We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Had a Classy Stay”
Review of Pichola Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pichola Haveli
Ranked #131 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here, for two days during our 10 days trip in India. Although we enjoyed in every city of the country, but the stay at Udaipur in Pichola Havelli is really etched in my mind. I felt like being King of any royal family. Rooms were elegantly designed and had king sized bed which was comfortable too. This traditionally designed Haveli is well acquainted with all the modern amenities. Roof top restaurant which serves yummy food is really a great place to capture amazing views too. Breakfast which included Poha with tea was awesome. Major sightseeing spots of the city are very near this place. Staff is very friendly and tried their best to make our visit historic. Really nice people, will plan a next trip again in vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent 2 nights in december in Pichola Haveli hotel.Hotel has a very good location in the bank of the Pichola-lake - best choice is ask for lake-wiev room in 2nd or 3rd floor.Bathroom bit older,but OK, plenty of hot-water,wi-fi and free internet in the reception and -after all-wonderfull roof-top terrace with OK restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Pros:
1. The staff (esp. Mr. Kulbhushan at reception) were very accommodating and polite
We arrived early in the morning without notice. We had breakfast while they arranged a temporary room for us (at no extra charge) to freshen up. They also moved our luggage in the afternoon, since we headed out early.

Mr. Kulbushan helped us in planning our visits around the city and, reserved bus seats for onward journey.

2. The restaurant and lake-facing rooms have great views.

3. Great location: Situated near Bagore-ki Haveli - has a small open area tiled with stone slabs with steps into the lake. Its a treat to sit here in the early hours, seeing the pigeons feed and fly around.
- also, in a walk-able distance to city palace.

Cons:
1. Some toilet utilities were broken, leaking. The bath rooms were not particularly clean. In one of the rooms, a towel lay all wet on the floor when we checked in.

2. There is Hanuman temple beside the building. So on saturday nights, pooja and chanting may go late into the night or start early on Sunday morning. I am a heavy sleeper and my wife was very tired - so we did not find it a trouble.

3. Lift is old style. So if someone does not close both the shutters properly, the lift becomes useless until someone goes to that floor to rectify it.

Room Tip: Take the lake facing rooms, preferably just below the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pchethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

After a horrible few days in Delhi and Jaipur, Udaipur is a breath of fresh air. The hotel is right In the heart of the city in the culture district, easy walking distance everywhere. My room was comfortable and clean. I didn't have a view, at all, my window was blocked with an ac cassette, so no natural light for me.... I owe this to the scam Delhi rip off artists making sure I was in the cheapest room. However if this was the worst they had to offer, it was great. Clean, comfortable and really friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast up in the restaurant overlooking the lake is gorgeous.
I would definatley stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki_meharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed at Pichola Haveli for a day..Must say its a great hotel, great food and above all great customer service. They gave us a nice welcome and gave us the best room to stay which was exactly what we demanded, a lake facing room. The person their Mr. Kulbhusan was very helpful, and very coopeartive. I would suggest ppl to stay here, very close to Jagdish temple, bagore ki haveli and city palace and very nice for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We were in room 301 which is large and has fabulous views to the lake and city palace, with lovely little chill out areas to boot. We fell in love with it at first sight. However, we fell more in love with the potential of the place than how it was right now. So, we got to redecorating (we were staying for a week) - putting up saris we'd purchased for curtaining and covering the cushions etc. And we gave the place a good thorough clean (it wasn't clean when we checked in). Within an hour or so we realised OUR vision. Anyway, we kind of felt like this about the whole place. Basically, its all goodish and does have good views but it is really in need of some tender loving care and attention. Furnishings are tatty and outdated, colour schemes off the mark for the property and the cleaning staff obviously don't go looking for dirt. If the management could put some thought, vision, energy, a little work and probably not so much money into improving this place, it could really be transformed into something exceptional and probably a whole lot more lucrative.

Room Tip: Room 301 does have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I stayed here with my family and we enjoyed thoroughly. Their rooms are cheap and the location is right off the bank of the lake Pichola. The property might not be grand but it is extremely comfortable and the people here are very co-operative and polite. You can see the entire lake and some very famous hotels from their terrace/roof-top restaurant. If you are a back-packer or an on-budget traveller, this is perfect as you can walk a bit from the hotel through the heart of Udaipur and see some beautiful colours/temples/people. Even for couples, this place is perfect as the rooms have a very ethnic-haveli type look!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baracus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gangaur Palace / Ashoka Art
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake View Haveli
Lake View Haveli
#140 of 165 in Udaipur
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#31 of 165 in Udaipur
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#94 of 165 in Udaipur
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pichola Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pichola Haveli

Address: 64 Gangaur Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: £27 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pichola Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pichola Haveli is located on the banks of Lake Pichola with spectacular views of lake and adjoining palaces. The hotel has 15 elegantly appointed air conditioned rooms with 6 lake facing rooms, 6 deluxe rooms and 3 standard Ac rooms. The hotel also have restaurant - roof top as well as air condition serving indian and continental dishes. All the rooms are tastefully designed & beautifully furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pichola Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing