We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL, to recomend!”
Review of Shiva Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shiva Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Good rooms and good staff, very helpful, kind and smart. We found it last minute after a change of our trip plans late in the evening. They helped us to transport the baggage from another hotel and gave us a good room.
It's clean and nice, with a great view and a good and cheap restaurant. The location is the best you can find, 2 minutes walking from the entrance of citypalace!
DEFINITLY TO RECOMEND!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Enrica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Shiva Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2010

The Shiva is a friendly, well kept guesthouse only 2 minutes from the City Palace and the lake. The rooms and bathrooms were large and clean with hot water available 24 hrs a day. There was a roof top restaurant (reasonably priced) with amazing views of the lake and mountains. It was also quiet - the road outside is too narrow for cars and rickshaws!
The owner, Raj, was very helpful and is able to book onward travel at competitive prices (I checked around town first). He also dispenses tourist information and arranges local tours and transport to anywhere in and surrounding Udaipur.
This was my third visit to Udaipur - I wish I had found Shiva Guesthouse before!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank rollingstoneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We arrived at the Shiva Guesthouse quite late – we had phoned to say that we were arriving on the train and the manager sent a rickshaw without us even requesting it – there was a guy there waiting with our name on a sign which was nice after a long train journey. We paid 1,000 rupee for a double room with bathroom. The room was large and clean with a big double bed (but no top sheet and only a very thin blanket). The room had a great view of the lake. There was no air-conditioning and no TV. We had been paying around 500 rupees for rooms up to that point so expected a little more – it was nice but not fantastic. There was a rooftop restaurant where we had breakfast and dinner one night. It had sensational views of the lake and Palace Hotel. There were 2 young kids who ran the restaurant but the food was surprisingly good (although it did take quite a while to prepare). The hotel had one internet terminal (30 rupee per hour) and the speed was good – no wireless internet though. The location of the hotel is great – right near the City Palace and within walking distance of all the lake. It was a nice place to stay for a few days but I wish we had only paid around 600 rupees for the room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Kasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Немного С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carrillolagos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,053 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Udaipur Palace Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Guesthouse

Address: 91 Navgath, Near City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 208 Speciality Lodging in Udaipur
Price Range: £7 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva guesthouse is a beautiful place in Udaipur near the City Palace. All spacious and light rooms have attached bathroom with 24 hr hot water and lake view. Excellent roof-top-restaurant with views of Lake Pichola, City-Palace, Monsoon Palace, old and new city and surrounding Aravali mountains, with Indian, Chinese and continental food with good music. The guesthouse also provides a tour booking facility, airport pickup, local rickshaw deals, Hindi lessons and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Shiva Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing