of lake and adjoining palaces. The hotel has 15 elegantly appointed air conditioned rooms with 6 lake facing rooms, 6 deluxe rooms and 3 standard Ac rooms. The hotel also have restaurant - roof top as well as air condition serving indian and continental dishes. All the rooms are tastefully designed & beautifully furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pichola Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing